DIRT-TRACK RACING: Grasso triumphs at Lincoln Speedway

  • J.J. Grasso picked up his first win of the season on Saturday at Lincoln Speedway.
  • Grasso earned $5,000 for his sprint-car victory in the 33-lap feature event.
  • Grasso started from the pole position and led every lap.

J.J. Grasso raced to his first win of the season on Fallen Firefighters' Night at Lincoln Speedway on Saturday.

Grasso collected $5,000 for his victory in the 33-lap feature event, which was delayed 1 1/2 hours by rain midway through the program.

J.J. Grasso

Grasso started from the pole position and led every lap of the sprint car feature, which went non-stop, establishing a track record of 8 minutes, 59.699 seconds. While Grasso led every lap, he was busy with lapped traffic throughout the race, which saw only nine cars finish on the lead lap. While Grasso was at the front of the field, 12th-starter Brain Montieth was on a march to the front, falling just .110 seconds short at the checkered flag. Point leader Alan Krimes finished third, with Tyler Ross and Lewisberry’s Kyle Moody in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Billy Dietrich, Jim Siegel, Dover’s Austin Hogue, York’s Adam Wilt and Robbie Kendall.

Much like the sprint feature, the 358 sprint feature saw Hanover’s Troy Wagaman Jr. lead every lap from the second-starting position. While the 358 race did have one caution flag, Wagaman battled lapped traffic, holding off a last-lap bid by Jeff Halligan, who had started 10th. Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell finished third, with Chandler Leiby and York’s Jeff Rohrbaugh in the top five. Rounding out the first 10 were Brent Shearer, Tyler Esh, Jared Esh, Red Lion’s Brian Allman and Hallam’s Adrian Shaffer.

Fred Cullum won the All American Outlaw feature.



Weller victorious at Susquehanna: The URC 360 sprints visited Susquehanna on Saturday with Josh Weller picking up the win after a battle with Davie Franek.

Weller led from the 11th of 25 laps for the victory. Franek finished second, with Robbie Stillwaggon, Doug Hammaker and Derek Locke in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Eric Tomecek, Curt Michael, Justin Whittall, Steve Drevicki and Troy Betts.

Rain hit Susky after the URC event, but action continued later with Dan Zechman picking up the limited-late-model victory over Shaun Jones. Point leader Randy Christine Jr., of Manchester, was third followed by York Haven’s Steve Billet and Dover’s Chase Billet.

Robbie Carroll won the road warriors feature.

Montieth wins at Williams Grove: Brian Montieth pulled out a late-race victory in the 25-lap sprint car feature at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday.

With bonus money, Montieth collected $4,300 for his fourth overall win of the season.

Montieth started ninth and didn’t take the lead from Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell until the two passed under the white flag, signifying one lap remained. Recent high school grad Campbell finished second for his best 410 sprint run to date, with early leader Rodney Westhafer in third. Brock Zearfoss and Dover’s Austin Hogue completed the first five. Rounding out the top 10 were York’s Cory Haas, Alan Krimes, last-place starter Doug Esh (who moved to car owner Mark Coldren’s car for the feature after suffering mechanical problems with his own racer while winning a heat race), Spring Grove’s Tim Glatfelter and Rick Lafferty.

In the URC 360 sprint feature, Davie Franek scored the win over Chuck Hebing. Eric Tomecek, Jason Shultz and Josh Weller made up the top five, with Derek Locke, early leader Justin Whittall, Jimmy Stitzel, Curt Michael and York’s Glenndon Forsythe in the top 10.

Delaware driver first at Trailway: Delaware’s Robbie Emory won the limited-late-model feature at Trailway Speedway Friday, topping Shaun Jones for the victory.

Travis Mease, Sam Gallagher and Wesley Bonebrake completed the top five.

Scott Houdeshell was the legends winner over Bob Stough, Chad Earnst, Justin Mitchell and Rick Hartwig.

Boyd Brode won the large-tire street-stock feature over Hanover’s Danny Beard, Jason Geeseman, Ryan Smith and Chris Derr.

Brian Walls won the small-tire street-stock feature, while Wellsville’s Mike Goodwin earned enough points to win the Trailway/Susquehanna Shootout Series with a third-place finish.

Charles Millender won the limited-stock feature.

Johnson wins $150,000 top prize at Knoxville: Jason Johnson passed Donny Schatz to take home sprint-car racing’s biggest prize on Saturday night at the Knoxville Nationals.

Johnson, who spent a year on the local circuit and is married to a local girl, took home $150,000 for his popular victory.

Schatz finished second, with Shane Stewart, Daryn Pittman and NASCAR driver Kyle Larson in the top five. Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett finished eighth, Hanover’s Logan Schuchart was 16th, Lucas Wolfe was 19th and Australian James McFadden got 25th in the local Highlands car.

Rain: Selinsgrove and Hagerstown were rained out on Saturday, and Susquehanna was rained out on Sunday.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.