DIRT TRACK RACING: Dewease captures Tuscarora 50

  • Lance Dewease earned his fifth Tuscarora 50 at Port Royal.
  • Dewease earned nearly $13,000 for the triumph.

Lance Dewease won his record fifth Tuscarora 50 at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday evening.

Dewease earned $12,975 for his victory in the 50-lap All Star-sanctioned event.

Lance Dewease will be among those honored this weekend at Port Royal Speedway during the running of the Tuscarora 50. The event will pay $50,000 to the winner.

Dewease started eighth and took over the top spot on the 12th lap when Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett dropped from the lead with mechanical problems. Dewease went on to score his 10th overall sprint-car win of the season over Stevie Smith, who came from the 10th starting spot. All Star drivers Dale Blaney and Cap Henry were next, with Danny Dietrich rounding out the top five. Completing the top 10 were Lucas Wolfe, Sheldon Haudenschild, Brent Marks, Blane Heimbach and Chad Kemenah.

Doug Esh secured the Port Royal point title with a 14th-place run.

Tim Krape won the econo-late-model feature, but it wasn’t quite enough to unseat second-place-finisher Devin Hart from the point title.

Stevie Smith won Friday’s Night Before the 50, All Star-sanctioned, 30-lap, sprint-car race at Port Royal. Smith’s third overall victory of the season was worth $5,000.

Hodnett took the early lead from the pole position and held the top spot until Dewease motored by on the 10th lap. Two laps later Dewease suffered mechanical problems and dropped from the race, turning the lead back over to Hodnett. Hodnett led just one more lap, before Smith took over the top spot. Smith led the rest of the way to score his 17th career All Star win. Ironically that number is equal to the number of All Star wins held by the winner’s father, Steve Smith.

Hodnett finished second, with Wolfe outgunning Dale Blaney in a race-long battle for third. Dietrich slipped by Dave Blaney on the final lap for fifth. Dave Blaney, Brock Zearfoss, Aaron Ott, Haudenschild and Esh completed the top 10.

Jeremy Miller made his return to racing complete with the $2,000 win in the MoonShine Camo 25-lap, late-model feature. Miller passed Trent Brenneman with seven laps remaining for the win. Brenneman, Jeff Miller, Matt Cosner and Mike Lupfer completed the top five. Jeff Rine secured the MoonShine Camo Route 35 Challenge Series title with an eighth-place finish, and Andy Haus wrapped up the Port Royal late-model title with a ninth-place run.



Lewisberry driver takes Sportsman 100 at Susquehanna: Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger dominated the Gary Wolford Sportsman 100 at Susquehanna Speedway on Saturday.

Dellinger set quick time for the event and led all but two of the 100 laps to earn nearly $5,000 in purses and bonuses.

While this year marked the first time the 100 was held at Susky, it marked Dellinger’s third win in the event.

Track point leader Russ Mitten offered up some late-race competition for Dellinger and was scored the leader of laps 85 and 86, but had to settle for second at the finish. Doug Dodson, Tony Jackson and Jay Fannasy completed the first five.  Rounding out the top 10 were Steve Fannasy, Mike Enders, Justin Foster, Chad Smith and Bruce Buckwalter Jr.

Justin Wagaman won the road-warrior feature and Kyle Emig was the extreme-stock winner.

Shearer triumphs at Lincoln: Brent Shearer claimed his first career 358 sprint win in Lincoln Speedway’s feature Saturday.

It was an eventful race for Shearer, who started fourth and slipped by Tyler Walton for the lead coming off the fourth turn on the 15th of 20 laps. Walton made a comeback attempt going into the first turn, but climbed over the back of Shearer’s racer and flipped into the first turn wall.  Shearer, meanwhile, completed a full 360 spin, but continued with the lead.

York’s Jeff Rohrbaugh finished second, with Jeff Halligan, Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell and Matt Findley in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Hellam’s Adrian Shaffer, Dillsburg’s Chris Arnold, new point champ Chandler Leiby, Cody Fletcher and York’s C.J. Tracy.

Stoverstown’s Cam Zeigler led all 20 laps to win the limited-late-model feature over Brad Shank. Shaun Jones, Jake Jones and Manchester’s Randy Christine Jr. completed the top five.

Jaremi Hanson won the non-stop, 20-lap 305 sprint feature. Hanson started from the pole, but chased fellow front-row-starter Rick Stief for nine laps before taking the lead. John Barnett finished second, followed by Tyler Reeser, Colby Dice and Stief.

Bittinger first at Trailway: Mike Bittinger led all the way to win the 25-lap, 358-sprint-car feature at Trailway Speedway Friday evening.

Bittinger’s second win of the season came over new track champion David Holbrook. Jeff Halligan finished third, with Tyler Walton and Wyatt Hinkle in the top five.  Rounding out the top 10 were Spring Grove’s Zach Eucalano, Dave Thrush, Cody Fletcher, Steve Yost and Dan Richcreek.

Cory Myers won the 270cc micro-sprint feature over Bill Laughman. The winner’s brother, Chad Myers, finished third and sewed up the track tile for those cars. Brian Marriott and Jim Still completed the top five.

Wellsville’s Mike Goodwin won the race and the track championship in the street-stock feature, while the limited-stock feature was canceled by rain, with Justin Wagaman claiming the track title.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.