Wolfe wins Lincoln's Spring Championship, earns $5,000

  • Lucas Wolfe won Saturday's Spring Championship at Lincoln Speedway, earning $5,000.
  • Brock Zearfoss raced to his first win of the season in Port Royal’s sprint-car feature Saturday.
  • Kenny Edkin raced to his first career super-sportsman win Saturday at Susquehanna.

Lucas Wolfe raced to his first win of the season in Saturday night’s 30-lap, sprint-car Spring Championship race at Lincoln Speedway.

Wolfe’s fourth career Lincoln win was worth $5,000.

Lucas Wolfe

Wolfe started second and led every lap of the event, but it wasn’t for a lack of challengers. Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett, who started from the pole position, challenged Wolfe early before fifth-starter Danny Dietrich, who has two 2017 Lincoln wins, took up the chase. At the end of the race, it was five-time Lincoln champ Brian Montieth who was challenging Wolfe.

Wolfe took the win over Montieth, with Dietrich, Hodnett and defending track champion Alan Krimes in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Gerard McIntyre Jr., Tyler Ross, Dover’s Chad Trout, Robbie Kendall and Lewisberry’s Kyle Moody.

“We’ve been pretty competitive I thought, but things just haven’t gone right,” Wolfe said after the race. “It was good to put a whole night together. Obviously, there’s tremendous competition there at the front on these types of races, so the start was certainly critical. Both Brian and Danny have been good here all year, and have a lot of laps and wins here, so I’m enjoying the opportunity to run here a little more and hopefully, be able to keep this amount of competitiveness going and move forward and be strong all year.”

Jeff Halligan scored his first win of the season in the 20-lap, 358 sprint feature. Halligan started second, but it was fourth-starter Brent Shearer who led the first two laps before Halligan took over the top spot. The two battled for the remainder of the event. Shearer finished second, with Hallam’s Adrian Shaffer in third. Chandler Leiby and Cody Fletcher completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Kyle Denmyer, Matt Findley, Ashley Cappetta, Todd Rittenhouse Jr. and Steve Wilbur.



Zearfoss races to Port Royal win:Brock Zearfoss raced to his first win of the season in Port Royal Speedway’s 25-lap, sprint-car feature Saturday night.

Zearfoss led all 25 laps on his way to the $3,200 victory. T.J. Stutts finished second, with Rick Lafferty in third. Mike Wagner and Aaron Ott completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Tyler Bear, Blane Heimbach, Doug Esh, Logan Wagner and Kevin Nouse.

Trent Brenneman finally got his first career late-model win at the Port. Brenneman held off repeated challenges from Jeff Rine to score the win. Dover’s Coleby Frye got by Rine late in the event for second, with Rine, Dan Stone and Nick Dickson in the top five.

HOUSEHOLDER: York County dirt-track scene loses champion

Shaun Miller won the econo late-model feature.

Edkin earns breakthrough victory at Susquehanna:Kenny Edkin raced to his first career super-sportsman win in exciting fashion Saturday night at Susquehanna Speedway.

Edkin took the lead from Doug Dodson on a 24th-lap restart in the 25-lap event. Dodson trailed Edkin at the finish, with Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger, Mike Enders and Davey Walsh in the top five. Completing the top 10 were Garrett Williamson, Dillsburg’s Rich Eichelberger, Jay Fannasy, Timmie Barrick and Chad Smith.

Manchester’s Charles Potts won the limited-late-model feature, taking the lead on the 10th lap of the 25-lap event from York Haven’s Steve Billet. Billet finished second, with Brad Shank, Dover’s Justin Ehrhart and Ben Whitaker in the top five.

Mike Potts, Charles' uncle, finally shook the monkey off his back to win the street-stock feature. Potts has led every street-stock race this season only to have mechanical issues. This time he took the lead from Scott Thunberg on the last lap for the win. Thunberg finished second, followed by Jim Palm, York Haven’s Matt Adams and Dover’s Dalton Frye.

Newberrytown’s Alex Updegraff was the Xtreme stock winner.

Franek triumphs at Selinsgrove: Davie Franek won the 360 sprint-car feature at Selinsgrove Speedway on Saturday night.

Franek bested defending track champion Mark Smith for the win, with Jason Shultz in third. Mallie Shuster and Mike Walter II rounded out the top five. Completing the top 10 were Cody Keller, Derek Locke, Colby Womer, Nate Snyder and Jim Shuster.

Donnie Schick got his first late-model win since 2011. Schick bested Tony Adams for the victory, with Danny Snyder, Jim Bernheisel and Dave Zona in the top five.

Defending track champion Brad Mitch outdueled opening-night winner Tommy Slanker, of Strinestown, in a “paint-trading” battle to win the pro-stock feature.

Dewase gets first win of season at Grove:Lance Dewease scored his first win of the season in Friday night’s 25-lap, sprint-car feature at Williams Grove Speedway.

The $3,600 win was Dewease’s 86th career Grove win, which leaves him just four shy of the 90-win record held by Fred Rahmer.

Dewease started fourth and took the lead from pole-sitter Danny Dietrich on the third lap. He went unchallenged the rest of the way. At the finish, Dietrich fought hard to hold off third-place finisher Freddie Rahmer. Alan Krimes and Steve Buckwalter completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Mark Smith, Doug Esh, Dover’s Chad Trout, Lucas Wolfe and Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett.

Hallam’s Adrian Shaffer led all 20 laps to win the 358 sprint feature. It marked the fourth year in a row that Shaffer won the 358 lid-lifter at the Grove. Eric Parker came from the 10th-starting spot for second, with Matt Findley, Dillsburg’s Brie Hershey and Doug Hammaker in the top five. Completing the top 10 were Jared Esh, Kevin Nouse, Lewisberry’s Jordan Givler, Dillsburg’s Chris Frank and Nyle Berkes.

Owings leads way at Trailway: Steve Owings won the 358 sprint feature at Trailway Speedway Friday evening.

Owings passed race-long leader Dwight Leppo on the 20th of 25 laps for the victory. Leppo finished second, followed Issac Sneeringer, J.B. Cunningham and Cody Fletcher in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were David Holbrook, York Haven's Steve Storrie, Wyatt Hinkle, Hanover's Joe Trone Jr. and Austin Kirby.

Mason Chaney won the Legends feature over Hayden Pascoe, Craley's Bill Diehl, Justice Forbes and Chad Earnst.

Brian Marriott was the 270cc micro-sprint winner over Joe Long Jr., Jim Young, Michael Boer and Mike Rutherford.

Robbie Carroll won the limited-stock event.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.