'Jonestown Jet' soars to first-ever Williams Grove win

  • Brock Zearfoss earned $3,600 for his Friday win at Williams Grove.
  • Zearfoss finished 4.566 seconds ahead of Doug Esh, with Austin Hogue third.
  • Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett earned $2,000 for winning the 360 sprint feature.

MECHANICSBURG — “The Jonestown Jet,” Brock Zearfoss wired the field for the first 410-sprint car victory of his career at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night, walking away with $3,600 for his efforts.

In the 25-lap URC Sprint main, Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett scored the $2,000 victory for the 360 cubic inch-powered division in the circuit’s first appearance of the season at the oval.

The "Jonestown Jet," Brock Zearfoss, drove to victory on Friday night in the 410 sprint feature at Williams Grove Speedway.

Zearfoss started third in the 25-lap 410 sprint main and zig-zagged into the lead as the field rushed through the first and second corners upon the initial green flag.

He swerved between and around both Nicole Bower and Troy Fraker to have the point as he raced down the backchute on his way to the victory in what would be a non-stop feature event.

With a straightaway lead by the fifth circuit over Austin Hogue, Zearfoss soon entered the rear of the field and by lap 10, he had built up a three second advantage with eighth starter Doug Esh up to third.

Esh drove into second late in the event but failed to close on Zearfoss who again was zig-zagging for the win, this time in and out of and through traffic to preserve his lead.

At the finish, Zearfoss was 4.566 seconds ahead of Esh with Hogue third followed by Cory Haas and 19th starter Greg Hodnett who took fifth from Danny Dietrich with five laps to go.

Sixth through 10th went to Dietrich, Ryan Smith, Freddie Rahmer, Brian Montieth and Rick Lafferty.

Heats went to Nicole Bower and Rahmer.

“It’s been way too long since I got to talk out here,” said Zearfoss from victory lane.

“I knew I definitely had a chance to win tonight.  I just needed to get where we needed to be right away,” he said.

“I just went for the open race track.”

The Jonestown driver also owns two career 358-sprint victories at Williams Grove.

Hodnett started sixth in the URC Sprint main and watched as second starter Mark Smith took the lead over Davie Franek on the first lap.

The races first caution flag unfurled on the second tour with Hodnett up to third and he motored by Franek for second on the restart before another yellow bunched the field with three away.

The ensuing restart saw Hodnett power into the lead over Smith for a control he would not relinquish.

A final caution flag on the seventh tour again bunched the field and for a bit after the restart Smith kept Hodnett close and indeed closed in on him while riding on the high cushion but after Hodnett moved up to the cushion as well in the first and second corner, he was able to pull away from his pursuer.

HOUSEHOLDER: Big races looming on area dirt tracks

Hodnett entered lapped traffic on the 17th tour but he was not to be denied what was the 62nd sprint car win of his career at Williams Grove.

He took the victory by 5.959 seconds over Smith.

Curt Michael was third followed by Robbie Stillwaggon and Josh Weller.

Sixth through 10th went to Franek, Derek Locke, Brian Carber, Eric Tomecek and Jason Shultz.

Heats went to Hodnett, Stillwaggon and Michael.

June 3, 2016 Feature Finishes:

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Brock Zearfoss, 2. Doug Esh, 3. Austin Hogue, 4. Cory Haas, 5. Greg Hodnett, 6. Danny Dietrich, 7. Ryan Smith, 8. Freddie Rahmer, 9. Brian Montieth, 10. Rick Lafferty, 11. Nicole Bower, 12. Daryl Stimeling, 13. Chad Trout, 14. Troy Fraker, 15. Jim Shuster, 16. Todd Allen, 17. Lucas Wolfe, 18. Pat Cannon

DNS: Davey Sammons, Rodney Westhafer

URC sprints, 25 laps: 1. Greg Hodnett, 2. Mark Smith, 3. Curt Michael, 4. Robbie Stillwaggon, 5. Josh Weller, 6. Davey Franek, 7. Derek Locke, 8. Brian Carber, 9. Eric Tomecek, 10. Jason Shultz, 11. Glenndon Forsythe, 12. Jimmy Stitzel, 13. Chris Arnold, 14. Troy Wagaman, 15. Rob Dietrich, 16. Adam Carberry, 17. Mark Sasso, 18. Jason Clauss, 19. Justin Whittal, 20. Troy Betts, 21. Ed Aikin

DNS: Cody Jourdan, Randy West