DIRT TRACK RACING: Stevie Smith wins at Selinsgrove, takes Speedweek title


Stevie Smith ended Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek the same way he started it — with a victory.

Smith won Sunday evening's 30-lap feature at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Smith's $5,000 win was his record fifth of this year's eight-race series.

"The week has been amazing," Smith said. "... I wanted to get the five wins. My first first win at Selinsgrove was 30 years ago."

The previous record for one Speedweek was four wins, and the last driver to do that was Smith's car owner, Fred Rahmer, in 2005.

Smith also earned the $10,000 Speedweek point title. For car owner Rahmer, it marks his 14th Speedweek crown. His other 13 titles came as a driver.

Smith's father, Steve Smith, won the inaugural Speedweek in 1991.

In the race, Smith started fourth and vaulted into the lead on the first lap. He never looked back and bested Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett for the win. Aaron Ott finished third, with Danny Dietrich and Brent Marks in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Doug Esh, Lucas Wolfe, Kyle Reinhardt, Nate Snyder and Blane Heimbach.

Buckwalter wins at Port Royal: With rain all around the area on Saturday, Port Royal didn't give in, and in the end was able to complete its Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek show with only a minor delay at the start.

While Saturday racing was rained out at Lincoln, Williams Grove and Selinsgrove, action went on at the Port.

Steve Buckwalter scored his first career Speedweek win. The $5,000 victory was Buckwalter's third of the season at Port Royal.

With a wet tacky racing surface, the cars were turning laps equal to time trials during the feature event and Buckwalter was able to lead all 30 laps from his pole starting position.

Stevie Smith started third and pressured Buckwalter at times during the event, but had to settle for second. Hodnett advanced from sixth starting spot for third, with eighth starter Marks and Dietrich in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Ott, Mike Wagner, Wolfe, Kevin Nouse and Dylan Cisney.

Mike Lupfer won his fourth Port Royal late model feature of the season over Andy Haus, Jason Schmidt, Hayes Mattern and Brett Schadel. Corey Kepner was the Xtreme stock winner.

Esh triumphs at Grove: Esh picked up the $10,000 Mitch Smith Memorial Race during Speedweek at Williams Grove Friday. Esh led all but one lap to score his first win of the season.

Esh started from the pole and took the early lead in the 30-lap contest. Brian Montieth took chase and slipped by Esh on the 21st lap, but Esh was back in front to stay on lap 22. While Montieth finished second, he swapped that position several times with third-place finisher Brock Zearfoss. Hodnett was fourth with Ott, Stevie Smith, Alan Krimes, Dietrich, Wolfe and Spring Grove's Tim Glatfelter in the top 10.

Jasen Geesaman bested Criag Morgan for the street stock win.

Satterlee victorious at Hagerstown: Greg Satterlee won the Firecracker 40 for late models at Hagerstown Saturday.

Satterlee collected $4,000 for his victory. Brad Omps finished second, with Keith Jackson, Tyler Hershey and Marvin Winters in the top five.

Ralph Morgan Jr. was the late model sportsman winner, Mike Corbin topped the pure stocks and Gary Proctor was the hobby stock winner.

McClelland shines at Trailway: Brad McClelland won Friday's 358 sprint feature at Trailway for his fourth overall win of the season.

McClelland bested Spring Grove's Dwight Leppo for the victory, with Hanover's Issac Sneeringer, Mike Bittinger and Seth Kearchner in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Spring Grove's Zach Eucalano, David Holbrook, Randy Whisler, Denny Gross and Dave Carlburg.

Michael Boer won the 270cc micro sprint feature over Jim Still, Bill Laughman, Cory Myers and Levi Peck.

Matt Chronister was the limited stock winner and Dan Furman topped the street stocks.

— Reach Bryan Householder at