DIRT TRACK RACING: Greg Hodnett triumphs at Lincoln


While all the other tracks in the area were rained out on Saturday, Lincoln Speedway did race, and Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett drove to his seventh overall win of the season.

Hodnett collected $5,000 for his win on BAPS Night.

Hodnett started second and chased pole-sitter Stevie Smith for the first 15 of 25 laps. Once in front, Hodnett held Smith at bay over the final 10 laps. Smith finished second, with York’s Chase Dietz in third. Billy Dietrich and Alan Krimes completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Gerard McIntyre Jr., Brent Marks, Freddie Rahmer, Steve Owings and Robbie Kendall.

York’s Dalton Dietrich led all 20 laps to score his first career 358 sprint win. Dillsburg’s Chris Frank finished second, with Jeff Halligan in third. Brent Shearer and Windsor’s Ryan Higgins completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Dillsburg’s Chris Arnold, Kevin Nouse, Ashley Cappetta, York’s C.J. Tracy and York’s Jeff Rohrbaugh.

Fred Cullum won the All American Outlaw feature over Bryan Green and Justin Cullum.



Dewease triumphs at Grove: Lance Dewease walked away with the Outlaw Tune-Up Friday evening at Williams Grove. Dewease’s 82nd career Grove win was worth $4,000.

Dewease started fifth and watched as pole-sitter Lucas Wolfe led the first half of the 25-lap race. On the 14th lap, Dewease drove under Wolfe for the lead and then drove away from the field for the win. Wolfe finished second, with Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett in third. Dillsburg’s Aaron Ott and Danny Dietrich completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were York’s Cory Haas, T.J. Stutts, Brent Marks, Alan Krimes and Stevie Smith.

Hellam’s Adrian Shaffer took his second win in as many races in the 358 sprint feature, leading all 20 laps. Kevin Nouse finished second, with Dillsburg’s Chris Arnold in third. Chandler Leiby and York’s Glenndon Forsythe completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Dover’s Chad Trout, David Holbrook, Dillsburg’s Brie Hershey, Lewisberry’s Jordan Givler and Nyle Burkes.

Dover's Knaub wins at Trailway: Dover’s Gene Knaub won the limited late model feature at Trailway Friday.

Knaub survived a first-lap tangle with Kyle Lear and went on to lead every lap of the non-stop feature. In the process, he set a new track record of 6 minutes, 44.25 seconds, which knocked more than 10 seconds off the old standard.

Brad Shank finished second, with Stoverstown's Cam Zeigler in third. Lear rebounded for fourth, with Travis Mease in fifth.

Jim Young won the 600cc micro-sprint feature over Tyler Walton, Brad Weber, Travis Scott and Bo Gordon.

Jason Chronister was the limited-stock winner and Neal Reamer won the classic car feature.

Reach Bryan Householder at

Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett is seen here celebrating after a World of Outlaws win at Lincoln Speedway. The Outlaws return to Lincoln Speedway on Wednesday for the Gettysburg Clash.