DIRT TRACK RACING: Dietrich claims Pa. Speedweek title

  • Danny Dietrich earned $5,000 for Sunday's win at Selinsgrove.
  • Greg Hodnett finished second at Selinsgrove, followed by Blane Heimbach.
  • Dietrich claimed his first Pennsylvania Speedweek championship.

Danny Dietrich won the battle and the war in Sunday’s conclusion to Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Dietrich drove to the $5,000 victory in the 30-lap race and also picked up his first overall Speedweek championship.

Dietrich started second and beat pole-sitter Dave Blaney to the first turn. He then had to fend off the challenges of Speedweek rival Greg Hodnett of Spring Grove for the win. Hodnett finished second with Blane Heimbach in third. Lucas Wolfe and Aaron Ott completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Blaney, Ryan Smith, Doug Esh, Steve Buckwalter and Tim Shaffer.

The remainder of the program was postponed when a fiery crash on the fourth lap of the 305 sprint feature left Jake Waters with serious burns.



Wolfe triumphs at Port Royal: Wolfe drove to his first win of Speedweek on Saturday at Port Royal. Wolfe’s win was worth $5,000.

Wolfe started fourth, and took the lead from Shaffer on the 12th of 30 laps. He went on to win over Brent Marks, with Hodnett in third. Stevie Smith and Ryan Smith completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Dietrich, Ott, James McFadden, Shaffer and Esh.

Jeff Rine won the Moonshine Camo Series late model feature over Mason Zeigler. Andy Haus finished third, with Tim Wilson and Danny Snyder in the top five.

Wellsville’s Mike Goodwin was the Xtreme stock winner.

Dietrich leads way at Grove: Dietrich was Friday’s Speedweek winner at Williams Grove. Dietrich collected $10,000 for his win in the Mitch Smith Memorial Race.

Dietrich took the lead from Hodnett on the 23rd of 30 laps. Brian Montieth finished third, with Alan Krimes and McFadden, who led the first two laps, in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Ryan Smith, Lance Dewease, Blaney, Stevie Smith and Freddie Rahmer.

Dave Brown led all 20 laps to win the non-stop PASS 305 sprint feature. Scott Ellerman finished second, followed by Drew Ritchey, Scott Frack and Zach Newlin.

Hammaker victorious at Lincoln: Doug Hammaker came from the 19th starting spot to win Saturday’s 25-lap Nouse Signs and Graphics 358 sprint feature at Lincoln. Hammaker’s win was worth $1,200.

Hammaker took the lead from 358 sprint rookie Steve Drevicki on the 22nd of 25 laps. Drevicki held on for second, with Kevin Nouse, Hallam’s Adrian Shaffer and Kyle Denmyer in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Todd Rittenhouse Jr., Chandler Leiby, York’s Jeff Rohrbaugh, Justin Whittall and Phil Walter.

Jaremi Hanson bested Colby Dice to win the PASS 305 sprint feature, with Rick Stief, Dave Brown and Drew Ritchey in the top five.

Aaron Bowes won the Xcel 600cc modified feature.

Wellsville driver shines at Susquehanna: Wellsville’s Scott Geesey won Saturday’s Firecracker 40 super sportsman race at Susquehanna. Geesey won $2,000.

Geesey took the lead from Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger on the 26th of 40 laps. Chad Criswell finished second, with Dellinger, Frankie Herr and Dillsburg’s Rich Eichelberger in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Mike Enders, Tony Jackson, Gregg Foster, Chad Smith and Devin Beidel.

D.J. Myers won the 40-lap limited late model feature, leading all the way for the $2,000 victory. Manchester’s Randy Christine Jr. finished second, followed by Dover’s Gene Knaub, Shaun Jones and Sam Gallagher.

Manchester’s Mike Potts was the street stock winner over Scott Thunberg, Red Lion’s Kevin Sigler, Chad Stine and Ryan Smith.

Walton first at Trailway: Tyler Walton, a 358 sprint rookie, got his first win in the series Friday at Trailway.

Walton led all 25 laps to top Seth Kearchner for the win. Hammaker, David Holbrook and Jeff Halligan completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were J.B. Cunningham, Dwight Leppo, Austin Kirby, Spring Grove’s Zach Eucalano and Dan Richcreek.

Joe Long Jr. won the 270cc micro sprint feature over Levi Peck, Cory Myers, Bill Laughman and Chad Myers.

Hanna Riser was the 600cc micro sprint winner over Brad Weber, Danny Jones, Jim Still and Nash Ely.

Wellsville’s Mike Goodwin won the street stock feature.

Lutz excels at Clinton County: Scott Lutz won Friday’s 305 sprint feature at Clinton County, with Rob Felix, Ken Duke, Bobby Sandt and Ryan Lyn in the top five.

Robbie Black was the limited late model winner.

Reach Bryan Householder at

Danny Dietrich earned a victory at Selinsgrove Speedway on Sunday night.