Woman's body not found for hours after dying in rollover crash: coroner

DIRT-TRACK RACING: Danny Dietrich picks up his second Lincoln Speedway win of season

  • Danny Dietrich picked up the 410 sprint-car win on Saturday at Lincoln Speedway.
  • Brock Zearfoss earned 410 sprint-car wins at Wiliams Grove and Port Royal speedways.
  • Lewisberry's Scott Dellinger captured the super-sportsman win at BAPS Motor Speedway.

Danny Dietrich raced to his second Lincoln Speedway 410 sprint-car win of the season Saturday evening.

Dietrich’s 40th career Lincoln win was worth $3,500.

Danny Dietrich

Dietrich started second and led all 25 laps of the feature. In the middle stages of the race, Dietrich was challenged by last week’s winner, Freddie Rahmer, but then Rahmer got busy fending off six-time track champion Brian Montieth, and Dietrich drove away to the win.  Rahmer held sway in a four-car battle for second, with Montieth, Alan Krimes and Jim Siegel in the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were York’s Glenndon Forsythe, Fawn Grove’s Chris Knopp, Spring Grove’s Tim Glatfelter, Scott Fisher and Brandon Rahmer.

Relative newcomer Dave Brown, up from the 305 sprint ranks, won the 358 sprint feature. Brown started second and slipped by pole-sitter Dalton Dietrich of York on the seventh of 20 laps. Brown then had to fend off the advances of Cody Fletcher to score his first 358 sprint-car win. 

Fletcher, Dietrich, Manchester’s Trey Hivner and York’s Chase Dietz completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Hanover’s Troy Wagaman Jr., Jeff Halligan, Dillsburg’s Brie Hershey, Hanover’s Kody Hartluab and Kenny Kuhn.

Shaun Jones led all 20 laps of the nonstop limited-late-model feature to score the win over Manchester’s Randy Christine Jr.  Wes Bonebrake finished third, with Dover’s Gene Knaub and Devin Frey in the top five.



Smith wins Ray Tilley Classic at Selinsgrove: Mark Smith won the 30-lap Ray Tilley Classic at Selinsgrove Speedway on Sunday evening.

Smith’s 410 sprint-car victory was worth $4,088.

Smith started fifth and took the lead from Gerard McIntyre Jr. on the 11th lap. He then had to fend off a late charge by Freddie Rahmer to win by a half second.

Rahmer settled for second, with T.J. Stutts, Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett and Lucas Wolfe in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri, McIntyre, Trey Starks, Coleman Gullick and Michael Walter II.

In the pro-stock feature, Kyle Bachman was the winner over Brandon Moser and Strinestown’s Tommy Slanker.

Zearfoss wins at Port Royal: Brock Zearfoss led all 25 laps at Port Royal Speedway Saturday to score his second win of the weekend.

Zearfoss earned $4,000 for his victory in the 25-lap, 410 sprint-car feature.

Zearfoss started second and got the jump on pole-sitter Hodnett at the start. Hodnett finished second, followed by Wolfe, Logan Wagner, and Dylan Cisney in the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were Steve Buckwalter, Stutts, McIntyre, Mike Wagner and Macri.

In the 25-lap URC 360 sprint feature, Wolfe was scored the leader of all 25 laps, but that’s not the whole story. He and Smith swapped the lead several times over the closing stages of the race, and Wolfe was ahead at the line by just .004 of a second.

Trey Starks, Hodnett and Zearfoss completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Josh Weller, Ryan Kissinger, Jason Shultz, Eric Parker and Bill Balog.

Kyle Smith won the 305 sprint feature over Jeff Miller.  Darren Miller, Christian Rumsey and Dylan Shatzer completed the top five.

Zearfoss also wins at Williams Grove: Zearfoss started his weekend with the $3,600 win in Williams Grove Speedway's 410 sprint feature Friday evening.

Zearfoss got by race-long leader Bill Balog on a lap 21 restart and went on to the victory over Balog, who had his hands full fending off third-place finisher Freddie Rahmer. Rick Lafferty and Montieth completed the top five, with Wolfe, Hodnett, Dietrich, Stutts and Troy Fraker in the top 10.

Dietz won the 358 sprint feature over Kevin Nouse, with Dillsburg’s Rich Eichelberger in third. Halligan and Matt Findley completed the first five.

Rounding out the top 10 were Brett Wanner, York’s Glenndon Forsythe, Todd Rittenhouse Jr., Nyle Berkes and Hershey.

Lewisberry's Dellinger triumphs at BAPS: For the second week in a row, Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger won the 25-lap, super-sportsman feature at BAPS Motor Speedway Saturday.

Dellinger’s win came over Kenny Edkins, with Chris Meleason, Chase Gutshall and Russ Mitten in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Frankie Herr, Mike Enders, Scott Grace, Jay Fannasy and Doug Dodson.

Alex Bright led the last two laps to claim the 20-lap USAC East midget feature over early-race leader Adam Pierson. Tommy Kunsman, Ryan Wilson and Shawn Jackson rounded out the top five.

Jasen Geesaman pulled out a last-lap victory in the 20-lap, street-stock feature. Geesaman passed second-place finisher Eric Tripp on the final circuit. Ryan Smith, Kyle Saylor and Brian Walls completed the top five.

In the 20-lap Legends feature, Alex Schmiedel was the winner over Scott Houdeshell. Travis McClelland, York’s Lucas Montgomery and Spring Grove’s Harlon Leppo completed the top five.

Davenport first at Hagerstown: Jonathan Davenport raced to the Lucas Oil late-model win in Hagerstown’s Stanley Schetrompf Memorial 50-lap feature Saturday.

Davenport led all 50 laps for the $12,000 win. Scott Bloomquist, Tyler Bare, Tim McCreadie and Mason Zeigler completed the top five.

Craig Perrill was the pure-stock winner.

Fletcher leads way at Trailway: Cody Fletcher raced to his third career 358 sprint win in Friday’s 25-lap feature at Trailway.

The win was Fletcher’s first since 2015.

Youngster Dylan Norris of Hanover finished second, followed by Mike Bittinger and Kuhn.

Pittman earns pair of Outlaw wins: Daryn Pittman scored a pair of World of Outlaw wins over the weekend at Riverside, Tennessee, on Friday, and at Peveley, Missouri, on Saturday.

In All Star action, Jac Haudenschild won Friday at Attica, Ohio, and Tim Shaffer won Saturday at Wayne County, Ohio.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.