All central Pa. residents advised to stay indoors as air quality deteriorates

DIRT TRACK RACING: Danny Dietrich wins at Susquehanna

  • Danny Dietrich earned $3,200 for Sunday evening's win at Susquehanna Speedway.
  • Dietrich earned an additional $1,000 for winning the Lincoln/Trailway/Susquehanna Shoot Out.
  • Lance Dewease was second at Susquehanna, while Brent Marks was third.

Danny Dietrich won the final leg of the Lincoln/Trailway/Susquehanna Shoot Out on Sunday evening at Susquehanna Speedway.

Dietrich's $3,200 win in the 30-lap feature event also earned him the Shoot Out title and an additional $1,000.

Danny Dietrich won the 2016 Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek championship.

Dietrich started second and led the first 16 laps of the event, before Lance Dewease slipped by on a restart. Dietrich used lapped traffic to regain the lead with two laps remaining.

Dewease finished in second place, with Brent Marks, Lucas Wolfe and Brandon Rahmer in the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were Brian Montieth, York's Adam Wilt, Brock Zearfoss, Davey Sammons and Kyle Rinehardt.



York's Dietz wins at Lincoln: York’s Chase Dietz raced to his first win of the season Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway.

The 2015 National Sprint Car Rookie of the Year claimed $3,200 for the victory.

Dietz started third and chased Billy Dietrich until the 21st of 25 laps before taking the lead. Dietz went on to win over Billy Dietrich, who was busy fending off his younger brother, Danny Dietrich, to hold on to second. Danny was third, followed by Robbie Kendall and Tyler Ross in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Gerard McIntyre Jr., Freddie Rahmer, Alan Krimes, Brian Montieth and York’s Adam Wilt.

Russ Mitten got his first win of the season in the 25-lap super sportsman feature. Mitten took the lead from Gregg Foster on the seventh lap. Foster finished second, with Doug Dodson in third. Mike Enders and Wellsville’s Scott Geesey completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Chad Criswell, Kenny Edkin, Fawn Grove’s Paul Miller, who started 23rd, Jay Fannasy and Steve Wilbur.

Bob Stough came from the 12th starting spot to take the lead from Mason Chaney on the 19th of 20 laps to win the Legends feature. Chaney finished second, with Chad Earnst, York’s Lucas Montgomery and Seven Valleys’ Harlon Leppo in the top five.

Hershey victorious at Port Royal: Joey Hershey raced to his first career Port Royal sprint car win Saturday evening.

Hershey collected $3,200 for his victory. Hershey led the whole distance, although Mike Erdley offered serious challenges during the mid stages of the race.

In the end, Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett chased Hershey to the line, with Erdley in third. Brock Zearfoss and Doug Esh completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Lucas Wolfe, Curt Stroup, Mike Wagner, Ryan Taylor and Dylan Cisney.

Dylan Yoder won an epic battle with Andy Haus to take the lead on the 24th of 30 laps in the late model feature. Yoder went on to best late model legend Gary Stuhler for the $3,000 win. Haus finished third, with Kyle Hardy and Kenny Moreland in the top five.

Jeff Miller won a make-up PASS 305 sprint feature over Mark Watkins, Nathan Gramley, John Martin and Drew Ritchey.

In the regular event for the 305s, Tyler Reeser was the winner over Mike Kiser, Ken Duke, Miller and Martin.

Dewease wins at Williams Grove: Lance Dewease tuned up for the World of Outlaws with a $4,000 win on Friday at Williams Grove.

Dewease turned in a perfect performance in the Outlaw-formatted program, setting fast time, winning his heat, the dash and leading all 25 laps of the feature.

Stevie Smith finished second, with Hodnett, Freddie Rahmer and Danny Dietrich in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Krimes, Wolfe, Esh, York’s Cory Haas and Aaron Ott.

Doug Hammaker came from the 10th starting spot to take the lead from Eric Parker with four laps left in the 20-lap 358 sprint feature. Hammaker was the winner over Parker, Matt Findley, Chandler Leiby and Hellam’s Adrian Shaffer. Rounding out the top 10 were Dillsburg’s Rich Eichelberger, Phil Walter, Kevin Nouse, Dover’s Chad Trout and David Holbrook.

Stoverstown's Zeigler leads way at Trailway: Stoverstown’s Cam Zeigler won Friday’s limited late model feature at Trailway Speedway.

Zeigler led all 25 laps to best Sam Gallagher, with Brad Shank in third. Bobby Beard and Dover’s Chase Billet completed the top five.

Steven Cox won the 270cc micro sprint feature despite blowing his engine on the final lap. Bill Laughman, Chad Myers, Joe Long Jr. and Zachery Glass completed the top five.

Brian Walls won the street stock feature over Wellsville’s Mike Goodwin and Etters’ Alex Updegraff.

Matt Chronister was the limited stock winner and Jeremy Ott won the mini stock feature.

Selinsgrove rained out: Selinsgrove was rained out Saturday just at feature time.  A make-up feature for the roadrunners had been completed earlier in the evening, with Keith Bissinger winning.

Reach Bryan Householder at