DIRT TRACK RACING: Spring Grove's Hodnett earns Sunday sprint win at Susquehanna


Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett won Sunday evening's sprint car feature at Susquehanna Speedway Park.

Hodnett's $3,500 win was his first at Susquehanna this season, but his 15th overall.

Hodnett started second and outgunned pole-sitter Danny Dietrich on the opening lap. Hodnett would lead all 25 laps with Dietrich in close pursuit until the final lap. Dietrich made an attempt for the lead on the outside of the first turn, but climbed the guard rail and dropped from the race. Rico Abreu finished second, with Lewisberry's Kyle Moody in third. Dover's Austin Hogue and Brent Marks completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Lance Dewease, Etters' Jordan Givler, Brian Carber, Anthony Macri and Dover's Bradley Howard.

In the 358 sprint feature, Doug Hammaker led all 20 laps to top Brad McClelland. Jeff Halligan finished third, with Fawn Grove's Matt Campbell and York's Lucas Montgomery in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Todd Reed, Russel Hammaker, Thomasville's Kyle Abrahims, Leah Starner and Wyatt Hinkle.


Dietrich gets his sixth Lincoln win of season: Dietrich raced to his sixth Lincoln Speedway sprint car win of the season Saturday. Dietrich's 14th overall win of the season was worth $3,500.

Dietrich started 12th, and caught pole-sitter Tim Wagaman, of Hanover, on the 15th of 25 laps to take the lead. From there, he drove away from the field to score the victory over York's Cory Haas, with Brandon Rahmer in third. Alan Krimes and Gerard McIntyre Jr. completed the top five. Wagaman finished sixth, with Brian Montieth coming back from a second-lap spin to claim seventh. Marks, Hogue and Kyle Moody completed the top 10.

Bill Stine scored his first career 358 sprint win, leading all 20 laps to best Hellam's Adrian Shaffer for the victory. Doug Hammaker finished third, followed by Kevin Nouse and Cole Young in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Campbell, Tyler Esh, Windsor's Ryan Higgins, Cody Fletcher and York's Jeff Rohrbaugh.

Rick Hulson won the All American Outlaws feature.

Esh triumphs at Port Royal: Doug Esh scored his first Port Royal win of the season on Saturday evening. Esh's win was his second overall this season, and was worth $4,000.

Esh started second, took the lead on the fourth lap and edged Hodnett at the finish. Early leader Mike Erdley finished third, with Abreu and Dewease in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Lucas Wolfe, Logan Wagner, Blane Heimbach, Mike Wagner and Brock Zearfoss.

Dover's Coleby Frye won the late model feature over Dylan Yoder, with Tim Wilson, Andy Haus, and Tim Smith Jr. in the top five.

Tyler Reeser was the 305 sprint winner over Jeff Miller, Drew Ritchey, Derrick Bowersox and Jake Waters.

Hodnett, Dietrich split Williams Grove wins: Friday at Williams Grove, Hodnett and Dietrich split the twin 20s for sprint cars. Each winner took home $2,500.

In the first race, Hodnett grabbed the lead from Dewease with two laps remaining. Wolfe had led the first 11 laps before suffering engine troubles. Dewease finished second followed by Aaron Ott, Dietrich, Rodney Westhafer, Haas, Marks, Abreu, Montieth and Mark Smith.

In the second race, Dietrich came from the seventh starting spot to take the lead from Montieth on the 15th lap. Montieth, Westhafer, Mark Smith, Abreu, Marks, Hogue, Ott, Dewease and Krimes completed the top 10.

Sean Dawson won the street stock feature.

On Saturday, Tony Jackson got his first winged super sportsman win, besting Russ Mitten. Dover's Chad Trout finished third, with Mike Enders, Bobby Hockenberry, Lewisberry's Scott Dellinger, Steve Fannasy, Doug Dodson, Frankie Herr and Gregg Foster in the top 10. Herr wrapped up his 14th career super sportsman tour title.

Dan Zechman won the limited late model feature over Shaun Jones. Scott Richwine finished third, with Stoverstown's Cam Zeigler and Dover's Billy Wampler in the top five. Wampler is the new track champion.

Jeff Haag won the street stock feature, but arch-rival Craig Morgan secured the track title.

Stutts shines at Selinsgrove: T.J. Stutts continued his hot month of August at Selinsgrove with a win in the 360 sprint feature Saturday. The win was Stutts' third in a row and fourth in the last six races.

Mark Smith finished second, with Jason Shultz, John Braim and Larry Kelleher in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Eric Tomecek, Ryan Kissinger, Derek Locke, Mallie Shuster and Kevin Albert.

Jeff Rine won his 95th career Selinsgrove late model feature over Chad Hollenbeck, Jim Yoder, Danny Snyder and Matt Cochran.

Brad Mitch was the pro stock winner and Curtis Lawton won the roadrunner feature.

Stuhler excels at Hagerstown: Gary Stuhler raced to his third Hagerstown late model win of the season Saturday. The win was Stuhler's 134th career Hagerstown win and pushed his area-leading career win total to 347.

Trever Feathers, Marvin Winters, Barry Miller and Andy Anderson completed the top five.

Rodney Walls was the late model sportsman winner, Mike Corbin topped the pure stocks and Gary Proctor was the hobby stock winner.

Zeigler leads way at Trailway: Stoverstown's Cam Zeigler won the limited late model feature at Trailway Friday evening for his first win of the season. Travis Mease, Hanover's Sam Gallagher, Brad Shank and Pat Beard completed the top five.

Cory Myers was the 270cc micro sprint winner over Hanover's Joe Trone Jr., Bill Laughman, Brian Marriott and Steven Cox.

Matt Chronister won the limited stock feature and Dover's Mike Goodwin was the street stock winner.

— Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.