July 4th should be summery — but officials advise caution while enjoying it

York's Eckert earns $10,000 payday with Port Royal win


York's Rick Eckert bested the stars and cars of the Lucas Oil Dirt Late Model Series at Port Royal Speedway on Sunday night, earning $10,000 for his fourth career victory at the track in the 50-lap main event.

In the Mason-Dixon Shootout Series for limited late models, it was Three Springs driver Matt Parks making a rare limited start to pick up the win worth $1,000.

York's Rick Eckert earned $4,000 for winning the opening race of Appalachian Mountain Late Model Speedweek at Hagerstown Speedway on Wednesday night.

Eckert’s victory in the Lucas Oil event was a special one. It marked the first-ever visit by the late-model circuit and stars to the central Pennsylvania region.

Eckert took the win by 1.510 seconds at the finish.

Gregg Satterlee rode home second, followed by Mason Zeigler, Josh Richards and Tim McCreadie. Sixth through 10th went to Don O’Neal, Dennis Erb Jr., Jimmy Owens, Earl Person Jr. and and Darrell Lanigan.

Heats for the 41 super late models went to Satterlee, Brandon Sheppard, McCreadie and O’Neal, with twin consolations going to Coleby Frye and Steve Francis.

Fast time was set by Erb Jr. with a lap of 18.492 seconds.

Matt Parks started on the pole of the 20-lap, limited-late-model main and wired the field for the victory. His car owner, Ralph Morgan Jr. raced second the entire distance and finished with the spot. Andrew Yoder finished third after starting eighth in the field. Eric Irvan and Dillan Stake completed the top five finishers.

Feature Finishes

Late Models, 50 laps: 1. Rick Eckert, 2. Gregg Satterlee, 3. Mason Zeigler, 4. Josh Richards, 5. Tim McCreadie, 6. Don O’Neal, 7. Dennis Erb, 8. Jimmy Owens, 9. Earl Person, 10. Darrell Lanigan, 11. Scott Bloomquist, 12. Brandon Sheppard, 13. Hudson O’Neal, 14. Matthew Cosner, 15. Austin Hubbard, 16. Gary Stuhler, 17. Coleby Frye, 18. Steve Francis, 19. Boom Briggs, 20. Chad Hollenbeck, 21. Trent Brenneman, 22. Mike Lupfer, 23. Kyle Lee, 24. Colton Flinner, 25. Nick Dickson

DNQ: Tim Wilson, Dave Brouse Jr., Jim Yoder, Hayes Mattern, Patrick Bryner, Pancho Lawler, Larry Baer, Kenny Moreland, Tim Smith, Chad Myers, Steve Campbell, Chad Myers, Andy Haus, Jason Covert, Dan Stone, Jeff Rine

Limited Late Models, 25 laps: 1. Matt Parks, 2. Ralph Morgan, Jr., 3. Andrew Yoder, 4. Eric Irvan, 5. Dillan Stake, 6. Shaun Jones, 7. Chase Billett, 8. Tim Fedder, 9. Brian Shoey, 10. Tim Krape, 11. Rance Garlock, 12. Derrick Quade, 13. Mike Walls, 14. Jared Fulkroad, 15. JR Toner, 16. Devin Frey, 17. Davis Latsha, 18. Rick Lias, 19. Donnie Farling, 20. Chase Bowsman, 21. Kadden Smith, 22. Ryan Walls, 23. Matt Murphy, 24. Robbie Black, 25. Devin Hart, 26. Todd Snook

DNQ: Jeremy Ohl, Kenny Yoder, Bryan Sipe, DJ Groft, Garrett Gray, Mike Mort, Devin Weyandt, Larry Neiderer, Taylor Farling, Justin Weaver, Matt Nailor, Shaun Miller.