Ryan Smith earns breakthrough 410 sprint triumph at Lincoln Speedway on Saturday night

Ryan Smith

Ryan Smith finally got his first 410 super-sprint win of the season in Saturday’s Hank Gentzler Memorial Race at Lincoln Speedway.

Smith collected $3,500 for his first-ever Lincoln victory.

Smith had won two 360 sprint races this year and has numerous top finishes in the 410 sprints, but his win Saturday was his first in the 410 cars this season.

The record books will show that Smith started from the pole and was credited with leading every lap of the 25-lap event. However, it wasn’t as easy as it sounds. Second-starter Danny Dietrich challenged Smith most of the distance and did edge ahead on several turns during the race. 

Dietrich had to settle for second, with Brian Montieth, Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri and Dover’s Chad Trout in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were York’s Cory Haas, Jim Siegel, Brandon Rahmer, Tyler Walton and York’s Chase Dietz.

Jon Stewart raced to his first career 358 sprint win in the 20-lap feature. Stewart started fourth and worked the top side of the speedway to take the lead from Cody Fletcher on the 14th lap. Actually Stewart beat Fletcher to the line by .008 seconds on that lap just before the caution flag flew.

In the end, Stewart had the win over Fletcher, with York’s Jeff Rohrbaugh in third. Hanover’s Troy Wagaman Jr. and Doug Hammaker completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were York’s C.J. Tracy, Newberrytown’s Michael Hamer, Steve Drevicki, Kyle Denmyer and Spring Grove’s Zach Eucalano.


Dewease earns $8,000 win at Grove: Lance Dewease scored his 98th career Williams Grove Speedway sprint win Friday in the 30-lap Outlaw Tune-Up race.

Dewease collected $8,000 for the win.

Dewease started third and it took until the 25th lap for him to work his way by pole-sitter Freddie Rahmer in heavy lapped traffic. Rahmer finished second, with Brian Montieth in third. Brian Brown and Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Danny Dietrich, T.J. Stutts, Ryan Smith, York’s Cory Haas and Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri.

Track champion Doug Hammaker led all 20 laps of the 358 sprint feature to score the win over Dillsburg’s Rich Eichelberger. Kyle Denmyer, Matt Findley and Hanover’s Troy Wagaman Jr. completed the first five. Rounding out the top 10 were Hanover’s Dylan Norris, Wyatt Hinkle, Wellsville’s Chris Frank, Mark Van Vorst and York’s Glenndon Forsythe.

Lewisberry's Dellinger wins $3,000 at BAPS: Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger drove to the $3,000 victory in BAPS Motor Speedway’s “Dirty 30" for the super sportsmen Saturday.

Dellinger passed track champion Kenny Edkin for the lead on the 20th lap. Edkin finished second, with Russ Mitten, Jay Fannasy and John Edkin in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Mike Enders, Fawn Grove’s Paul Miller, Billy Brian Jr., Chase Gutshall and Steve Fannasy.

Ben Whitaker won the limited-late-model feature over Joe Lusk, Travis Mease, Joey Hoffer and Dover’s Chase Billet.

Brian Walls won the street-stock feature over Ryan Smith, Jasen Geesaman, Kyle Saylor and Greg Diehl. Jeff Gill took the Xtreme-stock feature over Windsor’s Sam Rial, with Donnie Broderick in third.

York's Eckert earns $15,000 for Bedford triumph: York’s Rick Eckert drove to victory in the 60-lap Keystone Cup late-model feature at the Bedford Fairgrounds Saturday.

Eckert took the lead on the 36th lap and went on to the $15,000 victory.

Greg Satterlee, Scott Bloomquist, Dylan Yoder and Matt Cosner completed the top five.  Newberrytown’s Jason Covert was seventh.

Hanover's Schuchart gets Outlaws victory: Hanover’s Logan Schuchart won Friday’s World of Outlaws feature at Eldora, Ohio.

Schuchart won over Aaron Reutzel, Sheldon Haudenschild, Kerry Madsen and Carson Macedo. Brent Marks was 11th.

Saturday at Lernerville, point leader Brad Sweet scored the win over Shane Stewart, David Gravel, Ian Madsen and Daryn Pittman. Hanover’s Jacob Allen was seventh just ahead of Schuchart in eighth. Marks was again 11th.

Reutzel grabs another All Star win: The All Stars ended their season Saturday at Eldora, Ohio, with Aaron Reutzel topping his championship season with another win. 

Cory Eliason, Giovanni Scelzi, Buddy Kofoid and Dale Blaney completed the top five.

Bryan Householder writes about dirt-track racing for The York Dispatch. He can be reached at sports@yorkdispatch.com.