York's Chase Dietz drives to 410 sprint triumph at BAPS Motor Speedway

Chase Dietz

York’s Chase Dietz raced to the win in the 30-lap 410 sprint feature at BAPS Motor Speedway Saturday evening.

The win was Dietz’s first in a 410 sprint car at BAPS, where he has won four times in a 358 sprint.

Dietz started second and battled pole-sitter Billy Dietrich into the first turn at the start.  But, it was fourth-place-starter Freddie Rahmer who made the most of the first lap. He outgunned third-place-starter Brian Montieth into the first turn, and then raced by both Dietz and Dietrich in the third turn to lead the first lap. Rahmer held the lead until a miscue in lapped traffic found him hitting the fence hard and crashing on the 20th lap.

That incident turned the lead over to Montieth, but Dietz challenged Montieth at the restart. Dietz took the lead on the second turn on lap 22, but Montieth raced back by. The next lap, Dietz made it stick and went on to win over Ryan Smith, with Montieth in third. Brock Zearfoss and Lucas Wolfe completed the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were Dietrich, Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri, New Freedom’s Robbie Kendall, Brandon Rahmer and Gerard McIntyre Jr.

Chad Layton won the URC 358/360 sprint challenge race. The win for Layton, who leads the United Racing Club point standings, was his first in a 360 sprint at BAPS, but he has won there three times in a 410 sprint.

Ryan Smith and Layton led the field to the green in the 25-lap event, with Smith getting the early lead. Layton took over the top spot on a seventh-lap restart, but Smith was back on top after a lap nine restart. Layton took the lead for good on the 15th lap.

Freddie Rahmer redeemed his earlier miscue, coming from the eighth starting spot to finish second, with Smith in third. Zearfoss and Curt Michael completed the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were Josh Weller, Wolfe, Doug Hammaker, Steve Buckwalter and Austin Bishop.

Sweigart wins at Port Royal: Nick Sweigart won the Blue Collar Classic for the 305 sprints at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday evening. 

Sweigart raced to victory in the biggest event of the season for the series, with Zach Newlin in second. Doug Dodson, Garrett Bard and Christian Rumsey completed the top five. Newly crowned International Motor Contest Association 305 sprint champion Ken Duke finished sixth.

Andrew Yoder won the Mason-Dixon Series limited-late-model feature over Devin Hart. Justin Weaver, Dillan Stake and Chad Myers completed the top five.

Outlaws rained out: The World of Outlaws' sprint cars were rained out at Terre Haute, Indiana, on Saturday.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.