Brock Zearfoss races to $4,000, sprint-car triumph in Port Royal Speedway's season finale

  • Brock Zearfoss won the Port Royal Speedway season finale on Saturday night.
  • Zearfoss earned $4,000 for the 25-lap, sprint-car feature race.
  • Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett won the URC 360 sprint feature at Port Royal.

Track champion Brock Zearfoss ended the Port Royal Speedway racing season on a winning note on Saturday night, Oct. 21.

Zearfoss collected $4,000 for his fifth Port Royal sprint-car win of the season.

Brock Zearfoss

Zearfoss started second and took the lead at the start. Except for a challenge from second-place finisher Danny Dietrich on the only restart of the 25-lap race on lap 18, Zearfoss went unchallenged for the win.

Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri finished third, with Dylan Cisney and Jason Shultz in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were 18th-starter Greg Hodnett, of Spring Grove, Lucas Wolfe, Steve Buckwalter, Davey Sammons and York’s Cory Haas.

Hodnett came back to win the URC 360 sprint feature. Hodnett started seventh in the 25-lap event and took the lead from Chad Layton on the ninth lap. Layton had started fourth and took the lead from Wolfe on the second lap.

In the end, Zearfoss raced from the 10th starting spot for second, with Wolfe, who had won a 360 sprint race the night before at the Outlaw Speedway in New York state, in third. Curt Michael and Mark Smith completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Shultz, Justin Barger, Chuck Hebing, Layton and Josh Weller.

Austin Bishop led all 20 laps to claim the 305 sprint feature. Things got interesting after the only caution flag of the race with a lap to go. Second-running Jeff Smith got into Bishop off the second turn on the final lap, with both cars getting out of shape. Bishop recovered for the win, while 12th-starter Kyle Smith got by Miller for second. Miller, Nathan Gramley and Cale Reigle completed the top five.

Walls wins 50-lap, street-stock event at Susquehanna: Mike Walls completed Saturday what he started Friday, when he won the 50-lap, street-stock event at Susquehanna Speedway.

Walls paced the field in time trials and won his heat race on Friday, Oct. 20, and then came back to score the big win in the main event Saturday, Oct. 21. Walls took the lead from pole-sitter Joey Hoffer on the 19th lap. Hoffer finished second, followed by Ryan Smith, Jasen Geesaman and Eric Tripp in the top five.

In the 50-lap, Xtreme stock feature, Newberrytown's Alex Updegraff scored the win. The new track champion led the first 17 laps, yielded to Manchester's Patrick McClane for laps 18-21, and then went back on top to stay. Multi-time Selinsgrove Speedway roadrunner champion Keith Bissinger earned the hard-charger award with his run from 21st to second. Johnny Palm finished third, with McClane and Manchester's Ronnie Grinestaff in the top five.

Second-generation driver Brad Brightbill won the sportsman-modified feature over Mike Lisowski, Craig Whitmoyer, Louden Reimert and Joe Funk.

York's Lucas Montgomery scored a weekend double in the Legends cars. Montgomery led all but lap four in Friday's 20-lap feature, and then came back to lead all 20 in Saturday's feature.

The Friday event found Mason Chaney, Scott Houdeshell, Jeremy Ott and Greg Burd in the top five. In Saturday's race, Chaney and Houdeshell again chased Montgomery to the flag, with Austin Bellemare and Travis Perry completing the top five.

Roger Weaver was the stock 600cc micro-sprint winner both nights, while Kyle Rohrbaugh on Friday and Ricky Weaver on Saturday were the road-warrior winners.

Brad Kling won Saturday's E-Mod event over Rick Holson and Ray Kable, while Friday's PennMar vintage race went to Randy Minnich. Minnich then finished second to Ron Myers in Saturday's Blast From the Past vintage race.

Reach Bryan Householder at