HOUSEHOLDER: Big money on line this weekend at Grove

  • The World of Outlaws' sprint cars will race at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday and Saturday.
  • The winner of Friday's feature event will earn $8,000.
  • The winner of Saturday's feature will take home total earnings of $25,000.

The World of Outlaws' sprint cars will return to Williams Grove Speedway this week for the two-day Summer Nationals.

Friday’s preliminary-day action will feature a full program of Outlaw racing, with a 25-lap feature that will pay $8,000 to the winner.

On Saturday, it’s another full program, but this time the feature is 30 laps, with $20,000 for the winner.

Since the Saturday portion of the Morgan Cup weekend in May was rained out, Saturday’s winner will also take the Morgan Cup and the $5,000 bonus that goes with it, bringing the total winner’s share to $25,000 on Saturday.

The Morgan Cup itself will go to the sanctioning body that takes the win. If an Outlaw wins, the Cup will spend the year in the WoO’s North Carolina headquarters. If a local racer wins, the Cup stays at Williams Grove for the year.

When the Outlaws were at the Grove in May, Lance Dewease took the win in the Donnie Kreitz-owned car. Dewease prepared for the Outlaws' return by sweeping last Friday’s Outlaw Tune-Up at the Grove. However, during the other nearby Outlaw shows in May, Donny Schatz won at Lincoln and Weedsport, New York, and Daryn Pittman won at New Egypt, New Jersey.

Lance Dewease will be among those honored this weekend at Port Royal Speedway during the running of the Tuscarora 50. The event will pay $50,000 to the winner.

Lincoln and Port Royal take Saturday off this week so the Pennsylvania Posse racers can challenge the Outlaws, but there is other local racing this week.

Hagerstown will offer up a big late model race on Saturday. The Speedy Hayes Memorial Conococheague 44 will find the winner of the 44-lap race taking home $4,400. Speedy Hayes was the owner of the famed No. 44 machine that drivers such as Ronnie McBee and Gary Stuhler drove to so many wins. The Conococheague Creek flows outside Hagerstown’s back stretch.

Trailway will race Friday with the 358 sprints, 600cc and 270cc micro sprints and the Legends.

DIRT TRACK RACING: Danny Dietrich wins at Susquehanna

Susquehanna plays host to the super sportsmen, limited late models, Legends and road warriors on Saturday, while Selinsgrove will offer the 360 sprints, late models, pro stocks and mid-Atlantic modifieds on Saturday.

Selinsgrove’s 360 sprints will also make up last Saturday’s rained-out feature, while the late model portion of the show is part of the Moonshine Camo Route 35 Challenge Series.


YCRC meeting: The York County Racing Club has a general membership meeting on Wednesday evening at the club hall in Zions View. The meeting starts at 7:30 p.m.

Limited late model driver Charles Potts will be the guest speaker. Potts is the son of longtime area stock car drive Gary Potts. Charles has a win this season at Lincoln.

First wins: The two sprint car winners on Saturday evening each scored their first wins of the season.

For Chase Dietz at Lincoln, it was his first win in the family-owned 410 sprint car. Last year, on his way to the National Sprint Car Rookie of the Year award, Dietz won a Lincoln feature in a car owned by Scott Gobrecht.

Joey Hershey’s win at Port Royal was his first ever in a 410 sprint car. Early in his racing career Hershey won 305 sprint car events at both Williams Grove and Port Royal.

Another Kreitz: Kassidy Kreitz, Donnie Kreitz’s teen-aged daughter, is embarking on a sprint car career of her own.

She is racing with the 305 sprint cars, and Sunday at Susquehanna she won the consolation race to make the feature event.

John Barnett won Sunday’s PASS 305 sprint car feature at Susquehanna. Barnett led all 25 laps to best Tyler Reeser for the win. Dave Brown finished third, with Billy Nye and John Martin in the top five.

50 years ago: Fifty years ago, back in 1966, Ray Tilley had another stellar weekend on the local circuit. Tilley put together another three-win week back then. Driving the Ford-powered Bud Grimm No. 88, Tilley won at Williams Grove on Friday, Port Royal on Saturday and Selinsgrove on Sunday to bring his season win total to 25.

Lynn Paxton, in Ree Smith’s Ford-powered No. 1, was also looking for a three-win weekend but fell one short. Paxton won Friday at Dorsey and Saturday at Lincoln to bring his season win total up to 10.

Paxton’s weekend domination of promoter Hilly’s Rife’s three-track circuit came to an end on Sunday at Susquehanna, where Manchester’s Eddie Zirkle scored his first win of the season in the famed Trone Sunoco No. 39.

In other area action that weekend, Jack Denniston took the $ to his sixth win of the season on Friday at Winchester, Virginia.

Another first win of the season that weekend came at Bedford, where former Trone driver Johnny Dubendorf put Pappy Lucas’ Lucas Mining No. 90 in victory lane. Dubendorf’s grandson, Eric Parker, nearly won last Friday’s 358 sprint feature at Williams Grove.

Muss Weyandt won Saturday’s feature at the South Penn plant in Everett. Weyandt’s win in the No. 5 was his fourth of the season.

It took a while to work the bugs out of the radical Harry Fletcher-owned-and-built sidewinder Ford-powered No. 66, but on Sunday night of that weekend, Johnny Grum put the sidewinder into Hagerstown’s victory lane. It was Grum’s second win of the season, the other coming at Bedford in the beginning of May. There would be a good handful more wins in the weeks to come.

Bryan Householder writes about dirt track racing for The York Dispatch. He can be reached at


1. 27 Greg Hodnett  1393 14
2. 48 Danny Dietrich 966 5
3. 1 Lucas Wolfe  681 2
4. 19M Brent Marks  650 2
5. 21 Brian Montieth 615 3
6. 07 Doug Esh  513 2
7. 87 Alan Krimes  485 1
8. 69k Lance Dewease 484 7
8. 94 Ryan Smith  399
10. 51 Freddie Rahmer 376 1
11. 25 Aaron Ott  375 1
12. 3z Brock Zearfoss 341 1
13. 51s Stevie Smith  309
14. 11c Cory Haas  304
15 52 Austin Hogue  292 1
16. 17B Steve Buckwalter 236 2
17. 12 Blane Heimbach 220 1
18. 15 Adam Wilt  204
19. M1 Mark Smith  202
20. 16 Gerard McIntyre Jr 201
20. 55k Robbie Kendall 201
22. 55 Mike Wagner  189
23. 8 Billy Dietrich  179 1
24. 59 Jim Siegel  174
25. 20 Ryan Taylor  168