DIRT TRACK RACING: Tim Shaffer earns $27,000 for winning Dirt Classic at Lincoln Speedway

  • Tim Shaffer won the fifth Dirt Classic at Lincoln Speedway on Saturday night.
  • Shaffer earned $27,000 for the victory. The purse was increased to match Greg Hodnett's car number.
  • Hodnett died recently after a racing accident at BAPS Motor Speedway.

Tim Shaffer raced to the victory in the fifth running of the Dirt Classic on Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway.

Tim Shaffer

Shaffer picked up $27,000 for the victory. The winner’s share was increased to match the number of the car driven by Greg Hodnett, who recently died after a racing accident at BAPS Motor Speedway.

Outside front-row starter Lance Dewease got the jump on pole-sitter Trey Starks at the start of the race. Shaffer, who started third,  actually slipped back a few positions.

Dewease continued to set the pace, but the man on the move was J.J. Grasso, who began to reel in Dewease in the final quarter of the 40-lap event. Shaffer, meanwhile, came to life as well. As Grasso began to challenge Dewease, Shaffer caught up to both, and was able to get by Grasso, and then took the lead from Dewease on the 35th lap.

Shaffer, who also collected $500 for setting fast time early in the evening, went on to score the popular victory over Grasso, with Dewease in third. Danny Dietrich and Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell completed the top five.

Starks finished sixth, with Brian Brown, T.J. Stutts, Dover’s Chad Trout and Lucas Wolfe in the top 10. Wolfe collected an extra $1,000 as the race’s Hard Charger, moving from the 21st starting spot to 10th.



Dewease, Wolfe triumph at Grove: Lance Dewease and Lucas Wolfe each won races and point titles on Friday evening at Williams Grove Speedway.

Dewease collected $5,077 for winning the make-up of the Al Hamilton Tribute Race, and also clinched the track's Diamond Series title. Wolfe clinched the season track title in the make-up race, and then came back to collect $4,000 for winning the regularly-scheduled event.

In the make-up race, Dewease started third and took the lead from Brian Montieth on the 25th of 30 laps. T.J. Stutts had led the first 16 laps before being sidelined with mechanical ills. Montieth finished second, with Brian Brown, Wolfe and Danny Dietrich in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were York's Cory Haas, Dover's Chad Trout, Brandon Rahmer, Freddie Rahmer and Dillsburg's Anthony Macri.

In the regularly scheduled event, Wolfe started second and led all 25 laps for the win. Freddie Rahmer came from the 11th starting spot for second, followed by Dietrich, Haas and Dewease in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Lewisberry's Kyle Moody, Brown, Brandon Rahmer, Jim Siegel and Steve Buckwalter.

Kyle Smith passed Drew Ritchey on the 10th of 25 laps to win the 305 sprint feature. Ritchey finished second, with Tyler Denochick, Darren Miller and Scott Ellerman in the top five.

Numerous drivers claim BAPS wins: The national event for the legends cars at BAPS Motor Speedway was held on Friday and Saturday, with other divisions on each night.

In the end several drivers won legends events.

The Pro Division winner was Justin Pearson, while Spring Grove’s Harlon Leppo claimed the Masters victory. Sean Johnson won in the Semi-Pro class and Jorjie Sweger was the Young Lions winner.

The super sportsmen raced Saturday, with veteran Frankie Herr picking up the win over youngster Chase Gutshall. Track champion Scott Dellinger, of Lewisberry, finished third, with Chad Criswell and Timmie Barrick in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Garrett Williamson, Kenny Edkin, Doug Dodson, John Edkin and Matt Ondek.

In Friday action, York’s Sam Rial won the Xtreme stock feature and Matt Chronister was the road warrior winner.

Miller takes Blue Collar Classic at Port Royal: Darren Miller picked up the Blue Collar Classic win for the 305 sprints Saturday at Port Royal Speedway.

Miller was running second when leader Kyle Smith couldn’t avoid a tangle between lapped cars on the final lap. Miller went on to pick up the $800 win over Jeff Miller, with Zach Newlin in third. Austin Bishop and Jonathan Jones completed the top five.

Trent Brenneman, a regular in the Port’s super late model division, won the Mason-Dixon Series limited late model feature over Justin Weaver.  Andrew Yoder, Dylan Yoder and Shaun Jones completed the top five.

Bill Powell was the Xtreme stock winner and Eric Boozel won the mini-stock event.

Hanover's Schuchart takes Outlaws win: Hanover’s Logan Schuchart led all 30 laps to win Saturday’s World of Outlaws feature at Fulton, New York.

Schuchart’s win came over Sheldon Haudenschild, with Donny Schatz, Shane Stewart and Kraig Kinser in the top five.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.