DIRT-TRACK RACING: Lucas Wolfe grabs $10,000 win at Port Royal's Bob Weikert Memorial Race

  • Lucas Wolfe won $10,000 by winning the Bob Weikert Memorial Race at Port Royal Speedway.
  • Lance Dewease won $5,000 by winning the preliminary-night feature at Port Royal.
  • York's Rick Eckert swept two nights of late-model racing at the Port, winning a combined $8,000.

Lucas Wolfe took the $10,000 top prize in Sunday’s Bob Weikert Memorial Race at Port Royal Speedway.

Lucas Wolfe

Saturday, it was Lance Dewease who took home the $5,000 preliminary-night win.

York’s Rick Eckert swept both nights of United Late Model Series action at the Port for an $8,000 weekend.

In Sunday’s sprint-car feature, Wolfe took the lead on the 23rd of 30 laps when leader Logan Wagner suffered a flat left rear tire. Wolfe then held off Dewease for the win. Outlaw invader David Gravel finished third, with Brock Zearfoss and Ryan Smith in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Danny Dietrich, Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett, Trey Starks, Brent Marks and Freddie Rahmer.

Saturday’s sprint-car feature saw Dewease lead all 30 laps after starting third. Gravel, Hodnett, Wolfe and Zearfoss were in the top five, with T.J. Stutts, Hanover’s Logan Schuchart, Marks, Dylan Cisney and Starks in the top 10.

Eckert led every lap in each of his late-model wins. Sunday, he was trailed by Jeff Rine, Ross Robinson, Kyle Lee and World of Outlaws sprint-car star Donny Schatz. In Saturday’s event, Eckert was followed by Gary Stuhler, Dylan Yoder, Rine and Schatz.



Buckwalter captures Dyer Tribute at Grove: Steve Buckwalter led every lap of Friday’s Walter Dyer Tribute race for the sprint cars at Williams Grove Speedway.

Buckwalter’s first win of the season was worth $4,610. Hodnett finished second, followed by Stutts, Dewease, Dillsburg’s Anthony Marci, Zearfoss, Wolfe, York’s Cory Haas, Dillsburg’s Aaron Ott and Brian Montieth.

In the 305 sprint feature, Austin Bishop led all 20 laps for his second Grove win in as many races this season. Ken Duke finished second, followed by Jeff Geiges, Scott Ellerman and Zach Newlin.

Dellinger wins Bricker Memorial at BAPS: Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger scored the big win in the 40-lap Bud Bricker Memorial race for the super-sportsman racers at BAPS Motor Speedway Saturday.

Mike Enders trailed Dellinger at the finish, with Garrett Williamson, Steve Fannasy and Russ Mitten in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Jay Fannasy, Frankie Herr, Timmie Barrick, Matt Ondek and Todd Leonard.

Jasen Geesaman won the street-stock feature over Brian Walls, Eric Tripp, Will Walls and Ryan Smith.

The limited-late-model feature was postponed by curfew after a rain delay.

Franek takes Gunn Memorial at Selinsgrove: Davie Franek won Selinsgrove Speedway’s Jack Gunn Memorial Race on Saturday.

Franek’s win came over Jason Shultz, with Derek Locke third. Eric Tomecek and Chad Layton completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Mallie Shuster, Cody Keller, Adam Carberry, Larry Kelleher and Ryan Taylor.

Mark Smith, who won Friday’s URC feature at Big Diamond, was leading when he tangled with a lapped car.

Bryan Bernheisel edged Dover’s Gene Knaub in the thrilling late-model battle. Jim Yoder, Kenny Trevitz and Manchester’s Randy Christine Jr. completed the top five.

Strinestown’s Tommy Slanker won the pro-stock feature and Ryan Zook was the roadrunner winner.

Rainouts: There were rain delays at several weekend events and Lincoln and Hagerstown were both rained out.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.