Macri earns first career Lincoln win


Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri raced to his first career sprint car win Saturday at Lincoln Speedway. The young driver, who will celebrate his 18th birthday next week, earned $3,200 for the win.


Macri started from the pole position in the 25-lap race, but didn’t have an easy time in scoring the victory. Macri led the first eight laps while being pressured by York's Glenndon Forsythe, a fellow front-row starter. Forsythe took over the top spot on the ninth lap and led until the 12th lap. Macri was back on top on lap 13 before Forsythe regained the top spot a lap later. Macri’s final pass for the lead came on lap 15.

In the end it was Jim Siegel who followed Macri to the finish. Billy Dietrich finished third with Brian Montieth and York’s Cory Haas completing the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Forsythe, Freddie Rahmer, Brandon Rahmer, Scott Fisher and Dover’s Chad Trout.

Spring Grove’s Dwight Leppo led all 20 laps to win the 358 sprint feature, with  Brent Shearer placing second. Manchester’s Trey Hivner finished third with Doug Hammaker and Kevin Nouse in the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Hanover’s Troy Wagaman Jr, Ashley Cappetta, Cody Fletcher, Phil Walter and Steve Wilbur.

Shaun Jones led all 20 laps to win the limited late model feature. Manchester’s Randy Christine Jr finished second, followed by Trevis Mease, Bobby Beard and Derick Quade.


Port Royal:  Lucas Wolfe scored his third victory in six days with a flag-to-flag performance at Port Royal on Saturday. Wolfe, who won at the Port last Monday and Williams Grove Friday, picked up $3,200 for his win in the 25-lap sprint car feature.

Danny Dietrich chased Wolfe to the line, with Dylan Cisney in third. Brock Zearfoss and Doug Esh completed the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Mike Wagner, Blane Heimbach, T J Stutts, Rick Lafferty and Joey Hershey.

In the Appalachian Mountain Late Model Speedweek feature, Jeff Rine picked up $4,000 for his first win of the 2017 series. Rine led from lap 14 in the 40 -lap event to score the win over Newberrytown’s Jason Covert. Mason Zeigler finished third, with Kenny Pettyjohn and Dover’s Coleby Frye in the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Dan Stone, Dylan Yoder, Mike Lupfer, Rance Garlock and Andy Haus.

Bill Powell was the Xtreme stock winner.

Willams Grove:  Wolfe’s $3,800 win on Friday came from the fifth-starting spot. He took command from Rodney Westhafer on the 15th of 25 laps, and led Danny dietrich to the finish line.  Freddie Rahmer, Stutts, and Lance Dewease completed the top five.  Rounding out the top ten were Montieth, Westhafer, Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett, Macri, and Mark Smith.

Mark Smith came back to win the 25-lap URC 360 sprint feature worth $2,000. Smith took the lead from Davie Franek on the 12th lap and led Franek to the finish. Hodnett was third, followed by Chad Layton and Curt Michael.  Completing the top ten were Wolfe, Chuck Hebing, Derek Locke, Jason Shultz and Josh Weller.

Selinsgrove: Mark Smith scored his second win of the weekend in Selinsgrove’s Kramer Cup for the URC 360 sprint cars. This one was worth $2,573. Once again, Franek and Hodnett followed Smith to the line, with Locke and Shultz in the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Robbie Stillwaggon, Weller, Layton, Chris Coyle, and Mallie Shuster.

Andrew Yoder won the econo late model feature over Tim Fedder, Shaun Miller, Todd Snook and Tim Krape.

Shawn Lawton was the prostock winner.

Hagerstown: Justin Weaver won the late-model sportsman feature at Hagerstown on Saturday, with Michael Walls finishing second. Kyle Lear, James Lichliter and Alan Sagi completed the top five.

Brandon Chruchey was the pure stock winner and Jamie Mills won the hobby stock event.

All-Stars: Local racer Logan Wagner picked up the $5,000 for the victory in Friday’s All Star feature at Lernerville. Danny Holtgraver, Chad Kemenah, Cole Duncan and Tim Shaffer completed the top five. Local racer Ryan Smith was sixth.

Saturday at Mercer, Kemenah was the winner over Parker Price-Miller, Shaffer, Jack Sodeman Jr. and Ryan Smith.

Appalachian Mountain Speedweek: Tthe late model speedweek started Wednesday at Hagerstown with York’s Rick Eckert picking up the win before heading out on the road with the World of Outlaws late model series.  Mason Zeigler, Newberrytown’s Jason Covert, Trevor Feathers and Jeff Rine completed the top five.

At Susquehanna on Thursday evening, Dover’s Gene Knaub scored a clean sweep, winning both the late model speedweek feature and the limited late model feature, along with his heat races in both classes. The late model win came over Keith Jackson, Rine, Pettyjohn and Jared Miley.

The limited late model win came over Justin Weaver, Shaun Jones, Dover’s Chase Billet and Manchester’s Randy Christine.

Friday’s late model speedweek show at Bedford was won by Walker Aurthur.