Hodnett continues dominance with win at Path Valley


Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett won Sunday evening's Harry Fletcher Tribute Race at Path Valley Speedway.

Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett continued his dominance this year by winning the Harry Fletcher Tribute Race at Path Valley Speedway on Sunday night.

Hodnett's win in the second race of Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek was worth $6,600.

Hodnett started from the pole, led the first lap and then yielded the lead to Lucas Wolfe. Hodnett regained the lead on the ninth lap and led the rest of the way despite constant pressure from invader Bryan Clausen. Brent Marks finished third, while Wolfe and Ryan Smith in the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were Danny Dietrich, Cole Duncan, Alan Krimes, Aaron Ott and Mike Wagner.

Cameron Morroll won the 600cc microsprint feature.

Lincoln Speedway opens Speedweek: Lance Dewease raced to victory in the Kevin Gobrecht Memorial Race at Lincoln Speedway on Saturday evening.

After Williams Grove was rained out on Friday the Lincoln race became the opening event of the 2016 PA Sprint Car Speedweek.

Dewease started from the pole position in the 30-lap event, but chased fellow front-row starter Lucas Wolfe for the first eight laps of the race. Dewease took the lead on the ninth lap and went on to score the $7,000 victory.

It was, however, not easy.

Fifth starter Stevie Smith and third starter Danny Dietrich both made runs at the top spot, with Smith challenging numerous times during the middle stages of the race, while Dietrich took second from Smith on the final lap and took one last shot at Dewease. In the end, Dewease was the winner over Dietrich and Smith, with Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett a close fourth. Wolfe completed the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Brent Marks, hard-charger Aaron Ott, who advanced from the 19th starting spot, Brian Montieth, Alan Krimes and Robbie Kendall.

Bob Stough became the fourth and final leader of the 20-lap Legends feature on the 19th lap. Stough won the race over Mason Chaney, who led laps 16-18, with York’s Lucas Montgomery, who led laps 3-15 in third. Australian visitor Hayden Pascoe was fourth and Travis Perry completed the top five.

Beidel wins at Susquehanna Speedway: Devin Beidel scored his first super sportsman win in Saturday’s event at Susquehanna Speedway Park.

Beidel took the lead on the third of 25 laps, while Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger finished second, with Tom Wyckoff in third. Wellsville’s Scott Geesey and Adam Wray completed the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Kenny Edkin, Jay Fannasy, Fawn Grove’s Paul Miller, Russ Mitten and Tony Jackson.

In the late model feature, Randy Stoudt scored the win over Dover’s Chase Billet after taking the lead on the 21st of 25 laps. Manchester’s Randy Christine Jr., D.J. Myers and Manchester’s Charles Potts completed the top five.

Newberrytown’s Alex Updegraph won the extreme stock car feature.

Franek captures Firecracker 30: Davie Franek won Saturday’s Firecracker 30 for the 360 sprints at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Franek scored the win over Mark Smith, with Derek Locke in third. Larry Kelleher and Eric Tomecek completed the top five. Finishing out the top ten were Jason Shultz, Nate Snyder, Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell, Mike Walter II and Jim Shuster.

In the late model feature, Jeff Rine raced to his milestone 100th career Selinsgrove win. Chad Hollenbeck finished second followed by Andy Haus, Bryan Bernheisel and Tim Wilson.

Friday night: Mike Bittinger led all 25 laps to win Trailway’s crash-filled 358 sprint feature Friday.

Bittingers victory came over Seth Kearchner with Doug Hammaker third. Jeff Halligan and Cody Fletcher filled out the top five.

Following the 358 sprint feature, there was a one-hour rain delay before the program could be finished. In the 270cc micro sprint feature, Steven Cox was the winner over Nik Gower, Bill Laughman, Levi Peck and Cory Myers.

Brian Walls topped Dover’s Mike Goodwin for the street stock win and Robbie Carroll won the limited stock event.

— Bryan Householder writes about dirt-track racing. He can be reached at sports@yorkdispatch.com