DIRT-TRACK RACING: Logan Wagner, Danny Dietrich earn $10,000 wins at Port Royal Speedway

Danny Dietrich
  • Logan Wagner and Danny Dietrich earned $10,000 wins over the weekend at Port Royal.
  • Brian Montieth raced to his second Lincoln Speedway win of the season on Saturday.
  • Freddie Rahmer won the Lynn Paxton Tribute race Friday at Williams Grove Speedway.

Defending track champion Logan Wagner turned the tables on Danny Dietrich in Sunday's $10,000-to-win portion of the Bob Weikert Memorial at Port Royal Speedway for the 410 sprints.

A night earlier, Dietrich had bested Wagner for a $10,000 win at the Port.

Sunday was Wagner's turn. Dietrich finished second, with Lance Dewease, Kyle Reinhardt and Mike Wagner in the top five.  Rounding out the top 10 were Jared Esh, Dylan Cisney, Ryan Taylor, Lucas Wolfe and Ryan Smith.

York's Rick Eckert won the $5,000 late-model feature over Dylan Yoder. Newberrytown's Jason Covert, Dan Stone and Michael Norris completed the top five.

Saturday at Port Royal, Dietrich got the lead with six laps remaining and went on to the victory.

Dietrich’s area-leading sixth win of the season came over Logan Wagner, who had led the early portion of the race. Smith, Dewease and Wolfe completed the top five, with Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri, Taylor, T.J. Stutts, Esh and Mike Wagner in the top 10.

Rain hit the speedway before the late-model feature could be started.


Montieth first at Lincoln: Brian Montieth raced to his second Lincoln Speedway win of the season on Saturday night.

Montieth’s $3,500 win was his 63rd career win there.

Montieth started eighth and steadily worked his way forward as the front-row starters, Manchester’s Trey Hivner and Cole Young, stole the early part of the show. Hivner led from the onset, with Young in pursuit. Montieth joined the chase a little past the halfway point of the 25-lap event, but it wasn’t until the leaders raced through the third and fourth tuns of the 20th lap that things changed.

Young made a move on Hivner through the turns, but Montieth made a move to pass both cars. He went on to win over Young and Hivner, with Yorkers Glenndon Forsythe, Adam Wilt and Chase Dietz in the next three spots. Jim Siegel, Brandon Rahmer, Alan Krimes and Dover’s Chad Trout completed the top 10.

Jeremy Ott took the lead from Craley’s Bill Diehl on the 16th of 20 laps in the legends feature. An accident a lap later slowed the pace and then rain hit the speedway. After a brief delay, the track was nearly ready to resume competition when rain hit again. The legends feature was declared complete at 17 laps, with Ott the winner over Diehl, Travis McClelland, Travis Perry and Spring Grove’s Blaine Leppo.

The 358 sprint feature will be made up on June 16.

Rahmer triumphs at Williams Grove: Freddie Rahmer raced to victory in the Lynn Paxton Tribute race Friday at Williams Grove Speedway.

Rahmer collected $4,771 for his flag-to-flag victory in the 25-lap race. The win was Rahmer’s third overall this season.

Dietrich chased Rahmer the whole way for second, with Wolfe, Ryan Smith and Stutts in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Montieth, Macri, York’s Cory Haas, Kyle Reinhardt and Trout.

Jeff Halligan won the 20-lap 358 sprint feature, taking the lead from Rodney Westhafer on the 13th lap from his sixth starting spot. Doug Hammaker finished second, with Westhafer, Cody Fletcher and Scott Fisher in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Kevin Nouse, Matt Findley, Kyle Denmyer, Brett Wanner and Hanover’s Dylan Norris.

Herr earns $6,500 victory at BAPS: Frankie Herr drove to victory in the Bud Bricker Nationals for the super sportsmen Saturday at BAPS Motor Speedway. 

Herr collected $6,500 from the season’s largest purse for the sportsmen.

Herr tracked down Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger on the 23rd of 40 laps. Dellinger finished second, followed by Chase Gutshall, Russ Mitten and Mike Enders in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Garrett Williamson, Chris Meleason, Timmie Barrick, Matt Ondek and Steve Fannasy.

Dover’s Charles Potts won the limited-late-model feature over Sean Merkel, Bobby Beard, Daulton Bigler and Joey Hoffer.

Chad Smith claimed the street-stock feature, which was declared official at 14 laps because of rain. Will Walls, Brian Walls, Russ Shoop and Bud Witmer completed the top five.

Reinhardt takes Jack Gunn Memorial at Selinsgrove: Kyle Reinhardt collected $2,500 for his victory in the United Racing Club-sanctioned Jack Gunn Memorial for the 360 sprints at Selinsgrove Speedway on Saturday.

Reinhardt took the lead on the fourth of 30 laps and led the rest of the way to best Ryan Kissinger. Derek Locke, Jason Shultz and early leader Cody Keller completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Michael Walter II, Josh Weller, Curt Michael, Mallie Shuster and Troy Betts.

Andrew Yoder topped his uncle Jim Yoder to win the limited-late-model feature, with Troy Miller, Derrike Garman and Jared Fulkrode in the top five.

Kyle Bachman won the pro-stock feature and Smith Cope won the roadrunner event.

The URC sprints raced Friday at Big Diamond with Austin Bishop getting his first win over Chad Layton, Tyler Ross, Ryan Stillwaggon and Josh Weller.

Scelzi, Schuchart take Outlaw victories: The World of Outlaws' sprint cars were at the Dirt Track at Charlotte over the weekend for two $15,000-to-win shows.

Friday, Giovanni Scelzi shocked the NASCAR crowd with a late-race pass of Kyle Larson to score the big win. Larson finished second, followed by Hanover’s Logan Schuchart, Brad Sweet and David Gravel. Jacob Allen was 11th and Brent Marks was 14th.

Saturday, Schuchart came from the 14th starting position, watched as several leaders suffered flat tires, and then held off James McFadden for the win.

Kerry Madsen, Dave Blaney and Scelzi completed the top five.  Allen was sixth and Marks was 19th.

Reutzel tops All Stars: Aaron Reutzel won Sunday's All Star event at Fremont, Ohio.

The win was Reutzel's second of the weekend. Paul McMahan, Skylar Gee, Christopher Bell and Craig Mintz completed the top five.

The All Stars finally got to race again Friday at Attica, Ohio, but then were rained out on Saturday. 

Friday's race went to Reutzel after Brock Zearfoss spun out of the lead in the late going. Buddy Kefoid, Cap Henry, Shawn Dancer and Jac Haudenschild completed the top five.

Big weekend for Biasi: One day after winning a wingless super sportsman event at Path Valley Speedway, Joey Biasi won the United States Auto Club East Coast wingless 360 sprint feature at Bridgeport, New Jersey.

Biasi's win came over Chandler Leiby, with Tim Buckwalter, Eddie Strada and  Steve Drevicki in the top five.

Biasi also won Saturday’s wingless super sportsman feature at Path Valley, taking home $3,500. Craig Perigo finished second, followed by Derek Sheaffer, Billy Brian Jr. and Carmen Perigo Jr.

The wingless super sportsmen raced at Trailway Speedway on Friday, with Todd Leonard taking the win over Biasi, Rohan Beasley, Steve Wilbur and Tom Savage.

Newlin, Ellerman win at Hagerstown: The 305 sprint nationals at Hagerstown Speedway saw Zach Newlin win Friday’s feature over Ken Duke, Christian Rumsey, Scott Lutz and Jaremi Hanson.

Saturday, Scott Ellerman was the winner over Duke, with Rumsey, Steve Kenawell and Jonathan Jones in the top five.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.