Overall central Pennsylvania 410 sprint championship goes down to final race of 2020

  • The overall Champion Racing Oil Central Pennsylvania Sprint Car Series champion is still undecided.
  • The champion will be determined in the final race of the season on Nov. 14 at BAPS Motor Speedway.
  • Danny Dietrich currently has a 32-point lead over second-place Anthony Macri.
Danny Dietrich
Anthony Macri

It's a battle that's going down to the wire.

Saturday’s 410 sprint results at BAPS Motor Speedway have set up a real dogfight for the overall Champion Racing Oil Central Pennsylvania Sprint Car Series point crown.

As this crazy season draws to a close, with just one local 410 sprint race remaining, the top two drivers have just 32 points separating them. 

Saturday's win at the northern York County track by Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri, along with Danny Dietrich’s heat-race crash that kept him from competing in the BAPS feature, allowed Macri to close the gap in points. Macri (1,224 points) is now just 32 points behind Dietrich (1,256), who is looking for his second crown in a row.

For Macri, this has been a breakout season. He will be gunning for his first title of any kind. He has won nine 410 sprint races on the local circuit this year, while Gettysburg's Dietrich has 12. Dietrich also has a 410 sprint win outside of the area, while Macri has a pair of United Racing Club 360 sprint wins to his credit this year.

DIRT-TRACK ROUNDUP: Dillsburg's Anthony Macri picks up his first-ever victory at BAPS

The race for the Champion Racing Oil crown is down to just those two drivers. The only race left is the BAPS Sprint Shootout on Saturday, Nov. 14.

The scenarios play out this way. For Macri to win the crown, he has to finish no worse than second. For Dietrich, if Macri wins, he has to finish no worse than sixth. Sixth would result in a tie, which is broken by the most series wins on the season. Dietrich would have the edge there. If Macri finishes second, Dietrich would have to finish in the top 10 to win the title.

The point system for the overall series awards points to the top-10 finishers in every race held on the local circuit each year. So far this year, 101 drivers have earned points.  There are 50 points awarded for first place 35 for second, 30 for third, 25 for fourth and 20 for fifth. Sixth thru 10th go 18,16,14,12 and 10.

Like what you're reading?:Not a subscriber? Click here for full access to The York Dispatch.

Since Macri won last Saturday and Dietrich has 13 career wins at BAPS, both are capable of pulling off the victory on Nov. 14. Dietrich, however, has not won there this season.

Behind the top two, the next several positions are locked into place. Third-place Freddie Rahmer is 117 points behind Macri, but 110 ahead of fourth-place Brent Marks. Marks, in turn, is 62 ahead of fifth-place Kyle Larson, who is 77 ahead of sixth-place Lance Dewease. Dewease is a whopping 316 ahead of seventh-place Brock Zearfoss. Then things are close again, but the drivers involved don’t all race at BAPS. Zearfoss is just 23 ahead of eighth-place Dylan Cisney. Each of the next five drivers could swap positions.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.


 Presented by Hoseheads.com

(Wins in parenthesis)

1. Danny Dietrich (12)               1,256

2. Anthony Macri (9)                  1,224

3. Freddie Rahmer (7)                1,107

4. Brent Marks (3)                       997

5. Kyle Larson (12)                      935

6. Lance Dewease (6)                 858

7. Brock Zearfoss                        542

8. Dylan Cisney (2)                      519

9. Logan Wagner (1)                    454

10. Brian Montieth (1)                  439