Dover's Chad Trout wins Lincoln Speedway's opening Ice Breaker 30

Bryan Householder

Dover’s Chad Trout finally has a win in the 410 Sprint ranks. Trout won Saturday’s chilly Ice Breaker 30 at Lincoln Speedway.

A veteran of several local racing divisions, Trout is a relative newcomer to the super sprint ranks.  He tried it on his own for a season a few years back and then teamed up with Jimmy Walker for a return to the sprints a year and a half ago.

Walker passed away unexpectedly last season, but the whole team banded together to stay racing. And now they have a win in an event that gets plenty of attention.

Trout joins just a handful of local drivers who have now won in the 410 sprints, 358 sprints and the super sportsman racers. During his career, Trout has won 16 races in the 358 sprints spread over four tracks. He has won 10 358 events at Lincoln, four at Williams Grove and one each at Port Royal and Susquehanna.

In the super sportsman ranks, Trout has won five times at four tracks. Twice at Williams Grove, and once each at Selinsgrove, Port Royal and Big Diamond.

Did I mention that Trout’s Ice Breaker win was a great way to celebrate his 39th birthday?

Ice Breaker: Lincoln’s Ice Breaker 30 went off a week late on a sunny but blustery day Saturday.  While not one of the record-breaking crowds seen at previous Ice Breakers, this one drew a nice crowd, but the field of cars was slim with 20 410 sprint cars in the pits. Still, many of the area’s heavy hitters were there and the racing was good for a blustery day that dried out the racing surface.

While Trout started second and got the lead when pole sitter Lucas Wolfe broke on the second lap, there were others who came a long way for good finishes. Brandon Rahmer came from ninth to finish second and his brother, Freddie, came from 12th to place sixth.

The winner in the passing department was former track champ Alan Krimes.

Krimes suffered mechanical problems before the start of his heat race and was forced to start last (20th) in the feature before finishing eighth.

Freddie Rahmer also had an eventful day. He was second fastest in warm ups, but clipped the inside guardrail in turn one on the last lap of the last warm up and flipped. In the time it took to race just one heat race, Freddie and crew repaired his car well enough to come from last to sixth in the heat race.

Bad days: Several drivers didn’t have as good of a day.

Lucas Wolfe started first and led the first lap before mechanical problems --- a broken fuel valve --- ended his day. Wolfe was leading a tight pack of racers at the time. Some made it by, but at least three top contenders had issues.

Defending track champion Brian Montieth got turned around and collected defending race winner Danny Dietrich.

Greg Hodnett also did a 360 spin in the melee. Hodnett didn’t stop and was able to maintain his position, but with a damaged front wing. He finished fifth.

Montieth continued, but had to rejoin the back of the field. He finished 11th after battling with several cars for positions nine through 12. Dietrich was done for the day and credited with a last-place finish.

Ohio invader Cole Duncan drew the last starting spot in is heat but earned a draw position for the feature. He started fourth and was running a strong second when he tangled with a car that had spun in front of him. He returned to finish 15th.

At the pre-race drivers meeting, track co-promoter Alan Kreitzer announced that the regular weekly sprint car purse at Lincoln is being increased at every position. A regular feature at Lincoln will now pay $3,500 to win and $350 for last.

This week: Lincoln goes again with a sprint car-only program this Saturday afternoon. However, there will also be a practice session for all Lincoln divisions afterwards.

For the hardy, a trip to Port Royal for a Saturday evening sprint and late model show is probably possible. Then on Sunday afternoon, Williams Grove opens with a sprint car-only show.

It has been a number of years since the Grove has opened with an afternoon show. The last time it happened, Fred Rahmer was the winner.

— Reach Bryan Householder at