Penn State to meet Utah at the Rose Bowl

DIRT TRACK RACING: Dover's Austin Hogue wins at Lincoln

  • Dover's Austin Hogue won $3,200 for his first sprint car win of the season at Lincoln Speedway.
  • Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett took home $3,200 for winning the sprint car race at Port Royal.

Dover’s Austin Hogue scored his first sprint car win of the season in exciting fashion Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway.

Hogue’s $3,200 win came with a late-race pass of Tyler Ross.

During the season-ending banquet for Lincoln Speedway, Dover's Austin Hogue was awarded the Harry Fletcher Sportsmanship award.

Ross had started second and taken the lead at the start of the 25-lap event. Hogue, who started third, chased Ross for much of the distance before grabbing the lead with the white flag flying. Ross had to settle for second, with Gerard McIntyre Jr. in third. Brian Montieth and Alan Krimes completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were York’s Cory Haas, Jim Siegel, Dover’s Chad Trout, Mike Bittinger and Brandon Rahmer.

Hellam’s Adrian Shaffer came from the eighth starting spot to win the non-stop 358 sprint feature. Shaffer took the lead away from Dillsburg’s Brie Hershey on the 15th of 20 laps and then had to fend off Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell for the win. Hershey finished third, with Doug Hammaker and Jeff Halligan in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Tyler Esh, Cody Fletcher, York’s Jeff Rohrbaugh, Dwight Leppo and Brent Shearer.

Mike Enders won the 25-lap super sportsman feature. Enders got the lead from Chad Criswell while negotiating lapped traffic on the 17th lap. Criswell finished second, with Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger, Fawn Grove’s Paul Miller and Timmie Barrick in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Kenny Edkin, Russ Mitten, Gregg Foster, Dover’s Teddy Thomas and Adam Wray.



Spring Grove's Hodnett wins at Port Royal: Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett continued his winning ways on Saturday at Port Royal. The $3,200 win was Hodnett’s 12th in a 410 sprint car this season and 14th overall.

Hodnett started eighth and took the lead from Doug Esh on the 13th lap. Esh faltered three laps later and Lucas Wolfe came home in second place, with Dillsburg’s Aaron Ott, Brent Marks and Mike Wagner in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Ryan Taylor, Blane Heimbach, Brock Zearfoss, Curt Stroup and Dylan Cisney.

Chad Hollenbeck won the late model feature, taking the lead from Dylan Yoder on the final straight-away as the two cars banged together. Yoder finished second, followed by Tim Smith Jr,, Jeff Miller and Andy Haus.

Tim Fedder won the econo late model feature and Corey Kepner was the Xtreme stock winner.

Buckwalter shines at Grove: Steve Buckwalter got his first Williams Grove win of the season on Friday evening.

Buckwalter was running second when Rodney Westhafer spun from the lead on the third lap. Although he led the rest of the way, Buckwalter didn’t have it easy on his way to the $3,600 victory. First Montieth and then Danny Dietrich offered constant pressure for the rest of the distance.

Dietrich, Montieth, Hodnett and Freddie Rahmer completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Ott, Haas, Krimes, Esh and Zearfoss.

Hershey got her first win of the season in the 20-lap 358 sprint feature. She was credited with leading every lap, but did have to fend off Hammaker, who actually led a portion of a lap late in the race.  Hammaker finished second, followed by Nyle Berkes, Kevin Nouse, Kyle Denmyer, Hanover’s Troy Wagaman Jr., Matt Findley, Todd Rittenhouse Jr., York’s Glenndon Forsythe and David Holbrook.

Reeser victorious at Susquehanna: Tyler Reeser won the PASS 305 sprint feature at Susquehanna Saturday evening.

Reeser scored the win over Zach Newlin, with Mark Watkins, early leader Dave Grube and Colby Dice in the top five.

Bob Stough won the Legends feature over Chad Earnst, Scott Houdeshell, Mason Chaney and Travis Perry.

Richie Dobson was the street stock winner over Scott Thunberg, Walt Lemmon, Manchester’s Mike Potts and Craig Morgan.

Dover’s Mike Goodwin won the Xtreme stock feature and York Haven’s Daryl Sipe was the minivan winner.

Franek first at Selinsgrove: Davie Franek won the Joe Whitcomb Memorial 360 sprint feature at Selinsgrove Saturday.

Franek collected $2,571 for his victory over Jason Shultz. Ryan Kissinger finished third, with Mark Smith and Eric Timecek in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Jared Zimbardi, Cody Keller, Derek Locke, Curt Michael and Dane Lorene.

Gallagher triumphs at Trailway: Hanover’s Sam Gallagher got his first win of the season in Friday’s limited late model feature at Trailway.

Gallagher led all 25 laps to top Stoverstown’s Cam Zeigler. Kyle Lear finished third, with Shaun Jones and Brad Shank in the top five.

Craley’s Bill Diehl won the Legends feature over Chris Transeau, Chris McKinney, Justin Mitchell and Austin Bellemare.

Jim Young was the 600cc micro sprint winner over Steve Whary, Travis Scott, Hannah Riser and Anthony Macri.

Kyle Rohrbaugh won the limited stock feature.

Reach Bryan Householder at