DIRT TRACK RACING: Wolfe earns $10,000 for Weikert win

  • Lucas Wolfe won the rain-delayed Bob Weikert Memorial at Port Royal Speedway on Monday.
  • Wolfe collected $10,000 for his victory in the 35-lap race.
  • Wolfe scored the win over Starks. Dylan Cisney finished third.

Lucas Wolfe won the rain-delayed Bob Weikert Memorial at Port Royal Speedway on Monday evening.

Wolfe collected $10,000 for his victory in the 35-lap race.

Lucas Wolfe

Trey Starks grabbed the early lead from his second-starting position and held the top spot until the 31st lap, when Wolfe, who started eighth, took the lead. Wolfe scored the win over Starks. Dylan Cisney finished third, with Danny Dietrich and Aaron Ott in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Lance Dewease, who earned the hard-charger award coming from 18th, T.J. Stutts, Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett, Dale Blaney and Logan Wagner.

In the 25-lap URC 360 sprint-car feature, Hodnett picked up the $2,000 victory, taking the lead from Ott on the 19th of 25 laps. Chuck Hebing finished second, with Ott, Doug Esh and Davey Franek in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Wolfe, Curt Michael, Doug Hammaker, Nate Snyder and Derek Locke.

The race was originally set for Sunday, but was rained out.

Saturday at Port Royal, Dewease scored his fifth win of the season in Saturday’s first leg of the Weikert Memorial. Dewease’s 102nd career Port Royal victory was worth $5,000. Dewease started eighth and took the lead from Dietrich on the 25th of 30 laps.

Dietrich finished second, with Blaney in third. Starks and Esh completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Cisney, Brock Zearfoss, Hodnett, Ott and Stutts.

Austin Hubbard collected $3,000 for winning the late-model feature. Hubbard took the lead from his former crewman, Coleby Frye, of Dover, with three laps remaining. Frye finished second, followed by Jeff Rine, Matt Cosner and Andy Haus in the top five.



Freddie Rahmer breaks through at Lincoln: Freddie Rahmer raced to his first Lincoln Speedway win of the season on Saturday.

Rahmer’s $4,000 victory was his third at the track where his father is the all-time leader with 169 victories.

Rahmer started third and took until the 10th of 30 laps to get by Hanover’s Tim Wagaman for the lead. Wagaman would later spin out of contention. York’s Cory Haas raced home second ahead of his nephew, Chase Dietz, also of York. Dover’s Chad Trout finished fourth, with Brian Montieth coming from the 13th starting spot for fifth. Rounding out the top 10 were Robbie Kendall, Jay Galloway, Tyler Ross, Billy Dietrich and Gerard McIntyre Jr.

Phil Walter score his first win of the season in the 20-lap 358 sprint feature. Like Rahmer, Walter’s win was his third at the track. Walter led every lap to best Brodbecks' Todd Gracey, with Manchester’s Trey Hivner in third. York’s Dalton Dietrich and Matt Findley completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Steve Wilbur, Doug Hammaker, Chandler Leiby, Jeff Halligan and Hanover’s Troy Wagaman Jr.

York’s Lucas Montgomery won the 20-lap legends feature. Montgomery became the event’s third leader when he took the top spot on lap nine. The win was his seventh at Lincoln. Travis Perry finished second, followed by Spring Grove’s Harlon Leppo, Australian Hayden Pascoe and Scott Houdeshell.

Dietrich victorious at Grove: Danny Dietrich led all 25 laps for the $4,000 win at Williams Grove Speedway Friday.

Freddie Rahmer challenged a few times but had to settle for second, followed by Lance Dewease, Dale Blaney, Greg Hodnett, Aaron Ott, Brian Montieth, Lucas Wolfe, Brandon Rahmer and Alan Krimes.

Mark Watkins won the 305 sprint feature over Stephanie Dodson, Scott Ellerman, Coby Dice and Cale Reigle.

Edkin triumphs at Susquehanna: Kenny Edkin won the 40-lap Bud Bricker Memorial race at Susquehanna Speedway Saturday.

Edkin’s win was his second of the season in super-sportsman competition at Susky, and was worth $2,500.

Edkin started second and took the lead from pole-sitter Scott Dellinger on the 29th lap. Dellinger, of Lewisberry, finished second, with Tony Jackson, Fawn Grove’s Paul Miller and Russ Mitten in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Dillsburg’s Rich Eichelberger, Jay Fannasy, Mike Enders, Gregg Foster and Devin Beidel.

Manchester’s Randy Christine Jr. won the limited-late-model feature over Dover’s Charles Potts. Dover’s Chase Billet, Brad Shank and Ben Whittaker completed the top five.

Jimmy Combs was helped when leaders Eddie Richards and Matt Adams tangled on the final lap to win the street-stock feature over Manchester’s Mike Potts, Craig Morgan, Scott Thunberg and Jasen Geesaman.

Newberrytown’s Alex Updegraff was the Xtreme stock winner.

Snyder ends victory drought at Selinsgrove: Nate Snyder bested the URC 360 sprints Saturday to claim his first Selinsgrove Speedway win since 2011.

Snyder took the lead when Eddie Strada had mechanical problems on the seventh of 25 laps. Derek Locke finished second followed by Mallie Shuster, Jason Shultz and Cody Keller in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Larry Kelleher, Chad Layton, Chris Coyle, Curt Michael and Troy Betts.

Hayes Mattern won the late-model feature over Donnie Schick, Danny Snyder, Tony Adams and Dover’s Gene Knaub.

Brad Mitch won the pro-stock feature after a spirited battle with Strinestown’s Tommy Slanker. Slanker was along side Mitch off the final turn when he suffered mechanical problems and fell to fourth in the rundown.

Bob Bussey won the roadrunner feature.

Hanover driver earns Outlaws win: Hanover’s Logan Schuchart won Friday’s World of Outlaws feature at “The Dirt Track at Charlotte.”

Schuchart used a late-race pass of Brad Sweet for the win. Daryn Pittman, Donny Schatz and Greg Wilson completed the top five.

Sneeringer leads way at Trailway: Issac Sneeringer won the 358 sprint feature over Spring Grove’s Dwight Leppo.

Hagerstown rained out: Hagerstown Speedway was rained out on Saturday.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.