DIRT TRACK RACING: Montieth earns fourth Lincoln Speedway win of season


Point leader Brian Montieth scored his fourth Lincoln Speedway sprint car win of the season Saturday evening, but it wasn't easy.

Montieth took home $3,200 for his win in the 25-lap feature event.

In a program that was delayed 45 minutes by rain, the feature sported three different leaders, a four-car race for the lead and just one caution flag. Montieth started 11th. Brandon Rahmer led the first five laps before yielding the top spot to Gerard McIntyre Jr. on the sixth lap. McIntyre held the lead for a number of laps, with several top cars close behind him. Montieth made a successful bid for the lead on the 19th lap, only to have McIntyre drive back by on lap No. 20. In fact, Montieth slipped to third on that lap, with five cars racing together. A lap later, Montieth was back in front and went on to score the win over York's Adam Wilt. Danny Dietrich finished third, with McIntyre and York's Cory Haas in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Jim Siegel, Tyler Ross, Spring Grove's Tim Glatfelter, Dover's Austin Hogue and Robbie Kendall.

Fawn Grove's Matt Campbell scored his first 358 sprint win of the season in the 20-lap feature. Campbell took the lead from York's C.J. Tracy on the ninth lap. Tracy later dropped from contention with a flat tire. Doug Hammaker finished second, with Dillsburg's Brie Hershey in third. York's Jeff Rohrbaugh and Jeff Halligan completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Todd Rittenhouse Jr., Chandler Leiby, York's Brian Allman, Cody Fletcher and Cole Young.

Kurt Zimmerman bested teammate Rick Hulson to win the All American Outlaws feature.


Nouse edges Spring Grove's Hodnett at Port Royal: Kevin Nouse edged Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett to win the 25-lap sprint car feature at Port Royal.

Nouse's $3,000 win was his first in the 410 sprints in many years.

Nouse won by less than half a second over a fast-closing Hodnett, who took second from Brent Marks on the last lap of the non-stop feature. Marks finished third, with Logan Wagner and Dylan Cisney in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Joey Hershey, who yielded the lead to Nouse on the second lap, Lucas Wolfe, Dave Ely, Davey Sammons and Ryan Taylor.

In the Charlie Grinestaff Memorial Late Model Speedweek feature, Greg Satterlee was the $4,000 winner over York's Rick Eckert. Mason Zeigler was third, with Jeff Rine and Kyle Hardy in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Mitch Hack, Kenny Pettyjohn, Bryan Bernheisel, Newberrytown's Jason Covert and Gary Stuhler.

Paul Leister won the Xtreme stock feature.

Hodnett wins at Grove: Hodnett scored the win Friday at the Grove, coming from the 10th starting spot to collect $4,120 with lap money and bonuses. Hodnett took the lead from Haas on the 24th of 25 laps. Wolfe, Montieth and Hogue completed the top five, with Alan Krimes, Frankie Herr, Lance Dewease, Glatfelter and Rick Lafferty in the top 10.

York's Chase Dietz won the 358 sprint feature, taking the lead from Ryan Kissinger on the 13th of 20 laps. Hellam's Adrian Shaffer was second, with Hammaker, Nouse, Campbell, Kissinger, Todd Reed, Leiby, John Braim and Matt Findley in the top 10.

On Saturday, Lewisberry's Scott Dellinger got his first super sportsman win of the season over Steve Fannasy. Kenny Edkin was third with Davey Walsh and Wellsville's Scott Geesey in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Jay Fannasy, Herr, Doug Dodson, Duaine Smith and Tony Jackson.

Dover's Gene Knaub won his second in a row in the limited late model feature. Alan Sagi finished second, with Ron Kline, Stoverstown's Cam Zeigler and Scott Richwine in the top five.

Jeff Haag won the street stock feature.

McClelland shines at Trailway: Brad McClelleand notched another Trailway 358 sprint win Friday, with Spring Grove's Dwight Leppo in second. Fletcher, Tyler Reinhardt and Hanover's Issac Sneeringer completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Spring Grove's Zach Eucalano, Wyatt Hinkle, Seth Kearchner, Anthony Bay and David Holbrook.

Chad Earnst won the legends feature over Chris Transeau, with Justin Mitchell, Scott Houdeshell and York's Bill Diehl in the top five.

Dan Fuhrman was the street stock winner and Matt Chronister won the limited stock feature.

Palmer first at Hagerstown: Scott Palmer won Hagerstown's late model sportsman feature Saturday, while Brian Miller was the pure stock winner. The hobby stock feature fell to Marshall McMullen and Charlie Summers won the classic car feature. The event was run after a long rain delay.

Red Lion's Darrah second in Outlaw race: Friday, the World of Outlaws raced at Attica, Ohio, but it was All Star champion Dale Blaney scoring the win over Red Lion's Cody Darrah. David Gravel, Joey Saldana and Daryn Pittman completed the top five.

On Saturday, the Outlaws were rained out at I 96 Speedway in Michigan, and the All Stars were rained out at Wayne County, Ohio.

Selinsgrove was rained out on the local circuit Saturday.

— Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.