What does Pa.'s landmark education ruling mean for York County schools?

DIRT-TRACK RACING: Spring Grove's Tim Glatfelter ends nine-year victory drought at Lincoln

  • Spring Grove's Tim Glatfelter won the 410 sprint race Saturday afternoon at Lincoln Speedway.
  • Glatfelter earned $3,500 for his first win in more than nine years.
  • Gerard McIntyre earned $5,500 for his 410 sprint win Saturday night at BAPS Motor Speedway.
  • Freddie Rahmer raced to seventh win of the season on Friday at Port Royal Speedway, winning $4,000.

Spring Grove’s Tim Glatfelter claimed his first win in more than nine years in Saturday afternoon’s Hank Gentzler Memorial 410 sprint race at Lincoln Speedway.

Spring Grove's Tim Glatfelter earned his first win in more than nine years Saturday at Lincoln Speedway.

Glatfelter collected $3,500 for his victory.

Dylan Cisney took the early lead in the 25-lap race after starting in the pole position. Cisney held the top spot until the 12th lap, when York’s Glenndon Forsythe grabbed the lead. A lap later, Glatfelter moved from third to first and held the lead for the rest of the way despite late-race pressure from Danny Dietrich.

Dietrich ended up in second place, with Cisney, Forsythe and Lucas Wolfe in the top five. Completing the top 10 were Alan Krimes, T.J. Stutts, Hanover’s Tim Wagaman, Freddie Rahmer and Justin Whittall.

In the make-up feature for the 358 sprints, Hanover’s Dylan Norris grabbed the lead from York’s Alyson Dietz on the 11th of 20 laps and went on to score the win over Dietz. New track champion Troy Wagaman Jr., of Hanover, finished third, with Wellsville’s Chris Frank and Steve Wilbur in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Kevin Nouse, Cody Fletcher, Kyle Denmyer, Matt Findley and Tyler Walton.

In the regularly scheduled 358 sprint feature, Frank outgunned Norris at the start and led all 20 laps for his first career victory. Norris finished second, followed by Ashley Cappetta, Dietz and Fletcher in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Forsythe, Wyatt Hinkle, Findley, Gregg Foster and Spring Grove’s Zach Eucalano.



Wolfe victorious at Selinsgrove: Lucas Wolfe pulled off the $5,000 win on Sunday afternoon at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Wolfe led all 27 laps of the feature event to best Ryan Smith for the victory. Jason Shultz finished third, with Steve Buckwalter and Dylan Cisney in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were T.J. Stutts, Justin Whittall, Justin Barger, Trenton Sheaffer and Blane Heimbach.

Smith won the 360 sprint feature on Saturday afternoon at Selinsgrove. Smith's win came over Steve Buckwalter, with Davie Franek, Shultz and Derek Locke in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Ryan Taylor, Ryan Kissinger, Michael Walter II, Chad Layton and Mallie Shuster.

In other action Saturday at Selinsgrove, Dylan Yoder scored the late model win over Dover's Gene Knaub, with another Dover area driver, Coleby Frye, in third. Jim Bernheisel and Jim Yoder completed the top five.

Billy Pauch Sr won the 100-lap race for the SpeedSTRs Saturday at Selinsgrove, besting Alex Bright, Steve Buckwalter, Ryan Godown and Matt Janisch.

McIntyre triumphs at BAPS: Gerard Mcintyre Jr. raced to victory in the 27-lap 410 sprint feature at BAPS Motor Speedway Saturday evening.

After also setting fast time earlier in the evening, McIntyre ended the evening with $5,500 in earnings. 

Trey Starks grabbed the early race lead and held sway until McIntyre passed him on the 11th lap. McIntyre went on to win over Tyler Esh, with Lucas Wolfe earning the hard-charger award for coming from 14th to finish third. Lewisberry’s Kyle Moody and Starks completed the top five.  Rounding out the top 10 were Etters’ Bradley Howard, Jared Esh, Danny Dietrich, Tyler Reeser and T.J. Stutts.

In a 25-lap make-up feature for the 358 sprints, Doug Hammaker got by Kevin Nouse on the 10th lap and went on to score the victory over Nouse. Steve Drevicki finished third, with Troy Wagaman Jr. and Rodney Westhafer in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Dylan Norris, Kyle Denmyer, Jeff Halligan, Chris Frank and Cody Fletcher.

In the regularly scheduled 27-lap event, Nouse used a last-lap restart to pass Steven Kisamore, who had led for the entire distance. In the end it was Nouse over Kisamore, Wagaman, Drevicki, Norris, Frank, Denmyer, Fletcher, Halligan and Ken Duke Jr.

Rahmer races to Port Royal victory: Freddie Rahmer raced to his seventh overall win of the season in Friday's 410 sprint feature at Port Royal Speedway.

Rahmer's second consecutive Port Royal victory was worth $4,000.

Rahmer started from the pole position and led all 25 laps of the feature, although several drivers made it close at the end. Dillsburg's Anthony Macri settled for second after swapping that spot with Danny Dietrich several times over the final laps.

Dietrich was third, with track champion Logan Wagner and Dylan Cisney completing the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were T.J. Stutts, Trey Starks, York's Cory Haas, Tyler Reeser and Ryan Taylor.

Ryan Watt collected $5,000 for his win in the 40-lap STSS modified feature. Watt started 10th and used lapped traffic to slip by Brandon Grosso with the white flag waving. Grasso bumped the fence on the final lap, allowing David Van Horn and Duane Howard to take the second and third spots. Grasso and Craig Von Dohran completed the top five.

Newberrytown's Covert wins $5,000 at Hagerstown: Newberrytown's Jason Covert was the $5,000 late model winner on Saturday at Hagerstown Speedway.

Covert topped Greg Satterlee for the win, with Dylan Yoder getting third after the long tow between Selinsgrove and Hagerstown. Jared Miley and Allan Brannon completed the top five.

Justin Weaver was the Mason-Dixon Series limited late model winner, while Dillon Wilson topped the pure stocks and Jamie Mills was the hobby stock winner.

Sweet tops Outlaws: Brad Sweet won Saturday's World of Outlaws feature at Terra Haute, Indiana. 

Sweet's win came over Donny Schatz, Tim Shaffer, Daryn Pittman and Sheldon Haudenschild.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.