Dietrich captures fifth Lincoln Speedway win of season on Saturday

  • Danny Dietrich won his fifth race at Lincoln Speedway this year on Saturday night.
  • Lucas Wolfe worked his way around a major crash to win at Port Royal.
  • Gregg Foster led from start to finish to win at Susquehanna Speedway.

Danny Dietrich got his fifth Lincoln Speedway sprint car win of the season in exciting fashion Saturday evening, winning $3,200 in the process.

Danny Dietrich won the 2016 Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek championship.

Spring Grove’s Tim Glatfelter took the early race lead from the pole position before yielding the top spot to third-place starter Billy Dietrich on the fifth of 25 laps. As Billy Dietrich cruised at the front, sixth-place starter Freddie Rahmer and ninth-place starter Danny Dietrich were working their way forward. By the mid point of the race, they were waging a war for second place and closing in on the leader.

As the race neared it’s closing stages, the pair caught the leader and lapped traffic and it was a three-way war for the top spot. On the 22nd lap, Danny Dietrich edged past his older brother and went on to the victory.

Billy Dietrich finished second followed by Rahmer. Eleventh starter, Lewisberry’s Kyle Moody, finished fourth, with York’s Cory Haas getting fifth after starting in 22nd place. Rounding out the top ten were Glatfelter, Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell, Gerard McIntyre Jr., Tyler Ross and Dover’s Chad Trout.

Dillsburg’s Chris Arnold became the first repeat winner in eleven 358 sprint races at Lincoln this year. Arnold charged from the 12th starting spot to take the lead on the 12th of 20 laps. Early leader Jake Eldreth finished second with York’s Chase Dietz, York’s C.J. Tracy and Ashley Cappetta in the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Kyle Denmyer, York’s Dalton Dietrich, Cody Fletcher, Chandler Leiby and Wyatt Hinkle.

Justin Cullum won the All American Outlaw feature.

Wolfe claims Port Royal win: Lucas Wolfe raced back from a massive 11-car pile up before the start of the feature to win at Port Royal on Saturday night.

Wolfe’s win was worth $3,200.

When outside-front-row-starter Curt Stroup’s carfaltered just as the field was coming to green, a major pile up occurred, which saw Wolfe’s car tip onto it’s side. He restarted 16th and worked his way forward to take the lead from point leader Dylan Cisney with nine laps to go in the 25-lap event. Cisney finished second with Lance Dewease, Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett and Brock Zearfoss in the top five.

Completing the top ten were Mike Wagner, James McFadden, Blane Heimbach, A.J. Flick and Carl Bowser.

Jim Yoder won the late model feature, leading from the second lap to best Jason Schmidt. Andy Haus, Nick Dickson and Trent Brenneman completed the top five.

Darren Miller led all the way to win the 305 sprint feature over Jeff Miller, Tyler Reeser, Cale Reigle and Ken Duke.

Bill Powell was the xtreme stock winner.

Foster goes wire-to-wire at Susquehanna: Gregg Foster got his first win of the season on Saturday, leading all 25 laps of the super sportsman feature at Susquehanna Speedway.

Foster’s win came over Kenny Edkin, with Russ Mitten, Mike Enders and Jay Fannasy in the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Frankie Herr, Tony Jackson, Fawn Grove’s Paul Miller, Devin Beidel and Doug Dodson.

Matt Murphy led all the way to score his first limited late model win over track point leader Randy Christine Jr., of Manchester. Newberrytown’s J.R, Rodriguez, Ben Whitaker and Sean Merklel completed the top five.

Kory Sites was the street stock winner over Manchester’s Mike Potts. Completing the top five were York Haven’s Matt Adams, Mike Walls and Brad Bingaman.

Newberrytown’s Alex Updegraff won the xtreme stock feature over Manchester’s Patrick McClane.

Franek continues strong performances at Selinsgrove: Davie Franek raced to his third Selinsgrove 360 sprint win of the season on Saturday evening.

Franek came from the 12th starting spot to take the lead from Eric Tomecek on the 19th of 25 laps. Tomecek finished second, followed by Jason Shultz, Justin Whitall and Derek Locke in the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Ryan Kissinger, Nate Snyder, Larry Kelleher, Colby Womer and Nyle Berkes.

Tony Adams got his first late model win since 2012, holding off a late-race charge by Steve Campbell. Tim Wilson was third followed by Donnie Schick and Hayes Mattern.

A.J. Hoffman was the prostock winner and Brian Johnson won the roadrunner feature.

Feathers takes Frank Sagi Tribute: Trevor Feathers won the Frank Sagi Tribute late model race at Hagerstown on Saturday. Andy Anderson finished second, with Bryan Bernheisel, Kyle Hardy and Kenny Moreland in the top five.

Bernheisel came back to win the late model sportsman feature over Barry Miller. Alan Sagi finished third in the race that honored his father, with Kyle Lear and Derick Quade completing the top five.

Craig Parrill won his fifth in a row in the pure stock feature, and Dylan Rutherford was the hobby stock winner.

Rain causes issues on Friday night: Williams Grove yielded to the weather forecast and cancelled Friday’s program, while Trailway did try to present its program.

Steve Owings won the 358 sprint car feature at Trailway over David Holbrook. Spring Grove’s Dwight Leppo, Cody Fletcher and Hanover’s Joe Trone Jr. completed the top five.

The micro sprint feature was rained on at the halfway point and the remainder of the program was postponed.

— Reach Bryan Householder at