DIRT-TRACK RACING: Danny Dietrich races to victory at BAPS Motor Speedway on Sunday evening

  • Danny Dietrich won the sprint-car feature at BAPS Motor Speedway on Sunday.
  • Lance Dewease finished second, followed by Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett.
  • Gregg Foster won the 358 sprint feature at BAPS, with Jeff Halligan in second.

Danny Dietrich won the 30-lap sprint-car feature at BAPS Motor Speedway on Sunday evening.

It was the first sprint-car race of the season at the northern York County track formerly known as Susquehanna Speedway.

Danny Dietrich

Dietrich started sixth, but actually dropped back at the start of the event as Texas invader Aaron Reutzel took the early lead. Lance Dewease, who started behind Dietrich, actually moved forward quicker and took the lead on the sixth lap.

It wasn’t until just past the midpoint of the race that Dietrich was able to pass Dewease for the lead.

Dietrich went on to win over Dewease, with Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett, Parker Price-Miller and Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri in the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were Brett Michalski, Gerard McIntyre Jr., York’s Landon Myers, Lucas Wolfe and Tyler Ross.

Gregg Foster won the 358 sprint-car feature over Jeff Halligan, Hanover’s Troy Wagaman Jr., Steve Drevicki and Dillsburg’s Chris Frank.



Esh earns breakthrough win at Lincoln: Tyler Esh raced to his first career sprint-car victory on Saturday evening at Lincoln Speedway. 

Esh picked up $3,500 for his flag-to-flag victory in the 25-lap event.

Esh started from the pole position and quickly took the race lead at the drop of the green flag. While Esh led all 25 laps, it was not an easy victory.  During the second half of the race, a number of challengers closed on Esh. With a caution flag coming out with three laps remaining, he had his hands full.

Brian Montieth, who had won the last two Lincoln races, restarted on Esh’s bumper and challenged at every turn for the final three laps, with Freddie Rahmer lurking just behind in third. Esh was up to the challenge and bested Montieth by a scant margin. Rahmer was third, with Alan Krimes and York’s Cory Haas in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Lewisberry’s Kyle Moody, Jim Siegel, Dover’s Chad Trout, Brandon Rahmer and York’s Landon Myers.

Brent Shearer scored his first win of the season in the 20-lap 358 sprint feature. Shearer, who flipped while running in the top five the previous week, started from the pole position and led every lap to best Mike Bittinger for the win.

Hanover’s Troy Wagaman Jr. finished third, with last week’s winner, Jeff Halligan, coming from the 13th starting spot for fourth. York’s Chase Dietz completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Dylan Norris, Matt Findley, Dave Brown, Dillsburg’s Brie Hershey and Cody Fletcher. 

Bob Gutshall held off a host of challengers to win the 20-lap feature for the wingless super sportsman racers. Gutshall’s win came over former Lincoln sprint-car champion Billy Brian Jr., followed by Steve Wilbur, Carmen Perigo Jr. and Craig Perigo.

Dave Blaney triumphs at Port Royal: While his son Ryan was off winning NASCAR’s Xfinity race, Dave Blaney was taking measure of the sprint-car field at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday.

The former NASCAR driver and World of Outlaws sprint-car champion scored his fourth career Port victory.

Blaney got by Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett with 11 laps remaining in the 25-lap event, and then held off Lucas Wolfe to score the win. Hodnett finished third, with Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri and Dylan Cisney in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Brock Zearfoss, Danny Dietrich, Logan Wagner, Steve Buckwalter and Mike Wagner.

Dylan Yoder held off Dover’s Coleby Frye to win the 22-lap, late-model feature. Andy Haus, Andrew Yoder and Mike Lupfer completed the top five.

Jeff Miller won the 18-lap 305 sprint feature after leader Nick Sweikert crashed on the final lap. Rounding out the top five were Drew Ritchey, Kyle Scott, Jonathan Jones and Zach Newlin.

York's Haas victorious at Williams Grove: York’s Cory Haas won Friday’s 25-lap sprint-car feature at Williams Grove Speedway.

For Haas, the win was worth $3,600. He led every lap and held off Brian Montieth at the end. Rick Lafferty was third, followed in the top 10 by Lucas Wolfe, Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett, Parker Price Miller, Danny Dietrich, Dover’s Chad Trout, T.J. Stutts and Gerard McIntyre Jr.

Kevin Nouse led all but the first lap to win the 20-lap 358 sprint feature over the previous week’s winner, Jeff Halligan. Bret Wanner finished third, followed in the top 10 by Hank Donovan Jr., Scott Fisher, Todd Rittenhouse Jr., Troy Wagaman Jr., Matt Findley, Gregg Foster and Dillsburg’s Chris Frank.

Weller scores URC win: The URC 360 sprints joined the ASCS 360 sprints at North Carolina’s Carolina Speedway Friday and URC regular Josh Weller scored the win over North Carolina’s Eric Riggins Jr., a frequent local visitor.

Justin Whitall, Danny Smith and Jordan Mallett completed the top five.

Saturday’s event in South Carolina was rained out.

Schatz takes Outlaws win: Donny Schatz won Saturday’s World of Outlaws event at the Queen City Speedway in Arizona.

Schatz's win came over Joey Saldana, with Hanover’s Logan Schuchart in third. Local Outlaw Brent Marks was 10th.

Postponements: Local racing was postponed by cold on Saturday at BAPS, Selinsgrove and Hagerstown speedways.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.