DIRT TRACK RACING: Dietrich sets record in Lincoln win

York Dispatch
  • Danny Dietrich raced to his third Lincoln win of the season in Saturday’s Weldon Sterner Memorial.
  • Dietrich established a new 33-lap track record of 8 minutes, 53.171 seconds.
  • Dietrich took home the top prize of $6,900 for his sprint-car victory.

Danny Dietrich raced to his third Lincoln Speedway sprint-car win of the season in Saturday’s Weldon Sterner Memorial Race.

Dietrich established a new 33-lap track record of 8 minutes, 53.171 seconds on his way to the $6,900 victory.

Danny Dietrich won the 2016 Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek championship.

Dietrich started second and outdistanced the field, leading all 33 laps. The real battle on the track was for second place. A host of drivers swapped the position throughout the race. In the end, defending track champion Alan Krimes took second, with Lucas Wolfe, 13th-starter Brian Montieth and Gerard McIntyre Jr. in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Jim Siegel, York’s Cory Haas, Dover’s Chad Trout, Freddie Rahmer and Billy Dietrich.

Chandler Leiby used the extreme outside groove to advance from the eighth starting spot to win the 358 sprint feature worth $1,200. Leiby took the lead from pole-sitter David Holbrook on the eighth lap. Holbrook finished second, with Todd Rittenhouse Jr. in third. York’s Dalton Dietrich and Hallam’s Adrian Shaffer completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Dillsburg’s Brie Hershey, Kyle Denmyer, Dillsburg’s Chris Arnold, Dillsburg’s Chris Frank and Jeff Halligan.

Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger won the non-stop, 25-lap, super-sportsman feature, which was also worth $1,200. Dellinger tracked down early leader Frankie Herr in lapped traffic on the 11th lap. Mike Enders finished second, with Chad Criswell, Herr and Kenny Edkin in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Garrett Williamson, Jay Fannasy, Dillsburg’s Rich Eichelberger, Davey Walsh and Chad Smith.



Dewease triumphs at Port Royal: Lance Dewease made it two All Star wins on the weekend with a flag-to-flag romp in Port Royal Speedway’s non-stop, 30-lap feature. Dewease’s 101st Port Royal win was worth $5,000. He was nearly seven seconds ahead of second-place Ryan Smith at the finish.

Dale Blaney finished third, with Dylan Cisney and Blane Heimbach in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Steve Buckwalter, Chad Kemenah, Brock Zearfoss, T.J. Stutts and Mike Wagner.

The shoe was finally on the other foot for Dylan Yoder in Port Royal’s late-model feature. Yoder, who had dropped out while leading in the first three features of the season there, was able to take the lead when Jeff Rine dropped out and went on to the victory. Chad Hollenbeck finished second, followed by Dover’s Coleby Frye, Tim Wilson and Nick Dickson.

Dewease also wins at Grove: Lance Dewease raced to his 87th career Williams Grove sprint-car win in Friday’s All Star-sanctioned, 30-lap feature. Dewease’s win was worth $5,000.

Dewease started fourth and took the lead from pole-sitter Tim Shaffer on the sixth lap. However, Dewease wasn’t home free. Second-place starter Freddie Rahmer had dropped to third in the opening laps, but rebounded to pressure Dewease for much of the race. Rahmer actually grabbed the lead briefly in the first and second turns of the final lap, but Dewease was able to regain the top spot and won by .814 of a second over Rahmer.

Shaffer finished third, with Aaron Ott and Danny Dietrich in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Trey Starks, Brian Montieth, Lucas Wolfe, T.J. Stutts and Tony Stewart.

Tyler Reeser grabbed the lead from York’s Jay Krout on the second lap of the 20-lap PASS 305 sprint feature and went on to score the win over Zach Newlin. Ken Duke, Krout and Rick Stief completed the top five.

Reeser earns victory at Susquehanna: Tyler Reeser won the Jimmy Strausbaugh Bald Hills Classic for the 305 sprints at Susquehanna Speedway Saturday. Reeser’s second win of the weekend was worth $1,000. Rick Stief finished second, with Kyle Ganoe, Zach Newlin and Stephanie Dodson in the top five.

Trevor Kobylarz won the ARDC midget feature over Brendon Bright, New Cumberland’s Ryan Greth, Alex Bright and Adam Pierson.

Red Lion’s Kevin Siegler won his first of the season in the street-stock feature, with Eric Tripp, Craig Morgan, Manchester’s Mike Potts and Scott Thunberg in the top five.

Newberrytown’s Alex Updegraff was the Xtreme stock winner.

Slanker leads way at Trailway: Stinestown’s Tommy Slanker won Friday’s limited-late-model feature at Trailway Speedway, leading all 25 laps. Slanker’s win was his first ever in the limited-late models. Travis Mease finished second, followed by Kerry King, Robbie Emory and Brad Shank.

Mike Rutherford was the 270cc micro-sprint winner over Levi Peck, Chad Myers, Brian Marriott and Steven Cox.

Justin Wagaman won the limited-stock feature and Charlie Summers was the Classic Car winner.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.