DIRT TRACK ROUDUP: California's Carson Macedo earns All Star triumph at Lincoln Speedway

  • California's Carson Macedo won Saturday's All Star race at Lincoln Speedway.
  • Freddie Rahmer and Jim Siegel picked up All Star triumphs on Friday at Williams Grove Speedway.
  • Texan Aaron Reutzel won Thursday's All Star contest at Grandview Speedway.

California’s Carson Macedo picked up his first local win in Saturday’s All Star Circuit of Champions race at Lincoln Speedway. 

Carson Macedo

Macedo collected $5,000 for his victory.

Macedo originally started second, but there was a tangle between Macedo and pole-sitter Tim Glatfelter, of Spring Grove,  just before a lap was completed. The mishap saw Glatfelter flip, while Macedo continued on.

On the restart, Macedo grabbed the lead from the pole position and led for six laps, before Freddie Rahmer was able to get by and take the lead. Rahmer led until the 28th of 30 laps, when his engine went up in smoke. Macedo regained the lead and held off NASCAR standout Kyle Larson for the win.

Tim Shaffer finished third, with Brian Montieth coming from the 14th starting spot for fourth. Aaron Reutzel completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Gerard McIntyre Jr., York’s Cory Haas, Ryan Smith, Alan Krimes and Dover’s Chad Trout.

Hanover’s Mason Chaney led all 20 laps to win the Legends feature over Travis McClelland, Chris McKinney, Craley’s Bill Diehl and Greg Burd.



Rahmer, Siegel triumph at Grove: A pair of local third-generation drivers topped the twin 20-lap features for the All Stars in Friday’s Jack Gunn Memorial at Williams Grove Speedway.

In the first race, where the lineup was set using the All Stars’ regular format, Freddie Rahmer scored the $4,000 victory. All Rahmer had to do to score the win was move from his third starting spot to the front. Not an easy task, since NASCAR standout Kyle Larson started from the pole position and led the first eight laps before Rahmer slipped by in heavy lapped traffic. Rahmer then fended off a late-race challenge from Larson for the win.

Aaron Reutzel, Lance Dewease, Tim Shaffer, Brian Montieth, Lucas Wolfe, Gerard McIntyre Jr., Ryan Smith and Chad Kemenah completed the top 10.

The second race saw a complete inversion of the 22 cars that finished the first race on the lead lap. Jim Siegel used some racing luck to score that $4,000 victory. Siegel started fourth and watched as Dover’s Chad Trout, who started second, bested pole-sitter Danny Dietrich at the start. Trout would lead for 11 laps before tangling with a lapped car and crashing. 

That incident turned the lead over to Siegel, who fended off the challenges of multi-time NASCAR champion Tony Stewart to secure the victory. Stewart finished second, with another former NASCAR racer, Dave Blaney, in third. Steve Buckwalter and Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri completed the top five.

While many of the top finishers from the first race, including Rahmer, Reutzel and Dewease, dropped from competition in the second event, Larson was a big part of the show, advancing from his 21st starting spot to finish sixth. Rounding out the top 10 were Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett, Brock Zearfoss, Montieth and Ryan Smith.

Reutzel victorious at Grandview: Texan Aaron Reutzel raced to his first local win in Thursday’s All Star event at Grandview Speedway.

Reutzel collected $5,000 for the win. Reutzel started from the pole position and led all 35 laps.

However, he had several challengers at the end of the event. Coming from mid-pack, Freddie Rahmer and Kyle Larson worked their way forward to challenge at the end. Reutzel won over Rahmer, Larson, Paul McMahan and Chad Kemenah. Rounding out the top 10 were Danny Dietrich, Alan Krimes, Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett, Ryan Smith and J.J. Grasso.

Billy Pauch Sr. bested Jeff Strunk to win the modified feature.

Reeser wins at Port Royal: Tyler Reeser, a 410 sprint rookie, claimed his first career win in Saturday’s 25-lap event at Port Royal Speedway. 

The $3,600 victory came after an early-race battle with Trenton Shaffer.

Reeser went on to score the victory over Steve Buckwalter, with Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett in third. Mike Wagner and Lucas Wolfe completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Logan Wagner, Dylan Cisney, Blane Heimbach, A.J. Flick and Shaffer.

Mark Bitner won the United States Auto Club wingless 360 sprint feature. Bitner’s win came over Steve Drevicki, who claimed the series’ point title. Eddie Strada, Chandler Leiby and Joey Biasi completed the top five.

John Scarborough won the 305 sprint feature over Darren Miller, with Kyle Smith, Austin Bishop and Drerw Ritchey in the top five.

Mitten first at BAPS: Veteran racer Russ Mitten scored his first win of the season in the 25-lap super sportsman feature at BAPS Motor Speedway Saturday.

Mitten grabbed the lead with two laps remaining.

Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger finished second, with Bruce Buckwalter Jr., Mike Enders and Kenny Edkin in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Garrett Williamson, early leader Steve Fannasy, Fawn Grove’s Paul Miller, Davey Walsh and Justin Foster.

Brian Shuey was the limited late model winner over Hanover’s Bobby Beard, Alan Sagi, Sean Merkel and York Haven’s Steve Billet.

York Sam Rial won the Xtreme stock feature over Manchester’s Patrick McClane, Newberrytown’s Alex Updegraff, Strinestown’s Travis Horan and Donnie Brodrick.

Shultz excels at Selinsgrove: Jason Shultz won his third race of the season in 360 sprint competition at Selinsgrove Speedway Saturday.

Shultz’s win came over Mark Smith, with Ryan Taylor, Colby Womer and Adam Carberry in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Derek Locke, Chad Layton, Mallie Shuster, Davie Franek and Kyle Reinhardt.

Holbrook leads way at Trailway: David Holbrook won Friday’s 358 sprint feature at Trailway Speedway.

Holbrook’s win came over Cody Fletcher, with Spring Grove’s Zach Eucalano in third. Hanover’s Joe Trone Jr. and J.B. Cunningham completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Hanover’s Kody Hartlaub, Steve Owings, York’s Glenndon Forsythe, Tyler Walton and Matt Findley.

Altobelli triumphs at Hagerstown: Mike Altobelli won the Mid-Atlantic Modified feature at Hagerstown Speedway on Saturday.

Following Altobelli in the top five were Brad Kling, Brian Duffy, Rick Hulson and Ray Kable Jr.

Bryan Kerns won the pure stock feature and Kevin Thomas was the hobby stock winner.

Sweet, Pittman top Outlaws: Brad Sweet won Friday’s World of Outlaws sprint feature in Rapid City, South Dakota.

Donny Schatz, Dominic Scelzi and Hanover drivers Logan Schuchart and Jacob Allen completed the top five.

Saturday at the Big Sky Speedway, in Billings, Montana, Daryn Pittman won over Allen, Schatz, Sweet and Kraig Kinser. Schuchart was sixth.

Bryan Householder writes about dirt track racing for The York Dispatch. He can be reached at sports@yorkdispatch.com.