Spring Grove's Hodnett earns $5,000 victory at Selinsgrove


Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett ended the holiday weekend with a big victory in Selinsgrove's Ray Tilley Classic Sunday evening.

Hodnett collected $5,000 for his flag-to-flag victory in the 30-lap event.

Hodnett started second and beat pole-sitter Aaron Ott into the first turn at the start. He led all the way to score the win. Ott held second until late in the race when a loose nose piece hampered the handling of his car, allowing several drivers to slip by. Brent Marks finished second, with T.J. Stutts, Lucas Wolfe and Ott in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Fairview Township's Pat Cannon, Kevin Nouse, Steve Buckwalter, Blane Heimbach and Curt Stroup.

Wellsville's Scott Geesey won the 20-lap super sportsman feature. Geesey came from the seventh starting spot to take the lead from Dover's Chad Trout on the 15th lap. Trout finished second, with Lewisberry's Scott Dellinger in third. Nouse and Doug Dodson completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Frankie Herr, Mike Enders, Jay Fannasy, Russ Mitten and Carmen Perigo Jr.

Reed Thompson bested Jordan Thomas to win the 20-lap 305 sprint feature. Bill Jones Jr., Stephanie Stevens and Erin Statler completed the top five.


Krimes victorious at Lincoln: Defending track champion Alan Krimes won Saturday's Hilly Rife Memorial Race at Lincoln. Krimes collected $5,000 for his first win of the season.

Krimes started 11th, but had some luck on his side for the win in the 30-lap event. Three drivers led the event before Krimes took over the lead on a 27th-lap restart. The restart happened after leader Danny Dietrich spun and collected third-running Adam Wilt of York. Krimes moved from fourth to second for the restart and powered past Spring Grove's Tim Glatfelter, who had led laps 11-23.

Glatfelter finished second, with Brian Montieth in third. Niki Young and Tyler Ross completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Jim Siegel, Freddie Rahmer, Steve Owings, York's Chase Dietz and York's Cory Haas.

Cole Young, 15, watched his father finish fourth in the sprint car feature and then drove to his first career 358 sprint win in that 20-lap event. Young started second and led the first two laps before Fawn Grove's Matt Campbell took over the top spot. Campbell got collected when several lapped cars spun on the eighth lap and Young was back in command. He won over Cody Fletcher, with York's Jeff Rohrbaugh, Chandler Leiby and Matt Findley in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Dillsburg's Brie Hershey, York's C.J. Tracy, Phil Walter, Dillsburg's Chris Arnold and Doug Hammaker.

York's Bill Diehl came from the 12th starting spot to win the 15-lap Legends feature, taking the lead on the ninth lap and holding off the challenges of Bob Stough. Chris Spidle finished third, with Joe Ehrisman and Spring Grove's Shane Glatfelter in the top five.

Buckwalter wins at Port Royal: Steve Buckwalter took home $5,000 for his win in Port Royal's Fallen Heroes Memorial Race Saturday. Buckwalter's win was his second of the season at the Port.

Buckwalter started third and took the lead from Brock Zearfoss on the seventh of 25 laps. Aaron Ott finished second, with Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett in third. Zearfoss and Brent Marks completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Dylan Cisney, Lucas Wolfe, Doug Esh, Ryan Taylor and T.J. Stutts.

Jim Yoder led all 25 laps for the $2,000 win in the late model feature. Greg Satterlee, Justin Kann, Andy Haus and Derrick Casner completed the top five.

Tyler Reeser got his second win of the weekend in the 305 sprint feature. Erin Statler finished second, with Nathan Gramley, Scott Ellerman and Zach Newlin in the top five.

Montieth finishes first at Grove: Brian Montieth fended off a serious late-race challenge from Danny Dietrich to win Friday's sprint car feature at Williams Grove. Montieth's third win in four races at the Grove was worth $4,000.

Montieth led all but the 24th lap of the 25-lap feature. Dietrich led that lap and finished second. Rounding out the top 10 were Wolfe, Hodnett, Ott, Donnie Kreitz Jr., Stevie Smith, Krimes, Buckwalter and Lance Dewease.

Reeser also won the 305 sprint feature at the Grove. He was followed by Newlin, York's Steve Storrie, Ken Duke and Darren Miller.

On Saturday, racing veteran Rich Eichelberger of Dillsburg won the 25-lap Bill Heckert Memorial Race for the super sportsmen. Eichelberger led all 25 laps for his first win of the season and the 86th super sportsman win of this career. Russ Mitten finished second, with Jay Fannasy, Doug Dodson and Frankie Herr in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Dillsburg's Scott Dellinger, Dover's Chad Trout, Fawn Grove's Paul Miller, Kenny Edkin and Bobby Hockenberry.

Dover's Gene Knaub won the limited late model feature over brothers Bernie and Pat Beard. Ron Kline and Dover's Billy Wampler completed the top five.

Greg Diehl was the street stock winner.

Sneeringer shines at Trailway: Hanover's Issac Sneeringer won his third Trailway 358 sprint feature of the season Friday. David Holbrook finished second, with Brad McClelland, Seth Kearchner and Spring Grove's Zach Eucalano in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Fletcher, Campbell, Spring Grove's Dwight Leppo, York's Lucas Montgomery and Wyatt Hinkle.

Jim Young won the 600cc micro sprint feature over Tyler Walton, Travis Scott, Jared Esh and Brad Weber.

Sarah Redmond won the limited stock event and Eric Johnson was the street stock winner.

Red Lion's Darrah excels with All Stars: Red Lion's Cody Darrah had a good weekend with the All Star sprint circuit. He finished fourth on Friday in Plymouth, Indiana, and Saturday at Fremont, Ohio. Dale Blaney won Friday and Australian James McFadden won Saturday.

— Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.