Senate passes $740B economic package rooted in Biden domestic vision

DIRT RACING: Brent Marks shatters Port Royal record

  • Brent Marks won Saturday evening's sprint-car feature at Port Royal Speedway.
  • Marks knocked seven seconds off the existing track record and won $3,200.
  • Marks returned to the region to race when the World of Outlaws weekend was rained out.

With the World of Outlaws weekend rained out, Brent Marks returned home and raced to his first win of the season Saturday evening at Port Royal Speedway.

Marks knocked seven seconds off the existing track record to collect $3,200 in the non-stop, 25-lap feature.

Marks collected the eighth win of his career at the track. His new 25-lap track record was 7 minutes, 32.949 seconds, overtaking the old mark held by Lance Dewease since 1992.

Brent Marks

Marks took the lead from Dale Blaney with five laps remaining in the event after starting eighth. Blaney finished second, with Curt Stroup getting third. T.J. Stutts and Ryan Taylor completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Brock Zearfoss, Doug Esh, Danny Dietrich, Dylan Cisney and Lucas Wolfe.

Jeff Miller won the 305 sprint feature over Ken Duke, Scott Ellerman, Zach Newlin and Kyle Ganoe.

Herm Renninger took his second Xtreme stock main of the year, driving by Kevin Imes for the victory on the second tour of the 15-lap feature. Imes held on for second followed by Mike Goodwin, Pete Leister and Bill Powell.



Franek triumphs at Selinsgrove: Davie Franek scored his second Selinsgrove Speedway 360 sprint win of the season Saturday, and this one was a big one.

The URC organization sanctioned the Jack Gunn Memorial, which offered $2,500 to the winner.

Franek held off the challenges of Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett for the win, with Curt Michael in third. Robbie Stillwaggon and Adam Carberry completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Kevin Nagy, Chris Coyle, Josh Weller, Derek Locke and Larry Kelleher,

Hayes Mattern won the late-model feature, with Tony Adams in second. Dylan Yoder, Kyle Hardy and Chad Hollenbeck completed the top five.

For the second week in a row, defending track champion Brad Mitch held off hard-charging Tommy Slanker, of Strinestown, to win the pro-stock feature.

Rahmer victorious at Grove: Freddie Rahmer scored his first win of the season in Friday’s 25-lap, sprint-car feature at Williams Grove Speedway.

Rahmer’s second career win at the Grove was worth $4,100, and leaves him just 88 wins behind his father’s all-time career win mark there.

Rahmer started ninth and didn’t take the lead until the 24th lap. York’s Cory Haas started from the pole position and led the first two laps before Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell, who started second, slipped by to lead lap three. Haas was back on top on lap four, and despite some pressure from Lucas Wolfe, held the top spot until Rahmer slipped by just before the white flag flew.

Wolfe spun on the front stretch just after the leaders had passed the flag stand to bring out the only yellow flag of the race. Rahmer held on in the one-lap shootout to the finish to best Haas by .334 seconds. Campbell finished third, with Rick Lafferty in fourth. Brian Montieth, who started 11th, was fifth. Tenth-starter Danny Dietrich was next, with Brock Zearfoss, Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett, Doug Esh and Alan Krimes in the top 10.

In many ways, the 20-lap 358 sprint feature mirrored the sprint-car event. Pole-sitter Phil Walter led until the 19th lap despite heavy pressure from second-starter Eric Parker. Then third-starter Kevin Nouse grabbed the lead just before the only caution flag of the race flew for Rich Eichelberger’s flat tire.

Nouse won the one-lap shootout, with Parker nipping Walter for second. Jared Esh and Doug Hammaker completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Dillsburg’s Brie Hershey, Hallam’s Adrian Shaffer, Scott Fisher, Lewisberry’s Jordan Givler and Dave Thrush.

Rainouts: Saturday racing at Lincoln, Susquehanna and Hagerstown was rained out.

Reach Bryan Householder at