NASCAR's Kyle Larson earns Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek win at Grandview Speedway

  • NASCAR driver Kyle Larson earned a Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek win Tuesday at Grandview.
  • It was Larson's second straight Speedweek triumph at Grandview. It was worth $7,000.
  • Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett finished second, followed by another NASCAR driver, Kasey Kahne.

NASCAR driver Kyle Larson picked up his first win of Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek on Tuesday evening at Grandview Speedway.

Larson collected $7,000 for his second consecutive Speedweek win at the track located in Bechtelsville, Berks County.

NASCAR driver Kyle Larson picked up a Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek win on Tuesday at Grandview Speedway. AP FILE PHOTO

Larson started fourth and tracked down early race leader Greg Hodnett of Spring Grove on the ninth lap of the 35-lap contest. Hodnett didn't yield easily, however, and hounded Larson for the remainder of the event, but was unable to regain the lead. In the end, Larson scored the win over Hodnett.

Third place didn't seem to be the place to be running on Tuesday evening. Australian World Series champion James McFadden developed a flat tire while running third. Then late in the race, 2017 NASCAR Truck Series champion Christopher Bell blew out a tire while running third. Bell also collected fourth-place runner Trey Starks.

In the end, it was yet another NASCAR star, Kasey Kahne, who finished third, just ahead of racing superstar Tony Stewart. Danny Dietrich rounded out the top five.

Completing the top 10 were Ryan Smith, Parker Price Miller, Freddie Rahmer, Dillsburg's Anthony Macri and Lucas Wolfe.Multi-time Grandview champion Jeff Strunk raced from the 23rd starting position to win the modified event.



Dietrich wins at Lincoln: Dietrich swept the Speedweek races at Lincoln Speedway this year with a win on Monday evening.

Dietrich earned $7,000 for his second win of the series.

Dietrich started fifth in Monday evening’s 30-lap event and took the lead from Larson on the 21st lap. Larson stayed close and made several bids to regain the lead, but Dietrich was up to the task and held on for the win over Larson.

Rico Abreu finished third after a race-long battle with fourth-place finisher Wolfe. Ryan Smith completed the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were Dover’s Chad Trout, Gerard McIntyre Jr., York’s Cory Haas, Hodnett and Kahne, who just edged out a fast-closing Freddie Rahmer for 10th.

Steve Wilbur won the 20-lap wingless super-sportsman race. Wilbur took the lead from Billy Brian Jr. on the 16th lap. Brian finished second, with Steve Drevicki, Joey Biasi and Carmen Perigo Jr. in the top five.

Mark Smith triumphs at Selinsgrove: Mark Smith won Tuesday's 360 sprint-car race at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Smith's win came over Jason Shultz, with Davie Franek in third. Chad Layton and Derek Locke completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Cody Keller, Mike Koehler, Nyle Berkes, Scott Flammer and Ryan Linder.

Reach Bryan Householder at