York County driver wins Outlaw race at Port Royal

  • Hanover's Logan Schuchart earned $10,000 for his Outlaw win at Port Royal Saturday.
  • Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett took second, while Donny Schatz finished third.
  • Danny Dietrich won the Williams Grove National Open on Friday night, earning $25,000.

Hanover’s Logan Schuchart, our local Outlaw, won Saturday’s World of Outlaws sprint-car feature at Port Royal Speedway.

Schuchart collected $10,000 for his second Outlaw win of the season.

Logan Schuchart

The York County driver started second and took the lead from pole-sitter Lucas Wolfe on a third-lap restart. Schuchart then motored away from the field to score the win over another York County racer, Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett. Donny Schatz finished third, with Wolfe and 12th-starter Lance Dewease in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Brian Brown, David Gravel, Daryn Pittman, Brad Sweet and Joey Saldana.

Curtis Lawton won the extreme stock feature over Brian Walls.

Dietrich takes National Open at Grove: Danny Dietrich added his name to the illustrious list of winners of the Williams Grove Speedway National Open on Friday evening.

Dietrich collected $25,000 for his win in the 40-lap event.

Dietrich started sixth and slowly advanced to the front. Saldana led much of the race. In fact, Saldana led all but one of the first 38 laps. Dietrich took the lead from Saldana with the white flag flying, and went on to score the win, with Saldana second. Sweet, who led one lap just before the mid-point of the race, finished third, with Schatz and Gravel in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Hodnett, Pittman, Schuchart, Dewease and Jason Sides.

Freddie Rahmer picked up $2,250 from the Beer Hill Gang as the Rookie of the Race, Rahmer finished 13th. Steve Buckwalter picked up a $1,000 bonus from the Beer Hill Gang as the first non qualifier, and the Doug Esh/Mark Coldren Team got a $500 bonus as the “Best Appearing Car”.

Herr victorious at Susquehanna: Frankie Herr won his third Susquehanna super-sportsman feature of the season in Saturday's 40-lap event.

Herr, who has run a limited sportsman schedule this season, collected $2,000 for his flag-to-flag win in the non-stop event.

Kenny Edkin finished second, with Russ Mitten, Dillsburg's Rich Eichelberger and Timmie Barrick in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Lewisberry's Scott Dellinger, Doug Dodson, Camp Hill's Rick Barr, Steve Fannasy and Gregg Foster.

Manchester's Randy Christine Jr. put an exclamation point on his championship season, coming from the 10th starting spot to the lead in 11 laps of the limited-late-model feature. Shaun Jones finished second, with Dover's Chase Billet in third. Brian Shuey and York's Sammy Rial completed the first five.

Tyler Reeser won his fourth Susky 305 sprint feature of the season over Drew Ritchey. John Barnett, Kyle Ganoe and Dave Grube completed the top five.

Manchester's Mike Potts also turned in an impressive run to win the street-stock feature. Potts, also the division champion, came from 19th to score the win over another Manchester driver, Eddie Richards. Paul Morgan, Felton's Bob Scott Jr. and Craig Morgan completed the top five.

Davey Nester was the extreme-stock winner and Justin Cardasso won the road-warrior feature.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.