WEEKEND DIRT-TRACK RACING: Kyle Reinhardt earns breakthrough 410 sprint win at Port Royal

  • Kyle Reinhardt won the 410 sprint-car triumph at Port Royal Speedway on Monday.
  • Reinhardt earned $4,000 for his victory in the 68th annual Labor Day Classic.
  • It was Reinhardt's first career 410 win. He led all 25 laps in the race.
Kyle Reinhardt

Kyle Reinhardt raced to his first career 410 sprint-car triumph in the 68th annual Labor Day Classic at Port Royal Speedway on Monday afternoon.

Reinhardt, the recently-crowned Selinsgrove Speedway 360 sprint champion, led all 25 laps on his way to the $4,000 victory.

A.J. Flick chased Reinhardt most of the way, but had to settle for second, with Logan Wagner in third place. Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri and 20th-starter Brian Brown completed the top five. 

Rounding out the top 10 were Dylan Cisney, Mike Wagner, Danny Dietrich (who came back from an earlier spin), Tyler Bear and Freddie Rahmer, who also had to come from the back after spinning to miss another car.

In Saturday's action at Port Royal, Macri finally got his first career Port Royal win. Macri’s win was his second overall this season and was worth $3,600.

Macri bested Dietrich for the win, with Flick in third. Lance Dewease and Reinhardt completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Jared Esh, Logan Wagner, Brown, Cisney and Blane Heimbach.

Max Blair won the Butch Renninger Memorial late-model feature over Newberrytown’s Jason Covert. Marvin Winters finished third, with Dylan Yoder and York’s Rick Eckert in the top five.

Andrew Yoder won the limited-late-model feature over Ryan Zook, Troy Miller, Derick Garman and Tood Snook.


Rahmer triumphs at Lincoln: Freddie Rahmer raced to his ninth overall 410 sprint win of the season on Saturday in the Bob Leiby Memorial Race at Lincoln Speedway.

Rahmer’s fourth Lincoln win of the season was worth $4,000.

Championship contenders Brian Montieth and Alan Krimes started from the front row and controlled the early part of the race, with Montieth jumping from the pole position to lead the first seven of 30 laps before second-starting Krimes took over the top spot.

Meanwhile, Rahmer was working his way forward from the sixth starting spot. It took until the 27th lap for Rahmer to work his way by Krimes for the lead. He went on to win over Krimes, with Montieth securing his eighth Lincoln title by 25 points with a third-place run.

York’s Cory Haas and Dover’s Chad Trout completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Jim Siegel, York’s Chase Dietz, Brandon Rahmer, Lewisberry’s Kyle Moody and York’s Adam Wilt.

Doug Hammaker’s fourth Lincoln 358 sprint win of the season came with a 19th-lap pass of race-long-leader Dave Brown in the 20-lap contest. 

Hammaker had started ninth.

Brown settled for second, with York’s C.J. Tracy in third. Ashley Cappetta and Hanover’s Dylan Norris completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Matt Findley, Cody Fletcher, York’s Brett Strickler, Wellsville’s Chris Frank and Dwight Leppo.

Manchester’s Travis Horan won the Xtreme stock feature over Michael Smith, Bill Powell, Tim Berkheimer and Donnie Broderick.

Dietrich victorious at Grove: Danny Dietrich scored his nation-leading 14th win of the season on Friday at Williams Grove Speedway on Keith Kauffman Tribute Night. 

Dietrich collected $4,777 for his victory.

Dietrich started from the pole and led all the way to best Brian Montieth for the win in the 25-lap feature. Ryan Smith won a torrid duel for third, with Dover’s Chad Trout and Freddie Rahmer in the top five. Brian Brown, Lewisberry’s Kyle Moody, York’s Cory Haas, T.J. Stutts, and Steve Buckwalter completed the top 10.

Buckwalter came back to win the 25-lap United Racing Club 360 sprint feature. Buckwalter started second and took the lead from pole-sitter Josh Weller on the fourth lap. Buckwalter then had to fend off second-place finisher Mark Smith for the win.

Weller finished third, with Kyle Reinhardt and Jason Shultz in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Curt Michael, Chad Layton, Tyler Ross, Jimmy Stitzel and Derek Locke.

Herr first at BAPS: Frankie Herr raced to his fourth win of the season in the 25-lap super-sportsman feature at BAPS Motor Speedway on Saturday evening.

Herr chased Jay Fannasy until the 21st lap before taking the lead. Fannasy finished second, with Russ Mitten in third. Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger and Chase Gutshall completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Mike Enders, Nate Young, Steve Fannasy, Bruce Buckwalter Jr. and Brogue’s Tyler Wolford.

Hanover’s Bobby Beard won the 20-lap limited-late-model feature, leading all the way to best Travis Mease. Sean Merkel, Alan Sagi and Danny Snyder completed the top five.

Devin Adams won the PASS 305 sprint feature over Christian Rumsey, Dom Melair, Jake Frye and Larry McVey.

The street-stock feature saw Will Walls pick up the win over Chad Smith, Dover’s Bud Witmer, Eric Tripp and Manchester’s Russ Shoop.

Bittinger leads way at Trailway: Mike Bittinger won the 358 sprint feature at Trailway Speedway on Friday evening. 

Bittinger’s third win of the season came over York’s Kyle Rohrbaugh, with David Holbrook, Cody Fletcher and Tim McClelland in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Hanover’s Joe Trone Jr., Hanover's Dylan Norris, Austen Treuchet, Strinestown’s Andrew Hake and Todd Rittenhouse Jr.

Jayden Wolfe was the 600cc micro-sprint winner, Billy Laughman topped the 270cc micros and Hanover’s Aaron Beard was the street-stock winner.

Schuchart sweeps Outlaws' shows: Hanover’s Logan Schuchart swept the World of Outlaws shows at Skagit Speedway in Washington state Friday and Saturday.

Friday, Schuchart won over Kraig Kinser, Jason Sowaold, Ian Madsen and Brad Sweet.  Brent Marks was 12th and Hanover’s Jacob Allen was 18th.

Saturday, Schuchart was the winner over Donny Schatz, Sweet, Daryn Pittman and Tim Kaeding. Marks was sixth and Allen was 10th.

Reutzel, Zearfoss top All Stars: Aaron Reutzel won Friday’s All Star race at Attica, Ohio, with Tim Shaffer, Buddy Kofoid, Brock Zearfoss and Cap Henry in the top five.

Zearfoss came back on Saturday to win the $10,000 prize at Attica for the Brad Doty Tribute race. Shaffer, Kofoid, Dale Blaney and Parker Price Miller were in the top five.

Selinsgrove rained out: Sunday's racing program at Selinsgrove Speedway was washed out by a late-afternoon storm.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.