DIRT-TRACK RACING: Trey Starks races to sprint-car triumph at Port Royal Speedway

  • Trey Starks won Saturday's sprint-car race at Port Royal Speedway.
  • Danny Dietrich won Friday's sprint-car race at Williams Grove Speedway.
  • For a seventh consecutive week, Lincoln Speedway had its feature action rained out.

Trey Starks raced to the sprint-car win at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night.

The sprint cars are seen here in action at Port Royal Speedway. FILE PHOTO

Starks claimed $3,600 for his flag-to-flag victory in the 25-lap feature.

The Puyallup, Washington driver became the 190th different driver to win a sprint-car race in the history of the Juniata County oval.

Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett finished second, ahead of T.J. Stutts, with Brock Zearfoss and Jared Esh in the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri, Blane Heimbach, Dylan Cisney, Gerard McIntyre Jr. and Mike Wagner.

Jeff Rine won the late-model feature, besting Dylan Yoder, with Kyle Lee, Tyler Bare and Dover’s Coleby Frye in the top five.

Kevin Imes won the Xtreme stock feature.



Dietrich wins at Grove: Danny Dietrich raced to the $3,600 win at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday.

Dietrich came from the seventh starting spot to take the lead from Dover’s Landon Myers on the 15th of 25 laps.

Lucas Wolfe finished second, with Freddie Rahmer, Myers and York’s Cory Haas in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Hodnett, Steve Buckwalter, Rodney Westhafer, Macri and Mallie Shuster.

Dillsburg’s Rich Eichelberger won the make-up feature for the 358 sprints, taking the lead from Todd Rittenhouse Jr. with seven laps remaining. Hanover’s Troy Wagaman got by Rittenhouse on the final lap for second, with Rittenhouse, Spring Grove’s Dwight Leppo and Dillsburg’s Brie Hershey in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were York’s Chase Dietz, York’s Glenndon Forsythe, Brent Shearer, Kevin Nouse and Dillsburg’s Chris Frank.

In the regularly-scheduled feature, Doug Hammaker led all 20 laps for the win over Dietz.  Wagaman, Hershey and Matt Findley completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Rittenhouse, Jeff Halligan, Scott Fisher, Dillsburg’s Chris Arnold and Shearer.

Shuey takes Billet race at BAPS: BAPS Motor Speedway was hampered by rain, but did manage to complete the Carl Billet Memorial limited-late-model feature before rain postponed the remainder of the program.

Brian Shuey won the late-model event over Dover’s Charles Potts. Travis Mease finished third, with Manchester’s Randy Christine Jr. and Shaun Miller in the top five.

Smith wins Kramer Cup at Selinsgrove: Mark Smith won the Kramer Cup 360 sprint-car race at Selinsgrove Speedway Saturday.

Run in memory of Kramer Williamson, Smith took the win over Chad Layton, with Davie Franek, Jason Shultz and Ryan Kissinger in the top five. Completing the top 10 were J.J. Grasso, Cody Keller, Derek Locke, Larry Kelleher and Kyle Lick.

Perigo leads way at Trailway: Carmen Perigo Jr. won Friday’s wingless super-sportsman race at Trailway Speedway.

Perigo topped Chris Meleason for the win, with Joey Biasi, Craig Perigo and Steve Wilbur in the top five.

Jesse Snyder won the 600cc micro-sprint feature over Jim Young, Travis Keiser, Tyler Walton and Bradley Weber.

In the 270cc micro sprints, Cory Myers was the winner over Brian Marriott, Steven Cox, Brent Bull and Tim McClelland.

The remainder of the program was rained out.

Marks grabs Outlaw win: Brent Marks scored his first career World of Outlaws sprint-car win Saturday at Wilmott, Wisconsin. 

Marks' win came over Daryn Pittman and Brad Sweet.

Friday at I-96 in Michigan, David Gravel won over Shane Stewart and Sweet.  Marks finished fifth.

Reutzel tops All Stars at Lernerville: Aaron Reutzel won Friday’s All Star feature at Lernerville Speedway over Tim Shaffer and Parker Price Miller.

Lincoln rained out again: For the seventh time in a row, Lincoln Speedway was rained out on Saturday. This time three 358 heats were completed before the skies opened.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.