DIRT-TRACK RACING: Lance Dewease earns $12,000 during Dream Race program at Port Royal

  • Lance Dewease won the Dream Race at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night.
  • Dewease won the race and earned $12,000 for his efforts during the program.
  • York's Chase Dietz earned $3,500 for winning Saturday's sprint feature at Lincoln Speedway.

Lance Dewease raced to his second career Livings Legends Dream Race triumph at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night.

Lance Dewease will be among those honored this weekend at Port Royal Speedway during the running of the Tuscarora 50. The event will pay $50,000 to the winner.

With his feature win and semifinal triumph, Dewease collected $12,000 for his evening.

Dewease started second and grabbed the lead from Danny Dietrich on the 12th of 35 laps.

While Dewease motored away to the win, a tight battle developed for second. Dietrich slipped as far back as fourth, but came back to garner second at the finish. Brock Zearfoss finished third, with Freddie Rahmer earning the Hard Charger Award, storming from the 13th spot for fourth. Hanover’s Logan Schuchart finished fifth. 

Rounding out the top 10 were Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett, Lucas Wolfe, Mike Wagner, Hanover’s Jacob Allen and James McFadden.

Hodnett was the Living Legend honored at this year's Dream Race. He is closing in on 300 career victories in the 410 and 360 sprint cars. He’s been a regular on the local circuit for nearly 20 years since relocating from the Memphis, Tennessee, area.

In the Moonshine Camo Route 35 Challenge Race for the late models, Colton Flinner scored the win over Newberrytown’s Jason Covert. Tim Smith, Dylan Yoder and Tim Wilson completed the top five.



York's Chase Dietz triumphs at Lincoln: York’s Chase Dietz scored his first 410 sprint win of the season in Saturday’s 25-lap feature at Lincoln Speedway.

Dietz led all the way to best fellow York driver Adam Wilt for the $3,500 win. Spring Grove’s Tim Glatfelter finished third, with Alan Krimes and Jim Siegel in the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell, Brian Montieth, Tyler Ross, Brandon Rahmer and Lewisberry’s Kyle Moody.

In the 20-lap 358 sprint feature, Tyler Walton scored his first Lincoln win. Walton took the lead from second-place finisher Wyatt Hinkle on the 15th lap. Hanover’s Troy Wagaman Jr. finished third, with Dwight Leppo and Manchester’s Trey Hivner in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Hanover’s Kody Hartlaub, Jake Galloway, Hanover’s Dylan Norris, Kyle Denmyer and Tyler Ross.

Mike Altobelli won the Mid-Atlantic Modified feature over Rick Hulson, James Sparks, Ray Kable Jr. and Justin Cullum.

Lewisberry's Dellinger first at BAPS: Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger raced to his sixth BAPS Motor Speedway super-sportsman win of the season on Saturday. 

When Dellinger passed Timmie Barrick for the lead on the 15th of 25 laps he became the fifth different leader of the race. Barrick finished second, with Fawn Grove’s Paul Miller in third. Kenny Edkin and Matt Ondek completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Davey Walsh, Jay Fannasy, Mike Emders, Justin Foster and Garrett Williamson.

Alex Bright won the United States Auto Club Eastern Midget feature over Adam Pierson, Brendon Bright, Ryan Wilson and Andrew Layser.

Chad Smith won the street-stock feature over Eric Tripp, Chris Derr, Felton’s Bob Scott Jr. and Jimmy Combs.

In the Xtreme stocks, Newberrytown’s Alex Updegraff was the winner over York’s Sam Rial, Manchester’s Patrick McClain, Manchester’s Travis Horan and Dover’s Mike Goodwin.

Mark Smith victorious at Selinsgrove: Mark Smith won Saturday’s 360 sprint feature at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Smith’s win came over Jason Shultz, with Derek Locke, Michael WalterII and Davie Franek in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Adam Carberry, Chad Layton, Colby Womer, Ryan Kissinger and Jimmy Stitzel.

Johnny Scarborough won the 305 sprint feature at Selinsgrove.  Scarborough's win came over Zach Newlin, with Ken Duke, Austin Bishop and Jake Waters in the top five.  Waters' run came in his first appearance at Selinsgrove since being seriously burned there two years ago.

Kyle Bachman was the pro-stock winner over Brandon Moser and Strinestown's Tommy Slanker. Kevin Imes won the roadrunner feature.

Rainouts on Friday: All the area tracks were rained out Friday evening.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.