BAPS Final Showdown set to close local racing season

Bryan Householder
For The York Dispatch

The BAPS Motor Speedway in Newberrytown will wrap up the local outdoor racing season this Saturday with the Final Showdown. The 410 sprint cars and the 358 modifieds will take the spotlight with an enduro to follow.

For the 410 sprint cars, the Final Showdown began in 2010 and has concluded the local season every year since then.  The modifieds were added to the slate a few years ago. Chad Layton won the first Final Showdown back in 2010, and since that time, the race has offered some big-name winners and a few surprises as well.

Donnie Kreitz Jr. won the next two Final Showdowns, but in 2013, there was the first big upset. Derek Sell drove his father’s No. 20 machine to the victory that day, which remains his only 410 sprint car win.

At the time, Sell was a college student and had sat out the racing season as his father fielded the car for local racing legend Fred Rahmer. As it turned out 2013, was Rahmer’s final season as a driver, and he put together a remarkable year in the Sell machine. Rahmer won the Central PA title as well as championships at Williams Grove and Lincoln that year. He also won the Williams Grove National Open. So Maybe Derek Sell’s win wasn’t that big of a surprise. The Rahmers were pitside with the Sell team that day.

The late Greg Hodnett was the next Final Showdown winner, with Danny Dietrich getting his first win in 2015.

The 2016 Final Showdown marked the first career 410 sprint win for Hanover’s Jacob Allen. Allen had been racing on the World of Outlaws tour, but hadn’t yet scored a victory when he parked his father’s No. 1A in victory lane at BAPS that day.

Lance Dewease gave the Kreitz team its third Final Showdown victory in 2017 before Gerard McIntyre Jr. notched his only BAPS win to date in 2018. Dietrich was back in victory lane the following year, and Freddie Rahmer got his first win at BAPS in 2020. Brent Marks won last year’s final Showdown.

Brent Marks is the defending champion at the BAPS Final Showdown, the 2022 edition of which will be held this weekend.

Weather has hampered BAPS' 410 sprint car schedule this season, with only three races making it into the record books. Dietrich, Marks and Giovanni Scelzi have each picked up a BAPS win this season.

This year, BAPS has noted that all of the area 410 sprint car champions will be assured of a starting spot in the Final Showdown. That would include Dietrich from Williams Grove, Rahmer from Lincoln, Logan Wagner from Port Royal and Blane Heimbach from Selinsgrove. Scelzi also earned a starting spot with his win in the most recent race at BAPS.

On the modified side of things, there will also be assured starting spots for modified champions from around the area. Last year, Mike Gular won the BAPS modified race. Michael Maresca was the 2020 winner.

The Final Showdown at BAPS will also conclude the 2022 Champion Racing Oil Central PA Sprint Car Point Series.

While at times the BAPS race had gone down to the wire in determining the Central PA champion, that won’t be the case this year. In fact, the top eight spots in the series have already been locked down.

Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri has enough of a lead that he can be declared the 2022 Central PA champion. It will mark his second consecutive title.

Danny Dietrich is locked into second place, with Brent Marks, Freddie Rahmer and Lance Dewease rounding out the top five. Justin Peck, Lucas Wolfe and Devon Borden are also locked into positions 6-8.

The real battle will be for the final two paying positions in the series standings. Port Royal champion Logan Wagner currently holds down ninth place, but is only two points ahead of York’s Chase Dietz. Dietz parted ways with the Trone team a few weeks ago and hasn’t been racing. At the time of the split, Dietz assured that he has something lined up, and expected to return before the end of the season. Will it happen this week?

Just outside the top ten is Hanover’s Dylan Norris. Norris, hands-down the season’s most improved driver, is just 11 points out of ninth place and nine out of tenth. He could certainly bypass both drivers directly ahead of him in the standings.


Listing; position, car number, driver, points, series wins

1.         39m/11Anthony Macri                1998     22

2.         48        Danny Dietrich              1758     12

3.         19        Brent Marks                     1382     10

4.         8/51      Freddie Rahmer             1247     6

5.         69K      Lance Dewease            1080     9

6.         13        Justin Peck                     940       4

7.         5w        Lucas Wolfe                   765

8.         23        Devon Borden               693       2

9.         1          Logan Wagner              636       5

10.       39        Chase Dietz                    634       3

11.       44        Dylan Norris                   625       2

12.       5          Dylan Cisney                  507       1

13.       67        Justin Whittall                491       1

14.       45        Jeff Halligan                   474       2

15.       18        Giovanni Scelzi             454       4

16.       55        Mike Wagner                  412

17.       6/10x    Ryan smith                  371

18.       12        Blane Heimbach                355       2

19.       11        T J Stutts                        353

20.       19/39    Troy Wagaman Jr              344       1

21.       33w      Michael Walter II            314

22.       99m      Kyle Moody                       298

23.       75/5      Tyler Ross                         298

24.       11        Buddy Kofoid                    275       1

25.       87/27s  Alan Krimes                       267