DIRT-TRACK RACING: Danny Dietrich wins race, Freddie Rahmer earns track title at Lincoln

  • Danny Dietrich earned the 410 sprint win at Lincoln Speedway on Saturday night.
  • Freddie Rahmer finished fourth at Lincoln, sewing up the overall track crown.
  • Dover's Chase Billet won the Carl Billet Memorial at BAPS Motor Speedway on Saturday.
  • Mat Williamson earned $53,000 for winning a modified event at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday.
Danny Dietrich

Danny Dietrich raced to his eighth Lincoln Speedway 410 sprint win of the season on Saturday evening, but in the end, it still wasn’t enough to wrest the season-long track championship from Freddie Rahmer. 

Dietrich earned $4,000 for his victory at the Adams County track.

York’s Bradley Howard started from the pole position and drove the race of his life, leading from the onset until the 12th-starting Dietrich finally got by for the lead on the 20th of 30 laps. While Dietrich  set the pace, Howard raced hard with fellow Yorker Chase Dietz for the runner-up position.

Dietz gained the advantage at the flag stand by just .003 seconds in Lincoln's season-ending event. Dietz, in his first ride in the Trone Outdoor No. 39, got second, with Howard in third. Rahmer, meanwhile, charged from the 16th starting spot for fourth, and in the process wrapped up his first Lincoln point title.  

Tyler Ross completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Hanover’s Tim Wagaman II, Lewisberry’s Jordan Givler, Hanover’s Troy Wagaman Jr., Bill Balog, who started 20th, and Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri, who started 15th.

Freddie Rahmer

Matt Findley raced to his first win of the season in the wreck-plagued 358 sprint feature. Findley started from the pole position and led every lap, with fellow front-row starter York’s C.J. Tracy tailing him the whole way. Cody Fletcher advanced from sixth to finish third, and in the process secured his first Lincoln point title, and the first for his family since Steve Smith won the 1978 sprint title in his grandfather’s car. Point contender Todd Rittenhouse Jr. was taken from contention in a midrace skirmish.

Rookies Zane Rudisill and Cody Phillips completed the first five. Rounding out the top 10 were Wellsville’s Chris Frank, Hanover’s Dylan Norris, Scott Fisher, Brett Wanner and Wyatt Hinkle.


Chase Billet wins Carl Billet Memorial at BAPS: Dover’s Chase Billet claimed the Carl Billet Memorial Race for the limited-late models at BAPS Motor Speedway in northern York County on Saturday.

Billet was the apparent second-place finisher, but Chad Myers, who led all 20 laps, didn’t make it past the post-race technical inspection. Ben Whitaker finished second, with D.J. Mease, Alan Sagi and Devin Hart in the top five.

Like what you're reading?:Not a subscriber? Click here for full access to The York Dispatch.

The street-stock 50 fell to York’s Sam Rial over Kody Sites, York’s Bud Witmer, Jim Palm and Stan Wanner.

The extreme-stock 50 went to Dover’s Andrew Hogue over his older brother, Austin Hogue, with Rial in third, Tim Berkheimer in fourth and Donnie Broderick in fifth.

Ray Kable Jr. won the Mid-Atlantic Modified feature over Brad Kling and Justin Cullum, while Jim Rost Sr. topped the classic cars, Jack Butler starred in the sportsman modifieds, and Adam Campbell won the limited-stock feature.

Jeremy Ott completed a weekend sweep of BAPS Legends events, winning on both Friday and Saturday evenings. Saturday’s win came over Scott Houdeshell, Aaron Updegraff, Travis Perry and Craley’s Bill Diehl.

Friday, Ott also bested Houdeshell for the win, with Stephen Wurtzer, Updegraff and Jorjie Sweger in the top five.

Doug Dodson went one better than Ott, claiming both of his 305 sprint wins on the same night. Dodson won both the make-up and the originally scheduled features on Friday. In the make-up race, he started up front and stayed there, while in the originally scheduled nightcap, Dodson had to come from eighth to take the win.

The make-up race found York Haven’s Dave Grube, Devin Adams, Ian Detweiler and Dillsburg's Jaremi Hanson in the top five.

In the nightcap, Dodson made a late-race pass on Adams to score the win over Adams, Dave Brown, Derek Hauck and Landon Price.

Robbie Carroll won Friday’s limited-stock event.

Williamson earns $53,000 win at Port Royal: Mat Williamson won the $53,000 final on Saturday in Port Royal Speedway's Short Track Super Series Modified weekend. 

Williamson’s win at the Juniata County facility came over Stewart Friesen, Matt Sheppard, Anthony Perrego and Larry Wight.

In Thursday’s opening event, Sheppard claimed the win over Billy Pauch Jr., Mike Mahoney, Williamson and Pete Brittain.

Brian Krummel won Saturday’s 602 sportsman-modified feature, and Adam Campbell was Friday’s limited-stock winner.

Stewart tops Outlaws: Shane Stewart won Friday’s World of Outlaws feature at Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kansas.

Stewart’s win came over Brad Sweet, Hanover’s Logan Schuchart, Tim Kaeding and James McFadden. Hanover’s Jacob Allen finished 15th.

On Saturday at Lake Ozark, Missouri, it was McFadden scoring the win over Sweet, Donny Schatz, Kerry Madsen and Sheldon Haudenschild.  Allen was 13th and Schuchart was 16th.

Drevicki, Smith, Flick take victories: United States Auto Club East Coast 360 wingless sprint champ Steve Drevicki won the 360 wingless sprint event at Mountain View, Tennessee, on Frtiday, while another local ace, Mark Smith topped the winged 360 sprints at Chatham, Georgia, over the weekend.

Frequent local visitor A.J. Flick won the sprint portion of Lernerville’s Stampede on Saturday in western Pennsylvania.

— Bryan Householder can be reached at sports@yorkdispatch.com.