DIRT-TRACK RACING: Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett captures sprint-car triumph at BAPS

  • Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett won the sprint feature at BAPS Motor Speedway on Sunday.
  • Hodnett earned $3,500 for the win in the 30-lap feature event.
  • Lucas Wolfe challenged several times over the closing laps, but settled for second.

Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett won the 30-lap sprint-car feature at BAPS Motor Speedway on Sunday evening.

Greg Hodnett

Hodnett’s $3,500 win came over Lucas Wolfe, who challenged on several occasions during the closing stages of the race.

Invader Cale Conley finished third, with Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri and Gerard McIntyre Jr. in the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were Lewisberry’s Kyle Moody, Dan Shetler, Tyler Ross, Shawn Burke and James McFadden.

In the 25-lap super-sportsman feature, second-generation driver Justin Foster scored his first career win. Foster’s win came over Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger. Timmie Barrick finished third, with Kenny Edkin and Frankie Herr in the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were Jay Fannassy, Davey Walsh, Matt Ondek, Garrett Williamson and Chase Gutshall.



Dietrich at winner at Lincoln: Danny Dietrich and Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri both won 410 sprint-car feature races at Lincoln Speedway Saturday evening.

Dietrich picked up $5,000 for winning the make-up of the Brandon Little Memorial Fallen Firefighters event, while Macri picked up $3,500 for winning the regularly-scheduled event.

In the make-up race, Dietrich started 11th and didn’t take the lead until the 21st of 33 laps. Scott Fisher led the first 18 laps, while Brian Montieth led the next three before Dietrich slipped by.

Montieth hounded Dietrich the rest of the distance, but had to settle for second, with Macri in third. Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell and Dover’s Austin Hogue completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 in the nonstop event were Dover’s Chad Trout, Freddie Rahmer, Lucas Wolfe, Jim Siegel and Brandon Rahmer.

Macri started sixth in the regular event and took the lead on a 14th-lap restart after a race-altering tangle. Brett Michalski led the first 13 laps before third- and fourth-place runners Brandon Rahmer and Jessie Attard tangled, collecting Freddie Rahmer and Jim Siegel.

Macri took the lead on the restart, but the middle portion of the race was plagued with troubles. Before 16 laps could be completed, top runners Dietrich, Montieth, Michalski, Siegel and Tim Glatfelter would become involved in crashes.

The remainder of the race would go nonstop. Macri won over Tyler Ross, with Trout, Wolfe and York’s Adam Wilt in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Lewisberry’s Kyle Moody, Gerard McIntyre Jr., Alan Krimes, York’s Glenndon Forsythe and York’s Cory Haas.

Matt Findley led every lap to claim his first career win in the 20-lap 358 sprint feature. Jeff Halligan finished second, with Kody Hartlaub, Dave Brown and Cody Fletcher in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Tyler Ross, Wyatt Hinkle, Tyler Walton, Kyle Denmyer and Wellsville’s Scott Geesey.

Jeremy Ott won the Legends feature over York’s Lucas Montgomery. Craley’s Bill Diehl finished third, followed by York’s Scott Smith and Trent Yoder.

Wagner nips Hodnett at Port Royal: Logan Wagner out dueled Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett for the $3,600 win at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday evening.

The lead duo swapped the lead several times in the closing laps, with Wagner claiming the win by .212 seconds. Blane Heimbach, Dylan Cisney and the winner’s father, Mike Wagner, completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Ryan Taylor, Cale Conley, Coleman Gullick, Kody Lehman and Joey Hershey.

Dover’s Coleby Frye won the late-model feature, leading all 22 laps. Andy Haus, Dylan Yoder, Jeff Rine and Mike Lupfer completed the top five. Derrike Garman was the econo late-model winner and Bill Powell won the Xtreme stock feature.

Kershner excels at Hagerstown: Cody Kershner won the late-model-sportsman feature at Hagerstown Speedway Saturday evening, with Derrike Quade, James Lichliter, Justin Weaver and Ronnie Bottenfield in the top five.

Logan Roberson was the crate late-model winner, Dan Zechman topped the pure stocks and Kevin Thomas was the hobby-stock winner.

Locke races to victory at Selinsgrove: Derek Locke raced to his first win of the season in Selinsgrove Speedway's 360 sprint-car feature Saturday evening.

The third-generation driver led every lap from his third starting position. Chad Layton finished second, with Davie Franek, Jason Shultz and Mallie Shuster in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Kyle Reinhardt, Cody Keller, Ryan Kissinger, Hellam's Bryn Gohn and Jim Shuster.

Bryan Bernheisel won the late-model feature over Brett Schadel, with Kenny Trevitz, Meade Hahn and Manchester's Randy Christine Jr. in the top five.

Kyle Bachman was the pro-stock winner and Ryan Zook topped the roadrunners.

Stillwaggon takes URC event: Robbie Stillwaggon won the URC 360 sprint feature at Delaware International Speedway on Saturday evening.

Curt Michael, J.J. Grasso, Josh Weller and Eddie Strada completed the top five.

Rahmer triumphs at Grove: Defending track champion Freddie Rahmer scored his first Williams Grove Speedway win of the season in Friday evening's 25-lap Outlaw Tune-Up event.

Rahmer's win was worth $4,000.

Lance Dewease vaulted from the pole position into the lead at the start, but suffered mechanical issues on the first lap, turning the lead over to Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett before the lap was completed.

Hodnett, who started second, held the top spot as Rahmer was working his way forward from the seventh starting spot. It wasn't until the 16th lap that Rahmer was able to slip by Hodnett for the lead. But, the race wasn't over.

Some persistent lapped cars closed the gap between the front runners in the closing stages of the race, with Rahmer and Hodnett banging wheels a few times as they battled for the lead while trying to work past the lapped cars.

In the end, Rahmer was the winner over Hodnett, with York's Cory Haas in third. Danny Dietrich and Brian Montieth completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Rick Lafferty, Jason Shultz, James McFadden, Brandon Rahmer and Jim Siegel.

Dave Brown got his first Grove 358 sprint win in the 25-lap "Summer Series" event.

Brown started fourth and took the lead from Wyatt Hinkle on the 12th lap. Brown then had to fend off Doug Hammaker over the closing laps for the win. Rodney Westhafer, Kevin Nouse and Jeff Halligan completed the top five, with Todd Rittenhouse Jr., Hanover's Troy Wagaman Jr., Hinkle, Hank Donovan Jr. and Scott Fisher in the top 10.

Bishop leads way at Trailway: Austin Bishop won the 305 sprint feature at Trailway Speedway on Friday evening, edging Dave Grube for the victory.

Tyler Reinhardt, Kyle Smith and Darren Miller completed the top five.

Jim Young was the 600cc micro-sprint winner over Geoff Gill, Zane Rudisill, Hannah Riser and Travis Keiser.

Brian Walls bested Will Walls for the street-stock win, with Jim Jacobs, Jimmy Combs and Jeremy Stremmel in the top five.

Justin Oberlin was the limited-stock winner.

Lynn victorious at Clinton County: Ryann Lynn won the 305 sprint feature at Clinton County Speedway Friday evening.

Following Lynn were Dakota Schweigart, Ken Duke, Scott Lutz and Tyler Cochran.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.