Eight members of drag-racing community to receive Legion of Honor Awards during July event


The 15th annual Legion of Honor Awards will be presented to eight longtime members of the drag-racing community at the Eastern Museum of Motor Racing on Friday, July 20.


The event will be held in conjunction with the third annual York US30 Heritage Days nostalgia drag-racing event and the 17th annual York US30 Dragway reunion, set for July 20-21.

The 2018 recipients are Bill Truby, Fred Henderson, Jim "The Painter" Hartner, Carl Rubrecht, Walter and Ann Toews, Terry Bobb, Jr. and Drake Viscome.

The annual awards are presented by the National Nostalgia Drag Racing Association. Each recipient was nominated by one of their peers from the drag-racing community for their achievements and contributions to the sport.

An individual award is presented to each recipient and their name is placed upon a perpetual award that is on display in the museum.

The York event has been an annual reunion for the former York US30 Dragway at the

York Airport in Thomasville. The track closed in 1979.

The York US30 Heritage Days and York US30 Dragway Reunion will benefit the


Event hours are 1 p.m. until 7 p.m. on July 20 and 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. on July 21.

For information, call Darwin Doll at (717) 757-2720, email mcmyork02@comcast.net or

visit yorknostalgia on Facebook.