Mark Smith wins at Port Royal for 1st time in 8 years

  • Mark Smith claimed his first 410 sprint-car win at Port Royal in eight years.
  • Smith led all 25 laps of the feature and earned $3,200 for the triumph.
  • Smith’s win came over Steve Buckwalter, with Rick Lafferty finishing third.

In recent years, Mark Smith has done most of his racing in the 360 sprint division, but he was once a top contender in the 410 sprint-car ranks.

Saturday, as Port Royal Speedway bested the rain, Smith showed why he is a former champion there. Smith led all 25 laps of the feature to claim his first 410 sprint win at the Port in eight years. The $3,200 triumph was his 33rd career win at the Port.


Smith’s win came over Steve Buckwalter, with Rick Lafferty finishing third. Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett claimed fouth with Tyler Bear in fifth. Rounding out the top 10 were Aaron Ott, Dave Blaney, Mike Wagner, Logan Wagner and Brock Zearfoss.

Former pro football player Rick Singleton won the late-model feature over Tim Smith, with Matt Parks, Austin Berry and Dylan Yoder in the top five.

Dave Grube won the 305 sprint feature over Tyler Reeser, with Drew Ritchey, Ron Aurand and Cale Reigle in the top five.

Andrew Shoop was the econo late-model winner.

Schuchart drives to Outlaw win: The World of Outlaws sprint cars were at Eldora, Ohio, over the weekend before moving east to the area this week.

Several local teams ventured out to meet the Outlaws, but on Friday evening it was local Outlaw regular, Logan Schuchart of Hanover, who drove to the victory. Shane Stewart finished second, with Brad Sweet, Donny Schatz and Jason Johnson in the top five. Hanover’s Jacob Allen finished eighth, while Trey Starks was 13th, Brent Marks was 14th and Danny Dietrich was 21st.

Saturday, Schatz was the winner over Chad Kemenah, Rico Abreu, Sweet and Johnson.  Schuchart finished sixth, with Marks in 12th, Allen in 18th, Dietrich in 19th and Starks in 21st.

Reach Bryan Householder at