Donny Schatz edges Lance Dewease to win World of Outlaws feature at Port Royal Speedway

  • Donny Schatze won the World of Outlaws sprint-car feature at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday.
  • Schatz edged Lance Dewease to earn the $10,000 triumph.
  • Schatz has now won 19th races this season.

Eight-time World of Outlaws champion, and current point leader, Donny Schatz won Saturday’s Outlaw sprint-car feature at Port Royal Speedway.

His 19th win of the season was worth $10,000.

Donny Schatz

Schatz started third and chased Port Royal track champion Brock Zearfoss during the early stages of the race. Schatz took the lead on lap 18 of 30 after three laps of side-by-side racing with Zearfoss. Ninth-starter Lance Dewease eventually also passed Zearfoss, but appeared not to have anything for Schatz. In the final laps of the race, Zearfoss dropped from the event with mechanical problems, and a late caution allowed Dewease one shot at Schatz. Dewease slipped by in turn one, but Schatz charged back around Dewease and came away with the win, with Dewease in second.

Daryn Pittman came home third, with Brad Sweet and Jason Johnson in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Dave Blaney, Danny Dietrich, Sheldon Haudenschild, Jac Haudenschild and David Gravel.

Mike Altobelli won the Mid-Atlantic modified feature.



Beard triumphs at Susquehanna: Bobby Beard won the limited-late-model feature at Susquehanna Speedway on Saturday.

Beard took the lead from Brian Shuey on the 12th of 20 laps. Shuey finished second, with Eric Hohol, Manchester’s Randy Christine Jr. and Sean Merkel in the top five. Christine earned the season championship.

Kyle Smith won the 305 sprint feature, leading all 20 laps. Darren Miller finished second, with York Haven’s Dave Grube in third. Ken Duke and Bobby Ney completed the top five.

Randy Zechman won the street-stock feature over Jim Palm, Kyle Saylor, Manchester’s Mike Potts and Red Lion’s Kevin Seigler. Craig Morgan was crowned the season champion.

Bill Powell was the Xtreme stock winner, and Robbie Carroll won the road warrior feature.

Young victorious at Path Valley: Jim Young led all 30 laps to win the 600cc micro-sprint feature at Path Valley Speedway on Saturday afternoon.

The race was the make-up of the event that had been postponed during Path Valley’s Speedweek show.

Young was the winner over Heath Hehnly, Jason Swavley, Aaron Bollinger and Austin Quick.

Kressley excels at Grandview: Brett Kressley won the modified feature at Grandview's Thunder on the Hill program Saturday, while Brian Hirthler was the sportsman-modified winner.

Ryan Stillwaggon won the 305 sprint feature over Tim Tanner, Eddie Wagner, Austin Bishop and Dave Brown.

Ryan Smith shines against All Stars: Local racer Ryan Smith won both All Star sprint features Friday at Mansfield, Ohio.

Reach Bryan Householder at