DIRT-TRACK RACING: Frankie Herr captures Sportsman 100 at Susquehanna Speedway

  • Frankie Herr won the Sportsman 100 on Saturday night at Susquehanna Speedway.
  • Herr led all 100 laps to capture more than $7,400 on the evening.
  • It was the eighth time that Herr won the race, but it was his first victory of 2017.

Frankie Herr hadn't won a race all season, but that changed during the Sportsman 100 on Saturday, Sept. 16.

Herr led all 100 laps to score the win in the biggest race of the season for the super sportsman racers. The win marked Herr's eighth triumph in the 43 Sportsman 100s that have been contested.


Herr started from the pole position and led all 100 laps, earning $4,000 for the victory and another $3,419 in lap money, bringing his evening total to $7,419.

Kenny Edkin passed Lewisberry's Scott Dellinger in the final laps for second, with Dellinger, Steve Fannasy and Jay Fannasy in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Garrett Williamson, Matt Ondek, Davey Walsh, Chad Smith and Nate Young.

Jasen Geesaman won the street-stock feature over Red Lion's Bob Scott Jr., Chris Derr, Jim Palm and Craig Morgan.

Newberrytown's Alex Updegraff won his 11th Xtreme stock feature of the year.



Brown wins Nace Memorial at Selinsgrove: Knoxville Speedway regular Brian Brown scored his first local win in Saturday’s Jim Nace Memorial National Open at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Brown's win over the All Stars and the Pennsylvania Posse was worth $8,000.

Brown started second and led all 30 laps of the event to score the win over Brock Zearfoss. Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett finished third, with Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri and Trey Starks in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Lucas Wolfe, Danny Dietrich, Ryan Smith, Jason Shultz and Tony Stewart.

Strinestown’s Tommy Slanker, the 2017 track champion, led every lap of the pro-stock feature.

Fog settled into the speedway and forced cancellation of the 305 sprint-car feature. Since it was Selinsgrove’s final race of the season, the purse money was split equally among all the qualified drivers.

Fawn Grove's Matt Campbell victorious at Grove: Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell raced to his first career 410 sprint-car win in Friday’s 25-lap feature at Williams Grove Speedway. The win was worth $3,600.

Campbell started sixth and advanced steadily, as pole-sitter Tim Wagaman, of Hanover, and second-starter Jared Esh battled for the early lead. Wagaman led the first two laps, with Esh taking over on the third lap. On the fourth lap, Esh crashed, handing the lead back to Wagaman. It wasn’t until the 10th lap that Campbell would take the top spot from Wagaman.

Wagaman followed Campbell to the finish, with Rick Lafferty in third. Lucas Wolfe won a heated battle with Australian James McFadden for fourth. Rounding out the top 10 were Freddie Rahmer, Danny Dietrich, Brock Zearfoss, Greg Hodnett and Alan Krimes.

Doug Hammaker also came from the sixth starting slot to win the 358 sprint feature. Hammaker passed Lewisberry’s Jordan Givler on the 10th of 25 laps for the $1,500 win. Givler finished second, with Kevin Nouse, York’s Chase Dietz and Dillsburg’s Rich Eichelberger in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Matt Findley, Hanover’s Troy Wagaman Jr., Jake Eldreth, Nyle Berkes and T.J. DeHaven.

With last-turn heroics, Michael takes URC event at Lincoln: Curt Michael won the URC 358/360 Sprint Challenge at Lincoln Speedway on Saturday with some last-turn heroics.

Michael collected $3,000 for his victory.

Chris Coyle started from the pole in the 25-lap contest and held the 360 sprint honor for the first 14 laps of the event, before sixth-starter, Doug Hammaker in a 358 sprint, took over the top spot. Hammaker held sway over the field through several late caution flags, but a last-lap caution would prove his undoing, with seventh-starter Michael powering his 360 sprint by Hammaker off the final turn. Michael crossed the line first, with Hammaker in second, but just past the finish line the two collided, with Hammaker taking a nasty flip into the first-turn wall. Michael’s car had to be towed to victory lane missing the left front wheel.

Tyler Ross came from the 22nd starting spot for third, with Coyle and Josh Weller in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Brodbecks' Todd Gracey, Scott Fisher, Brent Shearer, Hellam’s Bryn Gohn and Ashley Cappetta.

Bryan Bernheisel led all 20 laps of the limited-late-model feature to score his first Lincoln win. Bernheisel had to fend off Dover’s Gene Knaub for the win. Hanover’s Bobby Beard finished third, with Stoverstown’s Cam Zeigler and Robbie Emory in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Ryan Walls, Alan Sagi, Travis Mease, Sean Merkel and Bryon Sipe.

Andrew Yoder triumphs at Clinton County, beating cousin: Andrew Yoder defeated his cousin, Dylan Yoder, to win Friday’s limited-late-model feature at Clinton County. Matt Cochran, Mike Smith and Jim Yoder completed the top five.

Cale Reigle was the 305 sprint winner over Zach Newlin, Ken Duke, Tyler Reeser and Scott Lutz.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.