WEEKEND DIRT-TRACK ROUNDUP: Fawn Grove's Matt Campbell earns first Lincoln Speedway win

Matt Campbell
  • Matt Campbell won Saturday's feature for the 410 sprint cars at Lincoln Speedway.
  • Campbell earned $3,500 for his first 410 sprint victory at the track.
  • Billy Dietrich finished second after returning to racing the previous weekend.

Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell raced to his first win of the season in Saturday’s 25-lap feature for the 410 sprint cars at Lincoln Speedway.

Campbell collected $3,500 for his first career Lincoln 410 sprint win.

Campbell, making only his third start of the season, enjoyed much better luck this time. In his first two outings, Campbell suffered a crash and a blown engine, not making the feature either time.

This time, he started from the pole position and led all 25 laps en route to the win.

Billy Dietrich, who returned to driving the previous weekend after two years on the sidelines, drove to a second-place finish, with Shiloh’s Landon Myers in third. York’s Chase Dietz and track point leader Brian Montieth completed the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were Ryan Smith, York’s Cory Haas, Brandon Rahmer, Jim Siegel and Justin Whittall.

In the 358 sprint feature, Ashley Cappetta led all 20 laps to secure her first-ever win. Cappetta was followed to the line by Hanover’s Dylan Norris, with Tyler Ross, Matt Findley and York’s Brett Stickler in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Steve Owings, Cody Fletcher, Doug Hammaker, Spring Grove’s Zach Eucalano and Wyatt Hinkle.

The Mid-Atlantic Modified feature saw Ray Kable Jr. pick up his second Lincoln win in the tour's four appearances over the past two summers. Lincoln’s most recent winner, Brad Kling, finished second, with Haley Kaiser making it a good night for the ladies, finishing third after leading several laps. Justin Cullum and Jerry Foster completed the top five.


Gravel earns $150,000 at Knoxville Nationals: David Gravel raced to the $150,000 win in Saturday’s Knoxville Nationals.

Gravel’s win came in the Jason Johnson Racing No. 41 owned by Johnson’s widow, Bobbie, who is a native of East Berlin.

Keeping the top spots from the area, Hanover’s Logan Schuchart raced from the 22nd starting spot to finish second, with former local racer Daryn Pittman in third. Tim Kaeding and Aaron Reutzel completed the top five. Lance Dewease finished 23rd.

Preliminary races found Pittman winning last Sunday’s “Cappy Classic,” Trey Starks winning Wednesday, Gravel winning Thursday and Kerry Madsen winning Friday.

Owings leads way at Trailway: Steve Owings won Friday’s 358 sprint feature at Trailway Speedway, besting David Holbrook for the win.

Hanover’s Dylan Norris, Hanover’s Joe Trone Jr. and Tim McClelland completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Strinestown’s Andrew Hake, Mark Van Vorst, Red Lion’s Zachary Allman, York’s Kyle Rohrbaugh and Brody Treaster.

Mason Chaney won the Legends feature over Jeremy Ott, Travis McClelland, Travis Perry and Craley’s Bill Diehl.

Jim Young won the 600cc micro-sprint feature over Jesse Snyder, Zane Rudisill, Hannah Riser and Daniel Bair

Matt Chronister was the limited-stock winner.

Satterlee triumphs at Path Valley: Gregg Satterlee won Friday’s late-model feature at Path Valley Speedway over Newberrytown’s Jason Covert.

Austin Hubbard, Jared Miley and Dover’s Coleby Frye completed the top five.

In 305 sprint action, Doug Dodson scored the win over Drew Ritchey, Ryan Lynn, Christian Rumsey and Zach Newlin.

Mid-Atlantic Modified action saw Jason Brookover win over Robert Garnes, Brad Kling, Mike Altobelli and Ray Kable Jr.

Schweikart victorious at Clinton County: Dale Schweikart won the 305 sprint feature at Clinton County Friday with Scott Lutz, Ken Duke Jr., Jeff Weaver and Ian Cummins in the top five.

Miley first at Selinsgrove: Jared Miley won the late-model event at Selinsgrove Speedway on Saturday.

Miley’s win came over Gregg Satterlee, with Dylan Yoder, Matt Cosner and Newberrytown’s Jason Covert in the top five.

Devin Adams won the 305 sprint feature, with Jaremi Hanson, Zach Newlin, Ken Duke Jr. and Garrett Bard in the top five.

Brandon Moser was the pro-stock winner and Jake Jones won the roadrunner feature.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.