DIRT-TRACK RACING: Schatz holds off Larson to win at Knoxville Nationals


Donny Schatz won his 10th career Knoxville Nationals on Saturday evening in Iowa, holding off a last-lap challenge from NASCAR star Kyle Larson to secure the $150,000 win.

Kyle Larson climbs in his car during a NASCAR cup auto racing practice at Daytona International Speedway, Thursday, June 29, 2017, in Daytona Beach, Fla. Larson came in second at the Knoxville Nationals over the weekend, finishing behind Donny Schatz for the $150,000 top prize.

Larson finished second, with Kerry Madsen, Shane Stewart and Brad Sweet in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Brian Brown, Arron Reutzel, Rico Abreu, Daryn Pittman and Ian Madsen.

Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett ran in the top 10 for much of the 50-lap race before dropping out with mechanical troubles with just over 10 laps remaining. Hodnett was credited with a 19th place finish. Hanover’s Logan Schuchart was credited with 20th.

Lucas Wolfe finished fifth in the B-Main, just missing the show by one spot. Danny Dietrich was 9th and Hanover’s Jacob Allen in 15th also ran the B-Main. Australian James McFadden won the C-Main in the locally-based Highlands car.

Tomecek wins at Selinsgrove: Selinsgrove beat the rain on Saturday, with Eric Tomecek scoring the win in the 25-lap URC 360 sprint feature.

Tomecek led from start to finish for the $2,500 win, his second of the season. Cody Keller won the war for second, with Jason Shultz, Curt Michael and Adam Carberry in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Derek Locke, Larry Kelleher, Davie Franek, Chad Layton and Josh Weller.

Bryan Bernheisel won the Moonshine Camo Route 35 Challenge Series race for the late models with Chad Hollenbeck, Dylan Yoder, Hayes Mattern and Dover's Coleby Frye in the top five.

Strinestown's Tommy Slanker came one step closer to the track's prostock point title with his sixth win of the season and Ryan Zook took his first roadrunner victory.

Sneeringer outlasts Owings: Trailway managed to get it’s Friday program in the record books, with Issac Sneeringer besting Steve Owings for the win in the 358 sprint feature.

Sneeringer’s win was his third of the season. Hanover’s Joe Trone Jr. finished third, followed by Mike Bittinger and J.B. Cunningham in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Austen Therault, Brody Treaster, Dan Richcreek, Spring Grove’s Zach Eucalano and Kenny Kuhn.

Travis Keiser won the 600cc micro sprint feature over Jim Young, Brad Weber, Randy Kunkle Jr. and Hannah riser.

The 270cc micro sprint feature went to Joe Long Jr. over Brian Marriott, Steven Cox, Levi Peck and Zachary Cool.

Kyle Rohrbaugh won the limited stock event.

Rain out on Friday: Racing was rained out on Friday at Williams Grove and Saturday at Lincoln, and Susquehanna.

— Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com