Poll shows Shamaine Daniels leading U.S. Rep. Scott Perry. Could it really happen?

DIRT-TRACK RACING: Danny Dietrich drives to Port Royal Speedway sprint-car triumph

  • Danny Dietrich drove to the 25-lap sprint-car victory at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night.
  • T.J. Stutts finished second, with Logan Wagner again edging his father Mike for third.
  • Blane Heimbach bested the ASCS National 360 sprint-car drivers to win Saturday’s race at Selinsgrove.

Danny Dietrich raced to the 25-lap, sprint-car victory at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night.

Danny Dietrich

T.J. Stutts finished second, with Logan Wagner again edging his father Mike for third.

Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett completed the top five, with Lucas Wolfe, Brock Zearfoss, Freddie Rahmer, Steve Buckwalter and James McFadden rounding out the top 10.

Dylan Yoder won the late-model feature over Tim Smith, Mike Lupfer, Jeff Rine and Trent Brenneman.

The features for the 305 sprints and the econo late models were rained out.

Rain also plagued several other tracks over the weekend.

Sunday's Kevin Gobrecht Memorial sprint race at BAPS Motor Speedway in northern York County was rained out and rescheduled for next Sunday, May 13.

In addition, Saturday racing at Lincoln and Hagerstown speedways was rained out. 

Lincoln has again been forced to move the Weldon Sterner Memorial Race back a week to this coming Saturday.

Hagerstown has moved the Frank Sagi Tribute Race to Sunday, June 10.



Heimbach triumphs at Selinsgrove: Hometown ace Blane Heimbach won the tour ASCS National 360 Sprint Car Series win on Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Heimbach’s flag-to-flag win was worth $5,500.

Trey Starks finished second, with Davie Franek, Mark Smith and Seth Bergman in the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were Derek Locke, Roger Crockett, Scott Bojucki, J.J. Grasso and Blake Hahn.

The remainder of the Selinsgrove program was washed out.

Williamson victorious at BAPS: Garrett Williamson raced to his first win of the season in the 25-lap, super-sportsman feature at BAPS Motor Speedway Saturday.

Williamson took the lead from Chad Criswell on the eighth lap and went on to top Criswell for the win.

Russ Mitten, Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger and Kenny Edkin completed the top five. 

Rounding out the top 10 were Davey Welsh, Frankie Herr, Fawn Grove’s Paul Miller, Doug Dodson and Dillsburg’s Rich Eichelberger.

Hanover’s Bobby Beard won his second race of the season in the limited-late-model feature. Beard took the lead from second-place finisher Sean Merkel on the sixth of 20 laps. Troy Miller, Brian Shuey and Travis Mease completed the top five.

The street-stock feature was rained out.

Ott wins at Grove: Aaron Ott raced to his first win of the season in Friday’s 25-lap sprint-car feature at Williams Grove Speedway.

Ott’s win was worth $4,000.

Ott started sixth and grabbed the lead from Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri on the 14th lap, just before Macri rolled to a stop with a flat tire to cause the only caution flag of the race.

Ott led the remainder of the distance despite a late-race charge by Dietrich that fell just short. Alan Krimes finished third with Dover’s Chad Trout and Rodney Westhafer in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were McFadden, Hodnett, Stutts, Wolfe and Brian Montieth.

In the 25-lap ASCS National 360 Sprint Car Series feature, Hodnett led all the way for the $4,000 victory. Smith finished second with Buckwalter, Sam Hafertepe Jr. and Wayne Johnson in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Chad Layton, Jason Barney, Starks, Johnny Herrera and Franek.

Treuchet leads way at Trailway: Austen Treuchet became the second first-time winner in as many weeks during Trailway Speedway’s 358 sprint feature Friday evening.

Treuchet’s win came over J.B. Cunningham, with Kody Hartlaub, Mike Bittinger and Troy Wagaman Jr. in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were David Holbrook, Dylan Norris, Steve Kisamore, Cody Fletcher and Austin Kirby.

Other winners at Trailway on Friday were Tyler Walton in the 600cc micro sprints, Steven Cox in the 270cc micro sprints and Kyle Martin in the street stocks.

Schatz, Sweet top Outlaws, Reutzel paces All Stars: Donny Schatz (Friday at Lake Ozark, Missouri) and Brad Sweet (Saturday at Salina, Oklahoma) were World of Outlaws winners over the weekend.

Aaron Reutzel won Saturday’s All Star event at Sharon, Ohio, while Friday’s show at Lernerville was rained out.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.