During rain-drenched weekend, Freddie Rahmer comes away with Port Royal Speedway victory

  • Freddie Rahmer won the Night Before the 50 sprint race Friday.
  • Rahmer earned $5,000 for the 410 sprint win at Port Royal Speedway.
  • The Tuscarora 50 got rained out both Saturday and Sunday.

Mother Nature did not treat the area dirt tracks kindly over the weekend.

Persistent rains wiped out nearly the entire schedule of local racing events.

Freddie Rahmer

The one race that did manage to get into the books saw Freddie Rahmer score the $5,000 win in the Night Before the 50 410 sprint race at Port Royal Speedway on Friday.

That race, sanctioned by the All Star Circuit of Champions, was supposed to be the preliminary event before Saturday's featured attraction, the $51,000-to-win Tuscarora 50 at the Port. The "Tusky," however, was postponed from Saturday until Sunday. Then on Sunday, the "Tusky" was postponed again. 

Friday's win, meanwhile, was Rahmer's first ever at Port Royal, and his sixth overall this season. It also marked his second All Star win of the season and the third of his career.

Rahmer started second and trailed pole-sitter Tim Shaffer for eight laps before grabbing the lead in lapped traffic on the ninth circuit. Despite a number of attempts by Shaffer on numerous restarts, Rahmer held sway the remainder of the 30-lap contest.

Actually, the race went 31 laps because a fuel stop was called when fifth-running Jared Esh ran out of fuel with a lap to go. All Star rules call for a green-white-checkered finish.

Rahmer scored the win over Shaffer, with Ryan Smith in third.  Brock Zearfoss and Lance Dewease completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Lucas Wolfe, Brian Brown, Paul McMahan, Aaron Reutzel and Logan Wagner.

Wagner's 10th-place finish, along with very bad luck for Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett, allowed Wagner to claim the 2018 Port Royal point title. Hodnett was involved in a crash during a dash race and had to change to a back-up car for the feature. That car suffered mechanical problems while lining up for the event and Hodnett was unable to start the feature.

Jeff Rine won the feature and the track title in the late model division. Rine bested point title rival Dylan Yoder for the win in the 22-lap event. Andy Haus, Ralph Morgan Jr. and Kyle Lee completed the top five. Dover's Gene Knaub slipped to sixth after running in the top five for most of the event.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.