DIRT TRACK RACING: Dietrich takes home $5,000 for Lincoln Speedway triumph

York Dispatch

Danny Dietrich won Saturday’s Fallen Fire Fighters' Tribute Race at Lincoln Speedway.

Dietrich’s win in the 33-lap race was worth $5,000.

Dietrich started fifth and became the third leader of the race when he took the lead from Jim Siegel on the 20th lap. Dietrich went on to score the win over Alan Krimes and Brian Montieth, who started 11th and 12th, respectively. York’s Cory Haas and Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell completed the first five. Rounding out the top 10 were Dover’s Chad Trout, Brandon Rahmer, Siegel, who encountered power-steering problems late in the race, Robbie Kendall and Gerard McIntyre Jr.

Danny Dietrich won the 2016 Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek championship.

Lewisberry’s Jordan Givler scored his first career Lincoln 358 sprint win, leading all 20 laps of that event despite heavy late-race pressure from second-place finisher Doug Hammaker. Ashley Cappetta, Dillsburg’s Brie Hershey and Hanover’s Troy Wagaman Jr. completed the first five. Rounding out the top 10 were Matt Findley, Hellam’s Adrian Shaffer, Kevin Nouse, Cody Fletcher and Kyle Denmyer.

Australian driver Dan Morris won the exciting legends car feature, taking the lead from fellow countryman Hayden Pascoe on the 19th of 20 laps. York’s Lucas Montgomery and Hanover’s Mason Chaney also passed Pascoe in the final two laps for second and third places. Travis Perry completed the top five.



Spring Grove's Hodnett gets 50th career Port Royal win: Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett won his 50th career Port Royal 410 sprint-car feature Saturday.

Hodnett’s $4,000 victory came over track point leader Dylan Cisney in the 25-lap event. Hodnett took the lead from third-place finisher Aaron Ott on the 10th lap. Lucas Wolfe and Blane Heimbach completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were T.J. Stutts, Mike Wagner, Doug Esh, Brock Zearfoss and Joey Hershey.

Drew Ritchey scored his first Port Royal 305 sprint win. Ritchey’s grandfather, Junior, a 20-time Port Royal sprint-car winner, was on hand to watch the win. Cale Reigle, Scott Ellerman, Tyler Reeser and Roger Irvin completed the top five

Eric Irvin topped Derrick Garman for the econo late-model win.

Freddie Rahmer victorious at Williams Grove: Point-leader Freddie Rahmer scored his second Williams Grove sprint-car win of the season Friday with a last-lap pass of Alan Krimes.

With the last-lap-pass bonus and a bonus for winning from the 10th starting spot, Rahmer collected $4,550 for his win.

Lance Dewease also passed Krimes on the final lap for second, with Krimes, Hodnett and Ott in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri, Dietrich, Mark Smith, Montieth and Haas.

York’s Rick Eckret won $4,150 for his win in the 40-lap Appalachian Mountain Late Model Speedweek feature. Eckert started seventh and passed Gary Stuhler for the lead on the 18th lap. Jeff Rine finished second, with Newberrytown’s Jason Covert in third. Kyle Hardy and Stuhler completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Kenny Pettyjohn, Jamie Lahtroum, Dover’s Coleby Frye, Matt Cosner and Bryan Bernheisel.

Rine triumphs at Selinsgrove:  Saturday’s conclusion of the Appalachian Mountain Speedweek series at Selinsgrove fell to Rine, who took the lead from Cosner on the 30th lap, and then fended off Eckert for the victory.

Rine’s win was worth $4,000 and also earned him the Speedweek title.

Cosner finished third, followed by Hardy and Steve Campbell. Rounding out the top 10 were Bernheisel, Chad Hollenbeck, Dylan Yoder, Pettyjohn and Waylon Wagner.

In the 360 sprint feature, Eric Tomecek led all 25 laps to win over Mike WalterII. Chad Layton, Cody Keller and Davie Franek completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Jason Shultz, Nate Snyder, Justin Whittall, Derek Locke and Larry Kelleher.

Stinestown’s Tommy Slanker increased his series point lead with his third win of the season in the pro-stock feature.

Dover's Gene Knaub takes Carl Billet Memorial: Dover’s Gene Knaub won the Carl Billet Memorial Race for the limited-late models at Susquehanna Saturday evening.

Knaub’s $1,500 victory came over Manchester’s Randy Christine Jr., with Shaun Jones, Dover’s Charles Potts and Newberrytown’s J.R. Rodriquez in the top five.

Defending track champion Russ Mitten got his first win of the season in the 25-lap super-sportsman feature. Mitten came from the ninth starting spot to the lead in eight laps. Kenny Edkin finished second, followed by Fawn Grove’s Paul Miller, Devin Beidel and Mike Enders in the top five. Completing the top 10 were Gregg Foster, early leader Bruce Buckwalter Jr., Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger, Jay Fannasy and Garrett Williamson.

Joey Hoffer won the special 40-lap, street-stock feature over Jasen Geesaman, Craig Morgan, Jimmy Combs and Jim Palm.

Feathers wins at Hagerstown:  Trevor Feathers won Saturday’s late-model feature at Hagerstown, with Andy Anderson, Stuhler, Rodney Walls and Kenny Moreland in the top five.

Tyler Emory was the late-model sportsman winner over Kyle Lear, Justin Weaver, Alan Sagi and Barry Miller. Allan Brannon won the crate late-model feature. Craig Perrill was the pure-stock winner and Dylan Rutherford won the hobby-stock feature.

Holbrook leads way at Trailway: David Holbrook won Friday’s 358 sprint feature at Trailway with Steve Owings, Hanover’s Joe Trone Jr., Mike Bittinger and J.B. Cunningham in the top five.

Mike Rutherford was the 270cc micro-sprint winner, Justin Wagaman won the limited-stock race and Wellsville’s Mike Goodwin was the street-stock winner.

Reigle first at Clinton County: Cale Reigle won Friday’s 305 sprint feature at Clinton County, with Kyle Ganoe, Dale Schwiekert, Ken Duke and Drew Ritchey in the top five.

Andrew Yoder was the limited-late-model winner.