York County coroner: Gun violence should be treated as a public health epidemic

HOUSEHOLDER: Win in 360 class may be boost that Spring Grove driver Greg Hodnett needs

  • Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett won Sunday’s 360 Sprint Car Nationals at Selinsgrove Speedway.
  • Hodnett collected $6,000 for his flag-to-flag victory in the 30-lap race.
  • The win was his second in a 360-powered car this year.

Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett may have just received the boost he was looking for.

Hodnett won the 360 Sprint Car Nationals at Selinsgrove Speedway on Sunday evening, July 30.

Greg Hodnett

Hodnett collected $6,000 for his flag-to-flag victory in the 30-lap race.

The win was his second in a 360-powered car this year, which is just one shy of Hodnett’s season win total in the 410 sprints — a class he regularly competes in and is best known for.

It’s been a trying year for Hodnett and the Michael Heffner team, but perhaps this win will be the shot in the arm that they needed.

Mark Smith, who set a new 25-lap track record the night before, finished second, with Curt Michael, Jason Shultz and Davie Franek in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Lucas Wolfe, T.J. Stutts, Steve Collins, Chad Layton and Robbie Stillwaggon.

York Haven’s Dave Grube won the 305 sprint feature over Tyler Reeser, with Zach Newlin, Jaremi Hanson and Austin Bishop in the top five.Tim Krape won the econo late-model feature.

Rudolph takes $10,000 triumph at Susquehanna: In another big-money race on Sunday, July 30, Erick Rudolph made a late charge to win the Short Track Super Series modified event at Susquehanna Speedway.

Rudolph’s first-ever visit to central Pennsylvania earned him a cool $10,000.

Rudolph has been dominant the last several winters in the indoor three-quarter midget races. Sunday's event, however, likely marked the first time many local fans had seen him race.

Rudolph started second, but it was fourth-starter Stewart Friesen who vaulted into the early lead. Friesen would hold the lead until Rudolph slipped by on the 37th of 50 laps. Friesen made several attempts to re-take the top spot, but fell just short at the finish line.

Friesen was a recent second-place finisher in the NASCAR Truck Series race at Eldora, Ohio.

Craig Von Dohran finished third, with Jeff Strunk and Frank Cozze in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Rick Laubach, Jimmy Horton, Andy Bachetti, Jordan Watson and Billy Pauch Sr.

Mason Chaney made a last-lap pass of Bob Stough to win the 20-lap Legends feature. Travis Perry, Chris Transeau and Scott Smith completed the top five.


Montieth's win: Brian Montieth’s win Saturday, July 29, at Lincoln Speedway marked his 55th visit to Lincoln’s victory lane.

That win leaves the current point leader and five-time track champion just one win shy of the top five on Lincoln’s all-time, sprint-car win list.

The ever-popular Bobby Abel, who lived in Wrightsville, holds down the fifth spot with 56 career Lincoln wins.

Fred Rahmer leads all drivers at Lincoln with 169 wins, while Steve Smith is second with 150. Bobby Allen has 75 and Kenny Weld has 73.

Lafferty's win: Rick Lafferty’s win in the Living Legends Dream Race at Port Royal Speedway Saturday, July 29, marked the biggest win of his career, and it almost didn’t happen.

Although Lafferty led every lap of the feature and of his qualifying race to earn $12,510, he almost didn’t race at all.

Lafferty tows west from his New Jersey home most weekends, and when Saturday dawned still damp and cloudy, he almost decided not to make the long haul. I’m sure he’s now glad that he did.

This weekend: There's plenty of racing action this weekend for local fans.

Things start Friday. At Williams Grove, the sprint cars are joined by the 358 sprint cars. The Grove will try again to host a leg of the K1 Racegear Summer Series for the 358s. Twice, one of these events has been rained out at the Grove this year.

Trailway also hosts the 358 sprints Friday, along with the 270cc micro sprints, the Legends and street stocks. The wingless super sportsmen compete at Path Valley on Friday.

Saturday, Lincoln hosts the sprints, 358 sprints and classic cars, along with “Kids' Big Wheel Racing." The sprints also headline at Port Royal Saturday. The late models, 305 sprints and Xtreme stocks join in the fun.

Susquehanna has the super sportsmen, limited-late models and street stocks on Saturday for “Kids' Night." At Selinsgrove Saturday it’s Stock Car Night, with the late models, pro stocks and econo late models.

Hagerstown will host twin features for the late-model sportsmen, pure stocks and hobby stocks on Saturday.

Picnic: The York County Racing Club will host its annual membership picnic on Sunday at the club hall in Zions View.

The YCRC provides hot dogs, barbeque and roast corn on the cob, plus beverages. Each family is asked to bring along a covered-dish item.

1972: On this weekend in 1972, there was also plenty of racing action.

Friday evening at Williams Grove, Steve Smith drove to victory in the O.J. Myers No. 19. Smith’s win was his sixth overall that season, but was his first ever at Williams Grove.

Saturday evening at Lincoln, Dub May drove to his first win of the season in the Weikert Brothers No. 28. The win marked May’s first since returning from serious injuries the previous fall at Manzanita in Arizona. What many folks forget is that May had been tabbed to drive Bob Weikert’s No. 29 for the 1972 season, but his injuries left that ride vacant, and Weld took the open seat and history was made.

At Selinsgrove that Saturday, Bobbie Adamson drove to victory in the Al Hamilton No. 77. The win was the 15th of the season for the Wrightsville driver. Across the way at Port Royal, Jan Opperman was piloting the Bogar No. 99 to his 25th win of the season.

Meanwhile, out to the west at Jennerstown, Gus Linder was picking up a pair of wins in the Mickey Banas No. 69. Linder won a make-up feature and the regular event to bring his season win total to six.

Sunday at Susquehanna, Texas driver David James scored his only career local win in the Yankee and Rebel No. 98. The car was co-owned by Pennsylvania’s Jim Seidel and Maryland’s Ted Brewer. In later years, Seidel would be best known for his exploits with his son, Brian Seidel, in another No. 98, while Brewer would go on to fame with Jay Myers, piloting his No. 35.

The Sunday evening show at Hagerstown would prove to be Weld’s 21st win of the season in Weikert’s No. 29.

Bryan Householder writes about dirt-track racing for The York Dispatch. He can be reached at sports@yorkdispatch.com.





1. 48 Danny Dietrich 935 7
2. 24 Lucas Wolfe 919 8
3. 27 Greg Hodnett 723 3
4. 69K Lance Dewease 716 8
5. 51 Freddie Rahmer 679 4
6. 21 Brian Montieth 587 2
7. 3z/58 Brock Zearfoss 571 2
8. 1 Dale Blaney 415
9. 11 T J Stutts 369
10. 25 Aaron Ott 338
11. 87 Alan Krimes 312
12. 44 Trey Starks 291 2
13. 5 Dylan Cisney 289
14. 07 Doug Esh 285 2
15. 39 Cory Haas 269
16. 16 Gerard McIntyre Jr 218 1
17. 12 Blane Heimbach 213 1
18. 0 Rick Lafferty 202 1
19. 5 David Gravel 199 3
20. 16 Matt Campbell 181
20. 55 Mike Wagner 181
22. 1x Chad Trout 170
23. 20 Ryan Taylor 164
24. 59 Jim Siegel 162
25. 8 Billy Dietrich 153